Reverting Back To 2.1

Discussion in 'Droid X Hacks' started by dieselpowered, Aug 31, 2010.

  1. dieselpowered
    Offline

    dieselpowered New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    Trying to revert back to 2.1 from 2.2 using RSD Lite, followed all the directions, however, get this error:

    Failed flashing process. Failed Flashing Process. (0x7100); phone connected

    Please help :)
  2. Abe21599
    Offline

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,345
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    i dont know what that error is so give me a FULL step by step of what you downloaded, installed, etc

    best way for me to figure out whats wrong, unless someone knows the error code
  3. dieselpowered
    Offline

    dieselpowered New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    From this link:

    Droid X

    Windows Instructions:

    1. Download RSD Lite (credit to MyDroidWorld)
    2. Install the RSDLite 4.7 program by double clicking on the program.
    3. Move the pst_flash.ini file into the following folder --> Program Files/Motorola/RSDLite
    4. Install the drivers that apply to your Operating System.
    5. Unzip the SBF into a folder. (Download Above)
    6. Open RSD Lite and find the UNZIPPED SBF
    7. Put your Motorola Droid X into bootloader. (turn phone off and hold volume down and the camera button while pressing the power button)
    8. Click start and sit back.

    Note: after the flash will need to boot into recovery (hold volume down and the home button) and wipe data and cache.

    Thanks so much for the help!! :)
  4. Abe21599
    Offline

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,345
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    and you followed this to a T ? did you do anything else? try restarting the computer, changing USB ports..
  5. Abe21599
    Offline

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,345
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    also, click on link 9 to learn more about this (forgot i had that in my sig)
  6. dieselpowered
    Offline

    dieselpowered New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    Stand by...switched to a XP machine and it may be working :)<br><br>Man Vista is awesome!!!<br>
  7. Abe21599
    Offline

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,345
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    xp is a lot simpler to use with RSD :) good luck
  8. Orio
    Offline

    Orio New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Christiansburg, VA
    Been watching all this...in which step do you connect your phone to PC via USB ?
  9. dieselpowered
    Offline

    dieselpowered New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    Ok worked without issue on XP :)

    I did it before lauching RSD Lite.
  10. dieselpowered
    Offline

    dieselpowered New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    Well everything seemed ok...phone does not show charging when plugged into a wall charger, does show though when plugged it via usb.
  11. GThree
    Offline

    GThree New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix
    Ok, cool on the xp part, but I am on windows 7.

    I have the OP's issue....I need help...

    Followed this to a T...WTF?


    EDIT:::::: DO NOT USE THE SBF OFF THE DESKTOP!! It will not work. how lame. NEVER MIND!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It went through the whole process and then at the end......FAIL....oh sweet ya! FML!
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2010
  12. Arcstriker
    Offline

    Arcstriker New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    Not sure if this helps, but I use Win 7 with RSD, but run RSD as Admin...

    Added: When reverting from 2.2 back to 2.1 I recommend doing a wipe/erase cache first... then put the phone in to bootloader mode. If you don't after it flashes, and reboots phone, it seems to hang, then you have to pull the batt. then boot in to recovery and wipe/erase. --> Thats my experience anyway.
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2010
  13. bharkin
    Offline

    bharkin New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Eastern North Carolina ( Go DUKE! )
    So I should boot into Bootstrap Recovery, wipe data/cache, THEN bootloader and reflash with the sbf. Right?

    Also, if you are having troubles with RSD in Win7, go to START>ALL PROGRAMS>MOTOROLA DRIVER INSTALLER and use the middle option, Clean and reinstall. It takes a little time, but well worth the results. And make sure you run BOTH as an ADMIN!
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2010
  14. Arcstriker
    Offline

    Arcstriker New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Hampshire

    Thats what I would do... However if you don't wipe first, and then do the SBF flash the phone will hang on the "M" on reboot, I have read that some people have gotten past this by pulling the battery and reseting a few times, eventually it works BUT... going from 2.2 to 2.1 I ALWAYS wipe because there is usually some things installed that worked fine for 2.2, but are not supported in 2.1, so you may end up with trouble later on.
  15. bharkin
    Offline

    bharkin New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Eastern North Carolina ( Go DUKE! )
    Thanks, that was exactly the problem I had when I tested going back to 2.1, only I pulled the battery 12 times and no change. I ended up wiping data and reflashing a second time, but things didn't work very well. I think that if I had wiped first then flashed, I would have been better off. Now I know. Should I wipe data whenever I flash to a new version? I kinda liked that I still had all of my stuff when I went from 2.1 to 2.2.
  16. Arcstriker
    Offline

    Arcstriker New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    No, unless your told to in the instructions for the new version. Most are made to "update" to the newer version. But like I said in the previous post, when your down grading the best thing to do is wipe/clear because somethings that are designed to work with the newest version are not supported by the older version. I hope that makes sense.
  17. bharkin
    Offline

    bharkin New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Eastern North Carolina ( Go DUKE! )
    Makes complete sense, thanks.
Search tags for this page

how to revert back to 2.1 on motorola xt502?

,

power on with pressing volume down

,

revert to previous operating system htc