Rezound battery works on tb?

Discussion in 'HTC ThunderBolt' started by dmack, Nov 16, 2011.

  1. FrellingFrakker

    FrellingFrakker Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Also ; if you want 2 (bought one for my wife) you have to purchase them separately otherwise the 2nd one in the cart rings up full price.


    Why yes; that is a Thunderbolt in my pocket.
     
  2. tbolted

    tbolted Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Got mine today, put it in and charged it up.

    We'll see how it goes. Don't know if I really need to do anything to make the phone recognize it, or if it will just work as normal and last a little longer. That's my guess actually, the android power management code will just deal with it.
     
  3. LtCenturio

    LtCenturio New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's what I was missing. Got it taken care of. Thanks!
     
  4. npro1464

    npro1464 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NJ
    Ratings:
    +8
    I though I should give a review of the 1620 Rezound battery. So far, so great! I'm noticing a big difference, but I think calibrating the battery did wonders for my phone since I had never done that before and have been flashing away with Roms.

    It makes me love my phone that much more. But, it makes me wonder why HTC and VZ wouldn't put a 1620 mh batt in there if it was possible and they knew there was a problem in the first place? Why not fix the problem now for everyone and send every Bolt owner one of these free of cost? If not for some curious Thunderbolt owner on the Internet and this sale, I probably never would have known about this.
     
  5. dmack

    dmack New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can you explain how you calibrated your battery. So when fedex man brings my battery back because no one was home I can set this puppy up.
     
  6. npro1464

    npro1464 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NJ
    Ratings:
    +8
    dmack, it seems that there everyone does it differently and there are a million ways to do it after doing a Google search, so I will just tell you what I did:

    1. Insert battery, charge phone powered off until light turns green
    2. Go into recovery, ->advanced ->wipe battery stats ->yes (Whenever I wipe something in recovery, I usually do it 3 times, just to make sure)
    3. Power up, make sure the phone is at 100, then use the phone, letting it completely drain until it's off
    4. Recharge it powered off until the light is green
    5. Repeat steps 3 & 4

    Again, I don't know if that is right or if that's the proper way to calibrate it, but it has done wonders for my phone so far. I was struggling to get 6 hours before and now I'm doing much better (haven't counted), but I really think I should have been paying more attention to wiping battery stats and calibrating when I flash a new rom (I've flashed dozens of times, never once re-calibrating). Have fun and enjoy!
     
  7. wallstreet123456

    wallstreet123456 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    If I am not rooted will I have issues using this battery since I can't calibrate the battery?

    How has the performance been for those using this battery without rooted phone?

    Thanks
     
  8. eldub

    eldub Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am stock, love the rezound battery in my tb so far. I charged it full overnight then it stayed at 100% for a couple hours before battery level indicator started to drop, which is probably the extra capacity over the stock battery. Even if this remains the case after a full discharge and recharge, which i haven't done yet, i don't really care because I'm not too worried about my remaining battery life until it starts to get low anyway. I imagine it will calibrate itself eventually though, otherwise what happens when people use the extended battery? Go get the battery, worst case the battery level indicator is inaccurate until it reads less than 100%, otherwise it's not going to mess up your phone.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  9. crakmasta

    crakmasta Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I received mine yesterday. So far, I love it. Put it in at 4 in the afternoon, and still has 66 percent at 8 am. That's way more than an extra 1.5 hours I was expecting. I look forward to seeing what happens after a few charge cycles.

    Sent via Bolt of Thunder!
     
  10. wallstreet123456

    wallstreet123456 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    For those using the new battery can you let us know if you are rooted?
     
  11. crakmasta

    crakmasta Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Running stock.

    Sent via Bolt of Thunder!
     
  12. JRParsons

    JRParsons Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Mass.
    Ratings:
    +22
    Stock, getting about 2xtra hours
     
  13. GSXRADDICT

    GSXRADDICT Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just to give some feed back this is mostly WiFi also. I'm rooted running Bamf forever 1.10 and imo's kernel 5.1.0

    Sent from my ADR6400L using Tapatalk
     
  14. Kittysback

    Kittysback Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I ordered one today. Glad I read about this! Can't wait to get and try it.

    Sent from my Thunderbolt using DroidForums
     
  15. FrellingFrakker

    FrellingFrakker Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I got mine today and I'm stock. I'll report my results in a few days.


    Why yes; that is a Thunderbolt in my pocket.
     
Search tags for this page

battery works in thunderbolt