return to 2.01 without root

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by ralphtrent, Apr 1, 2010.

  1. ralphtrent

    ralphtrent Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello
    I have tried searching but have not exactly found what i was looking for. If I had 2.1 and I want to go back to 2.01. What are the steps? I have an 2.01 update.zip, i put that on my sd card and tried to update the phoen (power+x, apply update.zip on sd) but that fails. I also looked at the "[How to]Back to Stock" message on here, but it looks like the device needs nanadroid or su access which mine does not. (I thought that was not avaiable for 2.1).

    So anyway, is there a simple way to go back to 2.01 from 2.1 with out needing any root or su access?

    Thanks
     
  2. jimnutt

    jimnutt Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Morrisville, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    In a word, no. It is possible, but requires a PC and some specialized software. Someone who knows more can give more details.
     
  3. ralphtrent

    ralphtrent Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK I have the PC part, do I need to go through the ADB jus like that How To mentions? At the quick glance I made at it, it sounded like i needed a custom rom or something. My phone was 2.01 stock.
     
  4. bill1253

    bill1253 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
  5. ralphtrent

    ralphtrent Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
  6. ldimick

    ldimick Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    629
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes. I have done it before.
     
  7. bill1253

    bill1253 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    yes, I used this method to install the 2.1ese53sbf file to get the new baseband a few weeks ago. I used a laptop win7 32 bit had no problems. The hard part was rooting it.
    Take your time and read. There are plenty more forum questions on here, Do a search for sbf
     
    #7 bill1253, Apr 1, 2010
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2010
  8. ralphtrent

    ralphtrent Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Great thanks guys, like I said it looks very easy. I have another question about the RDS tool, but I will look through that post before possible reposting. (ie my phone does not show when I have it cradled and i hit show device)
     
  9. bananazx

    bananazx Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Very easy to do and foolproof. After updating to 2.1, I went back to stock 2.0.1 and to Smoked glass 6.0.1.
     
  10. ralphtrent

    ralphtrent Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK this is odd. I did as the post said, It said the result was fail, but my phone came back with 2.01 just like I wanted. Any clue?
     
Search tags for this page

update droid 2.01without using anything