Rezound Screen Stays Dark in Call

Discussion in 'HTC Rezound' started by Droidram56, Jan 19, 2013.

  1. Droidram56

    Droidram56 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    North Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    My Rezound screen has suddenly started staying dark during calls even when I move the phone away from my ear. When I push the power button, the screen is displayed only momentarily. Very annoying. Does anyone know know how to correct this? Thanks.
     
  2. Droidram56

    Droidram56 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    North Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    My Rezound screen has suddenly started staying dark during calls even when I move the phone away from my ear. When I push the power button, the screen is displayed only momentarily. Very annoying. Does anyone know know how to correct this? Thanks.
     
  3. Droidram56

    Droidram56 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    North Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    My bad on the double post. Sorry.
     
  4. LoudRam

    LoudRam Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,319
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Southern NJ
    Ratings:
    +86
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto X
    Have you tried the basics? Maybe try a battery pull or cache cleaning. You can also try to recalibrate the G-sensor. That setting can be found under the "display" setting.
     
  5. Droidram56

    Droidram56 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    North Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    Tried all of the above to no avail. Still the same.
     
  6. acejavelin

    acejavelin Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2012
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    North Dakota, USA
    Ratings:
    +10
    Classic proximity sensor failure... If the phone is rooted try the Rezound Proxy Sensor Calibration app by Chad0989 otherwise try a factory reset and see if the problem continues.
     
  7. Droidram56

    Droidram56 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    North Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not rooted. Will try factory reset if condition persists. Thanks.
     
  8. tannins

    tannins Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Reset did not fix this problem for me. It started after the ics update and remains the only bug from that update I haven't been able to fix.
     
  9. acejavelin

    acejavelin Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2012
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    North Dakota, USA
    Ratings:
    +10
    Then your choices are get a replacement, or root and use the Chad0989's tool. :/
     
  10. Bpowder33

    Bpowder33 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    My og Rezound had this issue, got a replacement and eventually it developed the same problem. Found Chads tool and no more issues. I can only imagine how many Rezounds have been replaced when all they had to do was make an app that adjusted the sensitivity of the proximity sensor.
     
  11. ErcDaMerc

    ErcDaMerc Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Also use compressed air to blow dust out of your phone. Sometimes replacing the screen protecter will do the trick.
     
  12. Coupe

    Coupe Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Indy
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mine was doing that, I was shocked to find out that my crystal clear screen protector must have had just enough haze on it to cause an issue. Once I removed and replaced it my phone was fine.
     
  13. Droidram56

    Droidram56 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    North Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, lo and behold, the sensor has been working fine since the recent software update. I am curious if others who had this problem had it solved by the update.
     
  14. tannins

    tannins Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nope. Still have this issue after update.
     
Search tags for this page
calling problems with htc rezound
,

htc rezound proximity sensor

,
htc rezound proximity sensor issues
,
htc rezound proximity sensor location
,
htc rezound screen problems
,

proximity sensor htc rezound

,
proximity sensor rezound
,

rezound proximity sensor

,

rezound proximity sensor calibration

,

rezound proximity sensor not working