1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Restoring data after a data wipe?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by calicocal, Feb 15, 2010.

  1. calicocal
    Offline

    calicocal New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am going to update to sholes 2.05 and I read that it is best to do a data wipe before upgrading. Is there any way to restore all of my apps and settings? I don't want to have to reinstall everything :(
  2. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes. Just make a nandroid backup before you wipe. Then restore that back up file after you wipe :)
  3. joeymoose
    Offline

    joeymoose New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You can use Astro for the apps, or you can use Back up Pro, many choices. You should wipe your avatar pic first, haha.
  4. tktouch12
    Offline

    tktouch12 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i am in the same situation. i have astro, but how do i backup my settings? can we?
  5. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    make a nandroid backup. This is the best, most all inclusive way.
  6. joeymoose
    Offline

    joeymoose New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I use Astro for Alps only. Back up pro and titanium are good for settings.
  7. tktouch12
    Offline

    tktouch12 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    u cant restore to a nandroid if you're installing a new rom (????) right?
  8. HMJB
    Offline

    HMJB New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    Use Astro to backup your Apps..
    your settings, use the other 2 apps mentioned before

    I only use Astro file manager, only takes me a minute or two to get my settings back to the way I like them.
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2010
  9. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have... I did it when I switched from Sholes to BB.

    I flashed the Sholes ROM, restored the nandroid, then flashed the BB rom and kept my data when I flashed the BB rom so it kept all my settings/data etc. :)

    **** edit ***
    Let me clarify... I had Sholes... I un-rooted. Did a factory reset. Then re rooted my phone, made a nandroid back up of my phone, with no ROM, then flashed the BB ROM, and then restored my Nandroid backup that I had made prior to installing BB.

    Sorry for not being clear. I don't even know where my brain was when I wrote the first post :icon_eek:
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2010
  10. HMJB
    Offline

    HMJB New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    That can cause problems, not a recommended method :icon_eek:
  11. Big Lou
    Offline

    Big Lou New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    739
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Don't use Astro. USE NANDROID!

    Make a Nandroid backup of your current configuration. Either do a simple or do an advanced and only backup Data. Once you have wiped your system to install the ROM, go into Nandroid and restore only the Data you had just backed up. This will not overwrite anything in the ROM.

    This is the best, fastest, and easiest way of doing this.
  12. LtKen
    Offline

    LtKen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,637
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just used MyBackupPro -- $5 on the app store. Seems to work great so far.

    I take it back, MyBackupPro farted all over my Droid. I'll just do it the old fashioned way....
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2010
  13. joeymoose
    Offline

    joeymoose New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have switch between many ROM's. I simply use Astro to back up my apps. Wipe, personally restore my Settings, and use Astro to re-install my apps. I mean c'mon, does it take that long to restore your settings?

    You always want to do a clean wipe because starting fresh is better and less buggy...
  14. LtKen
    Offline

    LtKen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,637
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Eh, between my laziness and the 4 GMail accounts I have, it takes longer than I want it to...
  15. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Let me clarify... I had Sholes... I un-rooted. Did a factory reset. Then re rooted my phone, made a nandroid back up of my phone, with no ROM, then flashed the BB ROM, and then restored my Nandroid backup that I had made prior to installing BB.

    Sorry for not being clear. I don't even know where my brain was when I wrote the first post :icon_eek:
  16. joeymoose
    Offline

    joeymoose New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, we all know it isn't hard to restore your settings. My Back up is a good way to go. I choose to do it manually because I end up making tweaks or changing tones, etc....

    But use a Nandroid back-up? Won't that just take you back to a previous ROM version?....

    Edit: just read your post.....:icon_ banana:
  17. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My fault for not being clear guys. I edited my post so as not to confuse. Using a nandroid backup of a different ROM isn't recommended, but if you make one before you apply a ROM you will be fine :)
  18. Topsy
    Offline

    Topsy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    677
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rio Rancho, New Mexico
    As long as you choose advanced backup and select data only, then u can wipe, install the new ROM, then restore your data only backup.
    You now have the new rom cleanly installed, with your data safely intact.
  19. thebowers
    Offline

    thebowers Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,548
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    Why pay for an app when Nandroid can do it for you. Also as long as you are using a gmail account ( when you first setup the phone ) all apps will redownload. Found that out when doing a factory reset and not having Nandroid. Nandroid is your savior for everything.
  20. mach330
    Offline

    mach330 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    682
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The OC
    i've been reading up a lot of the nandroid backups and i'm a bit confused on when people say "do a nandroid backup on data only" and "restore only with data". isn't that the same as if you did a nandroid full backup, then only restore the data? or is there a difference in that? restoring only data should only grab the data portion correct? i've never backed with nandroid with backup only, but i have only restored with data portion of the rom i just backed up. different?
Search tags for this page

blackberry data recovery after wipe

,
blackberry recover contacts after wipe
,
how to recover data after wiping android
,
how to recover data from a wiped blackberry
,

how to recover data from blackberry after wipe

,
how to recover wiped data from a blackberry
,
how to restore blackberry after wipe
,

how to restore blackberry contacts after wipe

,
how to restore blackberry data after wipe
,
how to restore data after blackberry wipe
,
how to retrive data from .sbf
,

recover blackberry contacts after wipe

,

recover blackberry data after wipe

,
recover data blackberry wipe
,
recover wiped data from blackberry