[Request] Volume buttons to toggle between vibrate and silent

Discussion in 'Bugless' started by tcfrombn, Jan 31, 2011.

  1. tcfrombn

    tcfrombn New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Remember back in 2.0.1 when we could use the volume buttons on the side of the phone to adjust the ringer volume, put the phone in vibrate mode and further put it in silent mode?

    I, for one, really liked this and I'm sure I'm not alone!

    Is it possible we could see this in a future BB build?
     
  2. meepstone

    meepstone Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I second this. I hate going into settings to either turn on or off vibrate.
     
  3. webeougher

    webeougher Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Stoneboro, PA/New Haven, CT
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey guys? Put it in the Feature Faceoff thread so we can let Pete know which features we, the Bugless Beast users, want the most.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  4. tcfrombn

    tcfrombn New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Where is this thread?

    A search returned nothing.
     
  5. webeougher

    webeougher Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Stoneboro, PA/New Haven, CT
    Ratings:
    +0
    Scroll down or search for posts I've made. I'm using the DF app so I can't link you to it unfortunately. Hopefully a mod will sticky it.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  6. wricks

    wricks Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Burlington, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you are using Beautiful Widgets (or other, similar apps) there is a silence widget that I placed on my homescreen. I just tap it when I need the Droid quiet and tap again to bring it back.

    Just a thought.
     
  7. tcfrombn

    tcfrombn New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just found the setting that allows this.

    Settings > Sound

    Check the box that says: Silent State - add a state for complete silence to the volume control
     
  8. psiuglen

    psiuglen Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    SE MI
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yep, it's already in BB! Don't know why Motorola (Google?) took it out in the first place, but glad it's back in...
     
  9. volando

    volando Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    one internet high-five to you, sir! i've missed this feature greatly (used the 'beautiful widgets: silent' since froyo hit)!
     
  10. tcfrombn

    tcfrombn New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would like to bump this and have Pete incorporate it into the new Gingerbread roms!!
     
  11. psiuglen

    psiuglen Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    SE MI
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would imagine he will be putting into his Bugless Beast Gingerbread version...the current Gingerbread he has out is supposed to be a "stock" version of it. Or at least as close as possible considering there won't be true stock version from Motorola/Verizon. So I'm sure the feature set will mirror current stock releases pretty closely.
     
  12. tcfrombn

    tcfrombn New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, I suppose. Considering that he has a few additions to the 'stock' one already, I feel like this feature would be essential one to incorporate as well. I don't know why Motorola took it out in 2.1 anyway...
     
  13. webeougher

    webeougher Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Stoneboro, PA/New Haven, CT
    Ratings:
    +0
    Seeing as how the GPA 10/11 builds are "stock" ROMs, customizations like this won't be added in. However, I fully expect it to be added back in to BBGB.
     
  14. tcfrombn

    tcfrombn New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Still think this should really be a 'stock' feature. :(
     
  15. webeougher

    webeougher Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Stoneboro, PA/New Haven, CT
    Ratings:
    +0
    And I don't think anyone would necessarily disagree with you; however, Motorola certainly doesn't think so, having removed it from their stock 2.2 build, and Pete is simply trying to follow in Moto's footsteps in making this the stock ROM that Moto would've built if they intended to bring GB to the Droid. Be patient - BBGB will be out soon enough.
     
Search tags for this page
android gb silent vibrate volume key
,
how do you put atrix 2 on silent
,
how to put motorola atrix 2 on silent
,

how to put motorola atrix on silent

,

how to put the motorola atrix on silent

,
mi3 volume key for silent mode
,
razer m silent toggel
,
vibration mode silent mode gingerbread