Rezound not connecting to Wifi with password???? ok without?

Discussion in 'HTC Rezound' started by Smokie, Nov 15, 2011.

  1. Smokie
    Offline

    Smokie New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nj
    anyone else having this problem? I can't connect to Wifi networks unless they are not password protected. If there is no security/password I can connect just fine. I know the passwords are correct and I have tried it at 2 different locations. Turning the wifi security off allows me to connect just fine. any ideas guys?

    THanks.
  2. drtnsnw
    Offline

    drtnsnw Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Mine connects fine with my wifi that is locked. Sorry

    From my Rockin Rezound
  3. Smokie
    Offline

    Smokie New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nj
    you would think it would be user error.. but i swear its not. should I take it back? the second I try and connect after typing out the password it instantly says "cannot connect to wifi network".
  4. drtnsnw
    Offline

    drtnsnw Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Call vzw customer care from your landline they may be able to help too

    From my Rockin Rezound
  5. amsmith84
    Offline

    amsmith84 New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Smokie,

    Mine is doing the same thing.. I was going to try to stop by the Verizon store tomorrow and see if they have any wisdom.. I'll let you know if I get it resolved
  6. Smokie
    Offline

    Smokie New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nj
    that would be great thanks!
  7. nelamvr6
    Offline

    nelamvr6 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New London, CT USA
    I don't have the same problem, I can connect to my WiFi without issues.
  8. atomicwedgie
    Offline

    atomicwedgie New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Long Island NY
    I know it's not what you want to hear but I can connect to both WEP and WPA networks without issue. Perhaps it's something with the way the security on your router is configured?
  9. Smokie
    Offline

    Smokie New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nj
    trying 2 routers. one at work, the other at home. 2 diff security types and passwords. any other devices work: my laptop, Droid X, iPhone, etc. all connect in these locations without issue. just not this dumb Rezound.
  10. Smokie
    Offline

    Smokie New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nj
    bump.., no one else huh? I'm about to return this for a new one. they are giving me a hard time at the store like i didn't know my wifi was off when i came in and that's why i can't connect to secure wifi networks.
  11. solar
    Offline

    solar Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    So Cal
    I've been able to connect to my work wifi, but my home wifi has not been able to be connected to from my rezound and I just haven't had a chance to troubleshoot it yet
  12. mikebaltierra
    Offline

    mikebaltierra New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    had a similar issue, started when I was out and about on LTE and was checking email. Hit the "turn off wifi" by accident when the prompt came up. Got home, tried to connect to Wifi with my WPA2 key, nothing. Then I checked to see if wifi was reenabled - it wasn't. Enabled, and was connecting no problem after that.
  13. jeffe65
    Offline

    jeffe65 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    I was having the same problem until I used "Protected Setup". Go to WiFi in your settings, and while at your router select "Wi-Fi Protected Setup" on your phone. It will ask you to press the WPS button on your router for five seconds. It worked for me; I've been having issues with broadband anyway, but it was the easiest way to connect to the phone I've ever used.
  14. Smokie
    Offline

    Smokie New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nj
    that might work at home, but can do that at work. good suggestion though thanks.
  15. warnette
    Offline

    warnette New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had this issue also, ended up resetting everything on my end to get it working. Reset the cable modem and did a factory reset on my netgear n600 and re-setup everything. It now works flawlessly.

    Sent from my ADR6425LVW using DroidForums
  16. bad4u
    Offline

    bad4u New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Im having a different issue with wifi. Wondering if any of you are seeing this either.

    I have the rezound sitting right next to my TB and the RZ says my network is out of range while the TB is saying 3 out of 4 bars on wifi. And im across the hall from the router.....
  17. ntrddragn
    Offline

    ntrddragn New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    861
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i was having the same issue a few minutes ago. it was connected fine for a few days now but today i noticed it wasnt connect to wifi. i just unplug my router for 10 second plug it back in the rezound found it and connect again.
Search tags for this page
how to connect htc rezound to wifi
,

htc rezound cannot connect to wifi

,

htc rezound not connecting to wifi

,
htc rezound wifi out of range
,

htc rezound will not connect to wifi

,

htc rezound wont connect to wifi

,
htc rezound wps
,
htc rezound wps connect
,
i cannot connect to wifi without password
,
my htc rezound wont connect to wifi
,
rezound not connecting to wifi
,

rezound wont connect to wifi

,
rezound wont use wifi
,
why wont my htc rezound connect to wifi
,
wifi password ok