1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Rezound (and Tbolt) owners... no data today? Do this and you should get 3G back...

Discussion in 'HTC Rezound' started by jntdroid, Dec 7, 2011.

  1. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,433
    Likes Received:
    288
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    TX
    So this is a repeat of what Bolt owners went through, and a big +1 to HTC phones for having the ability to do this.

    Dial ##778#, call
    edit mode
    password is 000000
    modem settings
    Rev. A
    select "enable"
    menu > commit
    phone will reboot and you should get 3G back

    This changes your network from eHRPD back to EVDO Rev.A. For LTE phone owners, eHRPD causes 3G to die (most of the time anyway) when the LTE network has problems. Get back on normal EVDO and you're good to go.

    Once the network is back up, you'll want to repeat the steps to turn eHRPD back on, as the 4G/3G handoff is VERY slow on EVDO.
  2. justin82
    Offline

    justin82 Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    3,599
    Likes Received:
    156
    Trophy Points:
    0
    trying it thanks
  3. didiwags
    Offline

    didiwags New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    3G/4G was down for me and 1X was spotty, but it is back up for me in MN!!
  4. rasaun87
    Offline

    rasaun87 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    U think this will help with battery a little?

    sent from the mothership named the VIGOR
  5. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,433
    Likes Received:
    288
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    TX
    Maybe, only if you also enable "CDMA Only" in the main settings, so it doesn't look for 4G. *maybe*...

    Sent from my ADR6425LVW using Tapatalk
  6. RacingTiger03
    Offline

    RacingTiger03 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chatt, TN
    whoa whoa whoa... wait a minute here! JNT you've got my gears turning on something that I'm gonna try tonight or later today! I'm keeping my mouth shut until I found out if it works or not thought ;). Very cool tip and thanks for posting it. My 4G is back here in TN as of about 9EST, only went out at 2PM yesterday.. that's less outage then I experience with my bionic most of the time, and I've gotta say, I missed it pretty bad being gone after having no drops for over a week LOL.
  7. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,433
    Likes Received:
    288
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    TX
    would you say, overall, your Rezound's head and shoulders better than your Bionic was when it comes to the data connection and reliability? or have you experienced any similarities with regard to data drops? Just curious...
  8. RacingTiger03
    Offline

    RacingTiger03 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chatt, TN
    It's not even in the same league! I have had only the one data dropout issue with the rezound and it was Verizon's network (nationwide outage)! I can actually leave my rezound on CDMA/LTE at my home in a 4G fringe zone and keep a connection even with the occasional swap to 4G :). Even locked into CDMA only my bionic had issues *shrug*

    Also, I don't know if it makes a difference, but my RZ is a refurb. Only issue I have is pinkish soft buttons. I can live with that lol.
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2011
  9. cp24eva
    Offline

    cp24eva New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I like that feeler question jntdroid. lol. Coming from a Bionic, I don't miss it. Even when rooted had some data issues. Only thing I KINDA miss is the feel of the bionic. Just because it's different. And I use cases most of the time. So without a case for me I choose Rezound over bionic. With a case, Bionic over rezound. The case takes away from the Rezound sexiness. So I was rockin' my rezound naked.
  10. RacingTiger03
    Offline

    RacingTiger03 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chatt, TN
    well I said I would mention back if my idea worked. It didn't. My thought process was with the hotspot hack. Swapped back to EVDO 3g mode added the proper (for a 3G phone) inputs for making the hotspot work, but the final verification even on EVDO somehow runs through the SIM and it would not function. It did come close as it took it a lot longer to give me the no-go screen though lol. Maybe one of these days it'll get cracked another route.


    Also, I want to elaborate a bit on my data experience on the RZ. I have seen my 3g/4GLTE Icons disappear for a split second, I have never experienced a loss in connection, only seen it occur. So I tend to attribute that to being my radio attempting to swap from 3G to 4G at home in the fringe zone. Again, be it software or hardware, the RZ handles the network data connection much better than what the bionic does. And at this point I'm very happy I stuck with my guns and made verizon give me this swap, because the OTA announced as 5.5.893 is severely disappointing if the leaks coincide directly with the official updates.
  11. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,433
    Likes Received:
    288
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    TX
    just a bump as a reminder after what happened overnight/this morning...
  12. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,433
    Likes Received:
    288
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    TX
    Hate that I'm bumping this again... but, same song, 3rd verse.
  13. blazingdisciple
    Offline

    blazingdisciple New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Hey OP! I'm new to this site and found it because I just got the Rezound and am having connection issues. I have had spotty 3g this morning and for most of the time it's not even 1x. I tried your fix but still couldn't get internet connection. I can't seem to figure this out...I hate to say it, but I might need to trade this phone in for the nexus if I keep having connection issues.
  14. jeffe65
    Offline

    jeffe65 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Verizon was having "Network Issues" today, so you're not alone if you're having connectivity problems. If you're not sure which it is, call Verizon and ask them if the data outage is affecting your area. Mine is normally reading 4g, and it's been at 1x all day today.
  15. bvjens31
    Offline

    bvjens31 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Clive, Iowa
    Yeah, I live in Des Moines and my rezound has been very spotty the past few days, with hardly any consistent access to 4G. It'd mostly be on 1x. Then I'd switch to CDMA auto (PRL) and I would get 3G just fine. Thought maybe it was my phone having a bad sim card or radio (even though it was nearly perfect for the whole first month), so I called tech support yesterday while waiting at Midas and the lady robot did say there was a known outage in my area. This morning I changed my phone to LTE mode (w/voice) and wala, a steady 4G signal!! I have now been on 4G for about an hour straight, so looks like the issue was fixed.....for now...dun-dun-dun!!

    Whew, I really thought it was my phone there for a while! I did not want to have to take it in and get it replaced! I love this phone and I see that maybe we're close to unlock? Time to scurry over to the rezound dev forums :icon_ banana:
Search tags for this page
htc rezound connectivity issues
,

htc rezound data connection issues

,
htc rezound gsm frequencies
,
htc rezound internet spotty
,
htc rezound modem settings
,
no data on htc rezound
,
rezound not holding data connection
,
why it says data connection lost on htc rezound