Restoring data after a data wipe?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by calicocal, Feb 15, 2010.

  1. joeymoose

    joeymoose Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have switch between many ROM's. I simply use Astro to back up my apps. Wipe, personally restore my Settings, and use Astro to re-install my apps. I mean c'mon, does it take that long to restore your settings?

    You always want to do a clean wipe because starting fresh is better and less buggy...
     
  2. LtKen

    LtKen Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,628
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +3
    Eh, between my laziness and the 4 GMail accounts I have, it takes longer than I want it to...
     
  3. Martin030908

    Martin030908 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    Let me clarify... I had Sholes... I un-rooted. Did a factory reset. Then re rooted my phone, made a nandroid back up of my phone, with no ROM, then flashed the BB ROM, and then restored my Nandroid backup that I had made prior to installing BB.

    Sorry for not being clear. I don't even know where my brain was when I wrote the first post :icon_eek:
     
  4. joeymoose

    joeymoose Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, we all know it isn't hard to restore your settings. My Back up is a good way to go. I choose to do it manually because I end up making tweaks or changing tones, etc....

    But use a Nandroid back-up? Won't that just take you back to a previous ROM version?....

    Edit: just read your post.....:icon_ banana:
     
  5. Martin030908

    Martin030908 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    My fault for not being clear guys. I edited my post so as not to confuse. Using a nandroid backup of a different ROM isn't recommended, but if you make one before you apply a ROM you will be fine :)
     
  6. Topsy

    Topsy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    677
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Rio Rancho, New Mexico
    Ratings:
    +0
    As long as you choose advanced backup and select data only, then u can wipe, install the new ROM, then restore your data only backup.
    You now have the new rom cleanly installed, with your data safely intact.
     
  7. thebowers

    thebowers Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,547
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +1
    Why pay for an app when Nandroid can do it for you. Also as long as you are using a gmail account ( when you first setup the phone ) all apps will redownload. Found that out when doing a factory reset and not having Nandroid. Nandroid is your savior for everything.
     
  8. mach330

    mach330 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    751
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    The OC
    Ratings:
    +46
    i've been reading up a lot of the nandroid backups and i'm a bit confused on when people say "do a nandroid backup on data only" and "restore only with data". isn't that the same as if you did a nandroid full backup, then only restore the data? or is there a difference in that? restoring only data should only grab the data portion correct? i've never backed with nandroid with backup only, but i have only restored with data portion of the rom i just backed up. different?
     
  9. Topsy

    Topsy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    677
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Rio Rancho, New Mexico
    Ratings:
    +0
    Correct, just easier to tell people to do a data only backup.
    This way if they forget to uncheck the other options when restoring, they don't wipe their ROM in the process.
     
  10. Martin030908

    Martin030908 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    Exactly. Nandroid does it all and I don't have to buy it. :) Win Win!
     
  11. spacemanps

    spacemanps Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    i dont get why gmail doesnt store the ringtone data for each contact... i think thats the most annoying thing to reset...
     
Search tags for this page
blackberry data recovery after wipe
,
blackberry recover contacts after wipe
,

how to recover data from blackberry after wipe

,
how to recover wiped data from a blackberry
,
how to restore blackberry after wipe
,

how to restore blackberry contacts after wipe

,
how to restore blackberry data after wipe
,
how to restore data after blackberry wipe
,

recover blackberry contacts after wipe

,

recover blackberry data after wipe