Restoring a backup

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by DrZenga, Oct 31, 2011.

  1. DrZenga
    Offline

    DrZenga New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't have to wipe cache and dalvik, when restoring a backup do I?
  2. k1ngr4t
    Offline

    k1ngr4t Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,345
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Only thing I've ever had to wipe when restoring something on my phone is the widgets on screen. If you backup the layout of your various screens and when you restore it the widgets, or some of them, are in the same place, it might double over them, which will drain battery faster and possibly slow down the phone a bit (doubtful on the Bionic though). Not sure what dalvik is but I know everytime I've restored something pretty much all I did was hit restore w/ TitaniumBackup.
  3. DrZenga
    Offline

    DrZenga New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So back up all my Widgets that I have on my home screens?

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  4. gsDroid
    Offline

    gsDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    If you are talking about a nandroid backup/restore, I do wipe cache and dalvik in recovery before starting the restore. I don't think the wipes are required, but my restores have always put me back exactly as I was before the backup. If you are in recovery anyway, the cache wipe takes about 1-2 minutes and dalvik is virtually instantaneous. Better safe than sorry.
  5. DrZenga
    Offline

    DrZenga New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was thinking the same to be honest. I know I wipe those when installing new roms and I figured stock was just a stock rom in ways.
  6. k1ngr4t
    Offline

    k1ngr4t Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,345
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Try it and let us know. What I was saying is if you backup your widgets, make sure there's nothing already in place when you restore, otherwise the backup might just overlap the existing widgets and you'll have two, which will drain more battery and potentially slow down the phone.

    I'm not sure what a Nandroid backup is TBH, I just assumed you meant Titanium or AppMonster or something, in which case I've never done anything but hit backup/restore.
Search tags for this page

do i have to clear davik when restoring nandroid

,

do i need to delete cache before nandroid restore

,

how to do a restore on droid bionic with backup pro

,

wipe before nandroid restore