Resetting the phone to factory default question!!

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by Orangetruck94, Apr 8, 2010.

  1. Orangetruck94

    Orangetruck94 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi gang!
    If I reset my phone (setting/privacy/factory data reset) to factory default...will it remove/erase all the apps (games/programs) I already installed?

    Thanks!!
     
  2. Droidfish

    Droidfish Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    860
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Deep South of NM
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, you will lose all apps and data except for those that come factory installed
     
  3. Orangetruck94

    Orangetruck94 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Shoot! I was afraid of that!
    Thanks DF!
     
  4. sharondet

    sharondet Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Fredericksburg, VA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I thought that would happen, too,and was prepared to install them all again, but when I did a factory reset after my 2.1 update, all my apps came back. I had to redo the settings, but they all installed. I don't know how that happened.
     
  5. Orangetruck94

    Orangetruck94 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is it a 50/50 chance? LOL
    Can I save them to my comp or my SD card?
     
  6. JhankG

    JhankG Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,090
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    It will erase everything, every time. They might sync back up afterwards, but that doesn't always seem to work.
     
  7. Laramie

    Laramie Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Montana
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can use either Astro to back them up to your SD card or "AppBrain" to back them up online, then download the Appbrain app and sync them.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  8. biggs

    biggs New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    ok
    Ratings:
    +0
    astro is what i used download astro from market free then go into astro hit menu then select tools then application manager/backup it will load packages then click top check box right side will check all apps downlaoded then click backup in upper left side


    after u wipe an they dont instal just go back to astro click menu then select tools then application manager/backup it will load packages then click on backed up apps in upper right corner check the box right beneath it to select all apps then click install on the upper left side :icon_ banana:
     
  9. Orangetruck94

    Orangetruck94 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    It seems like a LOT people like ASTRO File Manager!!!
    +1 here.
    Thanks Laramie
     
  10. Orangetruck94

    Orangetruck94 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    GREAT!!
    I am going to give it a shot.
    Thanks Biggs
     
  11. Candice

    Candice Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +0
    FWIW, I just did a factory reset on Sunday after the 2.1 update. Not one of my apps were gone. (I kinda wished they would have been lost, so I could start over, lol) I only had to sync everything and adjust a few settings. The only data I lost was text msgs. I didn't lose a single picture or app.

    I'm not sure if that's the norm or not, but that's what happened to me.
     
Search tags for this page

how to return a droid to default

,

reset phone to default setting - will it erase installed app