1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Reset my phone, missing wifi networks

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR Support' started by Scott0719, Aug 27, 2012.

  1. Scott0719
    Offline

    Scott0719 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I factory reset my phone yesterday just to do it. I just realized that it didn't restore my wifi networks that were saved. At what point does it do that during the restore process? Is it something that's done automatically or do I have to do it? Can I do it now without resetting my phone again? I hope not I just downloaded 70 something apps and set everything up again.
  2. jaye712
    Offline

    jaye712 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    842
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    0
    As i understand it,n my own experience, u dnt gotta reset ur phone agian..U normally have to reconnect it agian after doin a fdr..
  3. jaye712
    Offline

    jaye712 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    842
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Btw,If ur missing wifi netwrks,iam not too much of a tech person but i know the simple stuff u can try....have u tryed unplugging ur modem n router for 10seconds/turn off your phone..then turn both on agian n see if u see any netwrks..if not,try typin in ur netwrk name,n set it yourself on the phone n save it n see if it helps any..if anything iam sure the folks on here can help u out
  4. Scott0719
    Offline

    Scott0719 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It's not that I can't connect to a network. It just didn't restore all the networks that I had connected to before.

    Does anyone know if resetting it again would work? At what point during the restore process does it restore this stuff? I thought it would be when I put my Gmail account in.
  5. TatDroid
    Offline

    TatDroid Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    708
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I haven't done a "factory data reset" myself, but I was under the impression that it wipes all user data and restores it to how it left the "factory". Any restore after a FDR could only be done if an app was used to do a backup before the FDR. I think there are LOTS of backup apps, and some back up more different types of data than others. I'm not sure what apps may back up wifi network settings.

    Which app did you use to do your backup?
  6. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    Scott, what tatdroid said is true, when doing an fdr, it erases all user data and to restore that data would have to come from using a backup app that was used before doing the fdr or settings that are saved in your google account. Your phone should detect any Wi-Fi networks when you are in range of the network. Once the Wi-Fi is detected, you may have to put in the pass-code in order to connect to that Wi-Fi.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR Maxx using Droid Forums
  7. Scott0719
    Offline

    Scott0719 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    But I've done factory resets before and bought a brand new phone and it always restored all the wifi networks that I connected to. Connecting isn't the issue. It's the fact I have to connect that is the issue.
  8. Scott0719
    Offline

    Scott0719 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Under privacy it says back up app data, wifi passwords and other settings to Google servers. So how do I restore that data?
  9. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    It should restore that data when you signed into your google email address on the phone. For some reason, it is possible some information did not get properly backed up in google or the phone is not properly recognizing the data. Typically what I have had to do is re-enter my Wi-Fi pass-codes when my phone is in range of the Wi-Fi. Once that is done once, I do not have to do it again. I believe, but don't remember for certain, that the list of used Wi-Fi's were automatically there but I always have to re-enter the codes.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR Maxx using Droid Forums
Search tags for this page
android all wi-fi networks have disappeared
,

android reset wifi

,
droid 3 cdma missing
,

how do i get my android wifi back

,
how to put back wifi on my phone after it was reset
,
how to reset android wifi setting
,
how to reset network on android phone
,

how to reset network on droid razr

,

how to reset the wifi on your phone

,

how to reset wifi on android

,

how to reset wifi on droid razr

,

how to reset your wifi on android

,

i restore factory setting on my android and lost wifi passwords

,
rest wifi anroid *#
,
restore wifi passwords