Review of Nightly 153

Discussion in 'Koush' started by Se7enLC, Oct 22, 2010.

  1. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,081
    Likes Received:
    365
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +448
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    And now I see I have to boot into recovery to mount the SD card for USB Mass Storage. Niiiice.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  2. Se7enLC

    Se7enLC Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    Really? Is that an option somewhere? I can still mount SD over USB mass-storage fine...
     
  3. foxdog

    foxdog Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Don't forget about compcache % :p build 154 could be a RC imo
     
  4. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,081
    Likes Received:
    365
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +448
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    154 fixed my voice dialer issue, but GODS ABOVE AND BELOW is that new voice/speed annoying. Also, my USB Mass Storage mode is back.

    Se7enLC, SPRecovery lets you mount the SD card to a computer; it's a fallback safety feature in case you have a screwed up ROM install, no backups, and no card reader -- or you're just an idiot and forgot to load the update.zip file before you rebooted into recovery -- or want to flash both a kernel AND a ROM at the same time, or the ROM and the Google app pack... etc. Clockwork should have the same thing, but I haven't ever tried it.

    It's saved my butt a few times and it saved it again. 153 did NOT like my phone. :D
     
  5. Droid_3.0

    Droid_3.0 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Maryland :P
    Ratings:
    +0
    O_O whats this i hear about Apps2sdext
     
  6. Se7enLC

    Se7enLC Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    OH OH OH, I see. I thought you meant that you had to mount it from recovery because it wouldn't mount when you were booted up normally, I was wondering why it didn't work normally anymore. I guess it was just a screwed up rom install :)

    Yeah, clockwork has that, too, of course. Clockwork also has the ability to install a zip from the SD card that ISN'T named update.zip. So you can install a rom, gapps, kernel, etc all at once by just picking them all out off the SD card - no renaming needed.
     
  7. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,081
    Likes Received:
    365
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +448
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    I just put them on the SD card, boot into recovery, install, mount, rename, install, then boot to make sure it works, then reboot and install whichever the 3rd is. Saves me a bunch of time when I have a ROM that won't boot for whatever reason.

    Only issue I've ever had with SPRecovery is it named one of my backups with a 1970 date code. Considering the large number of problems I've seen, helped with, and heard complaints about regarding ROM Manager and ClockworkMod Recovery, I'm just not going there. :D
     
  8. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,081
    Likes Received:
    365
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +448
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    Oh, and the rate that build of the ROM was failing me I'm sure refusing to mount the SD card was next on the hit parade.

    :rolf3:
     
  9. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,081
    Likes Received:
    365
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +448
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
  10. Se7enLC

    Se7enLC Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    Here's what my system looks like, now. I have a TON of apps installed, just cuz I can. As an added bonus, you can see the signal strength meter being completely wrong. -19dBm? Yeah, I wish...

    [​IMG]

    Like I said, though - it's messy to set up.

    Abbreviated Steps:
    1). Install kernel that supports ext3 mounting (default does not - slayher does, p3droid does if you load ext3 module)
    2). delete /etc/init.d/05mountsd
    3). Make sure you can mount /dev/block/mmcblk0p2 on /sd-ext
    3). Run firerat script (found on cyanogen forum). This will create a new 05mountsd script, as well as apkmanager and set up your real /data to have bind mounts to the sd-ext mount.
    4). Modify 05mountsd script to modprobe ext3 first, setprop cm.filesystem.ready when sd-ext mounts properly
    5). Extract ramdisk from CM
    6). Modify init.rc in ramdisk to wait for cm.filesystem.ready=1 before starting sysinit
    7). Using Koush's anyrom format, create an installer to apply that ramdisk change without replacing the kernel
    8). Profit!
     
    #22 Se7enLC, Oct 22, 2010
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2010
  11. donerico

    donerico Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I decided to try one of these nightlies and when it boots it does not ask met to log in into gmail and there is no google apps. Do I have to flash google apps separately from the nightly zip file? if so, where can I get the right ones? Is there anything else I need to do to run this? (I tipically like to let the market sync my apps and just restore data for a few apps from TB.
    thanks for the help.
     
  12. Se7enLC

    Se7enLC Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, the google apps file is separate from the nightly zip file. I recommend logging into irc.freenode.net and the channel #koush for real-time assistance while you install, or at least reading up on the installation guide here:

    Full Update Guide - Motorola Droid - CyanogenMod Wiki

    As a side-note, nightly builds are not really recommended if you haven't used CM before. I won't say "don't do it" because I think the currently nightlies are WAY better than the stable release - but you WILL run into things that don't work correctly, and if you're not comfortable with the whole process, it may be a real pain for you (and the people trying to help, too).

    As another side-note - the current most recent version of gapps (20101020.1) has an extraneous 5mb file in the zip which will very nearly fill your /system partition. You'll want to remove /system/gapps.tar after installing if you plan on writing anything to /system at any point.
     
    #24 Se7enLC, Oct 22, 2010
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2010
Search tags for this page
how do i untag a facebook photo in droid bionic
,
how do i untag photos on facebook droid razr
,

how to untag a photo in my droid

,
how to untag a photo on a droid phone
,

how to untag a photo on facebook android

,
how to untag a photo on facebook on a droid 4 review
,
how to untag on facebook android
,
how to untag photos on droid 2
,
how to untag photos on facebook on s3
,
untag photo on droid razr