reroot terminal problems

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by jakheb, Feb 14, 2010.

  1. jakheb

    jakheb New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I unrooted then rooted again.
    I'm trying to install milestone browser, but my terminal can't find anything.
    Any suggestions?
    Also what do you guys use for tethering? Trying to find one that allows https.
     
  2. thebowers

    thebowers Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,547
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +1
    Need more detials from terminal. You could use wifi tether that should let you go anywhere.
     
  3. jakheb

    jakheb New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Whenever I type in a command on terminal it says not found. I checked it and turns out I don't even have system writing capabilities. So I'm wondering if I'm even rooted. And I how do you get wifi tether? I thought it used bluetooth. My comp doesn't have bluetooth.
     
  4. thebowers

    thebowers Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,547
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +1
    Let's start @ the beginning. Do u have an app called superuser privileges? If so go to terminal and type su. Let me know what's going on.
     
  5. jakheb

    jakheb New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah. I've got it. And when I type in su it asks for superuser permission. As usual I push allow. Then I type in
    Mount-o remount,rw-t yaffs2
    Which is the first command line and it says mount-o not found.
     
  6. thebowers

    thebowers Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,547
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +1
    you are typing it like this

    mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system
     
  7. jakheb

    jakheb New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah. But all one line
     
  8. natediddy1120

    natediddy1120 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,180
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    ???
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hey man have you tried that update.zip file that you install and it removes your stock browser for you and installs the multitouch browser for you!!

    You don't have to do anything else...
     
  9. natediddy1120

    natediddy1120 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,180
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    ???
    Ratings:
    +1
    Here you go man.....if it downloads as a weird name, just rename it to update.zip and install just like you would the root file or any other update.zip file.....

    update.zip

    This will do everything your trying to do, for you
     
  10. jakheb

    jakheb New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok. Thanks. But I wanted to install a boot animation as well. Ill do this and see if my emulator works then.
     
  11. jakheb

    jakheb New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's not working. Its saying verification failed. Won't install.
     
  12. natediddy1120

    natediddy1120 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,180
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    ???
    Ratings:
    +1
    What? I just did this like 2 hours ago?

    Installs fine....are you rooted for sure? Did you rename it to update.zip?
     
Search tags for this page

android terminal reroot

,

jakhebofsilver