Reset my Moto Droid

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by smolander, Nov 30, 2009.

  1. smolander
    Offline

    smolander New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mpls, MN
    I've been installing, uninstalling, playing with apps, tiring of some, but finding some gems. This morning I had a problem opening the native email application, so figured it was a good time for a hard reset.

    I was pleased in how easily it was to recover from a complete dump and restart. All of the apps I had installed were re-installed (but seemingly not activated until I opened for the first time). The purchased apps I've loaded then removed are still listed and shown as "purchased" but not installed.

    In restarting, I learned that no matter how many exchange (corporate) accounts you set up, only the first account is sync'ed to the Corporate Calendar. Now I have my corporate email, contacts and calendar sync'ed, my personal exchange account email and contacts sync'ed and my personal calendar sync'ing through Google and shown in the Google Calendar.

    All of my internet bookmarks, pandora channels, SportsTap teams, etc were all set up as I had them before the reboot.

    This is so much better than my old WinMo device where EVERYTHING was lost when I had to wipe the device.

    This is a GREAT device! I'm lovin' it!
  2. metsnfins
    Offline

    metsnfins New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    how do you do a reset?
  3. thebowers
    Offline

    thebowers Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,548
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    On home screen hit the menu button, then settings. From there go to privacy, and then factory data reset. I had to do this and thought I would have to download everything again, but was pleasantly surprised to find that everything is backed up. So glad I took back my Imagio for the Droid.
  4. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Only true if you use a Gmail account.....Or manually back up the data.
  5. smolander
    Offline

    smolander New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mpls, MN
  6. DroidGurl
    Offline

    DroidGurl Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    What's the difference between these two resets?

  7. metsnfins
    Offline

    metsnfins New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    so what does resetting do exactly if the aps are still there?

    my phone seems to be freezing up so im considering it