Researching getting a Droid - Have questions

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by PaulQ, Nov 10, 2010.

  1. PaulQ

    PaulQ Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Arizona
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi...

    I am currently a Blackberry user (have been for years) and am now considering switching to a Droid 2 or Droid Pro. I have a couple questions that I am hoping someone here can answer...

    1) Do you interface with an Exchange server? Are you able to sync your email and calendar effectively?

    2) How does it notify you of a text message? Does it blink a light continuously?

    3) Is there an app available that will change the phone from sound to silent on a specified schedule? (e.g. from 2-3pm go into silent mode)

    4) If you were a Blackberry user, how do you compare the two?


    Thanks so much for any advice you have.
     
  2. harrellj

    harrellj Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,058
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +2
    1) I don't use an Exchange server, so skipping over it, but there are a number of posts of people who do use one.

    2) Depending on the notification options you set in your messaging app (doesn't have to be stock), you can have a sound/ringtone notification and a blinking light or one or the other (and of course, vibration as well). 2 caveats: the blinking LED only shows the color for the missed text until another notification comes in (twitter update, new email, etc). The other caveat is that the sound notification is just once unless you get an app to repeat that (I believe missed call will do so, but am not certain).

    3) Tasker/Locale/Timerrific are the 3 I can think of offhand and there's several more. Tasker is the most flexible of all of them, but also has a steeper learning curve as a result.

    4) Both my parents have Blackberries, so I've partially used them though not on a day to day basis. I thought about getting a BB when I got my D1 except I hated the tiny screen, how everything is done by scrolling that silly little wheel on the side of the screen (depending on model of course) and what appeared to be a lack of apps (I'll admit, the iPhone commercials were tempting but I also refused to get one of those too).
     
  3. cpjr

    cpjr Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Ratings:
    +0
    OP, spoken like a true Blackberry user, lol. Just kidding.

    You will be able to effectively do everything you can with the blackberry....and SOOOOOO much more.

    I have used Blackberries in the past, love them. Would never go back now.
     
  4. bcjbob

    bcjbob New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I will keep it short. Don't do it! I am on my fourth droid 1 and will be selling it and going back to me Blackberry. Too many problems too list

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  5. techRob

    techRob Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Montana
    Ratings:
    +1
    I've heard numerous people connecting their Droid's with exchange. Doesn't seem like it was all that easy of a task; tho the new Droid Pro and Droid 2 Global look like they were designed to be used with Exchange - they have the security features for corporate e-mail, where as the regular droid, i believe does not... I'm working on trying to get my boss to make the move to Droid Pro's and ditch the berry's...it may still be quite a while) :(

    Handcent is an amazing txt'g app; it allows all sorts of various notification settings - even unique settings based on the sender; lights and sounds and how often they go off can all be tweaked (IMO - soooo much more tweakability than on the blackberry - i have a curve for work).

    I've never used a volume profile app that changes based on time - seen 'em, and obviously harrellj has used them ;) ...I do, however, use an app called "Volume Toggle" - you can drop it as a widget on your desktop, and a simple tap will toggle to the next profile; you can tweak the profiles at every level of audio (notifications, media, ringtone, phone, etc... even vibrating)...it's one of my fav / most used apps.

    Using my Droid1 vs. Blackberry Curve: the BB Curve is a great work tool. I enjoy the actual physical keypad for when i have to dial in bed (Help Desk tech support...on-call). For personal use, the the berry doesn't compare to the Droid IMHO. Like i stated above, I'm trying to convince my boss to move from the blackberry to the droid pro - basically we just need the time / software, so it's coming. :) Like cpjr said, you can pretty much do everything your blackberry does and a lot more, on the droid.

    Where there's a will, there's a way; in other words, chances are that if you find you need an app do something, someone probably has made it - or is working on it. :)
     
  6. dtsig

    dtsig Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Tigard, Oregon
    Ratings:
    +0
    Answers embedded ... i use a droidX

     
  7. EPWalker

    EPWalker New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just a clarification ... my Droid 2 can't siynch with Exchange server. Our IT guys say it is because our OUtlook is behind our firewall, and Droid 2 requires it to be in front of the Firewall. This is a a lot more technical than your average Verizon store rep understands, as it is for me.
    I then tried VPN only to discover that our VPN Server is a Cisco, and Motorola didn't license Cisco. Hope that helps some one ask the right questions.
     
  8. PaulQ

    PaulQ Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Arizona
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for all the info! I'm still on track to get a Droid Pro but it is that Exchange server integration that worries me. I'm not getting a clear answer from my IT department except "Oh yeah, I do that."

    Any more responses would be additionally helpful!
     
  9. EPWalker

    EPWalker New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    PaulQ ... anyone ... am I the only Droid 2 owner who cannot connect to Exchange Server because ours is behind the firewall. And am also the only one whose IT is using a Cisco VPN Server to which Motorola Droid 2 cannot connect?
     
  10. GolfProRM

    GolfProRM Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lincoln, NE
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does your exchange server have an Outlook Web Access (OWA) setup that's outside the firewall? If so, you can put in the OWA address in for the server name and that should work. I was able to put in owa.MYCOMPANYNAME.net for my server and it syncs perfectly.
     
  11. EPWalker

    EPWalker New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you GolfProRM ... I will take that little tid-bit to my IT guys today. Thanks for the quick reply, also!
     
  12. techRob

    techRob Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Montana
    Ratings:
    +1
    Once upon a time I got an application to connect to our VPN (we use a cisco one as well). The app: "VPN Connection" (catchy huh?) :p The icon has a bluish background with a couple droid figures. Took a little work, but got it going - even managed to do a remote desktop :biggrin: .... but i think that was before i flashed to Froyo....that or the ROM i used....either way, none of it works now :( ... one of our network guys was giving me crap (i think) and saying they blocked Droids from VPN...which i'm sure he is just giving me a hard time (we work together - i'm on the help desk). either way, i believe Root was / is required for both of these apps. The VPN app i used, from my understand / research i did back then, is the only one in the market to support the cisco vpn setup. But this was months ago....before Froyo rolled out.

    As for the exchange server, that's a load of crap. The same network guy setup a few users from a different department to access their work e-mail from their Droids. but I believe GolfProRM has the right idea - about using Outlook Web Access; I believe that's what our guy ended up doing....maybe.... ...however, i think he was testing it out on my droid to verify a few things (or something) and couldn't get it working...eh, who knows.

    Either way, the Droid Pro should have support for all this stuff built in (i know this wasn't your question, EPWalker...but I thought I'd add this in there)....i hope we can move from the berry's to droid pros, soon :(