REQUEST: "REVERSE" Tether

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by GarrMatey, Mar 7, 2010.

1. GarrMatey

GarrMatey New Member

Geeks, Crackers, Hackers, etc. I know you're out there. I know you want a challenge. I know that just about anything is possible, you just need the right guy/gal with the right energy drink. ;)

I want a "Reverse Tether." I don't want to hook my Droid up to someone's computer and give them MY data usage. I want the OPPOSITE!

I repair computers for a living. I go to people's houses and fix their computers. If they don't have wireless, then I'm out of luck with my droid; I have to use my data plan. So what I want to do is hook my USB cable to their computer, and use their WIRED internet to get data to my Droid.

Instead of Verizon sending data to my phone that gets transferred to the computer via USB, I want their ISP to send data to their computer which directs it to my phone via USB.

It's the exact same as a tether, but reversing the direction of the data flow.

Hope I've been thorough enough with my description. I'm rooted. Can't think of anything else you'd need to know, but ask questions if you've got em.

I love you, geeks, and I'll soon be one of you.
    :)
  2. texasPI

texasPI New Member

One word comes to mind: why?
  3. ironosity

ironosity New Member

seriously, why? If you have a "connected" desktop, why in the world would you want to use the droid to access the web? and if it you need to acces a file, well you are connected via usb so you could just mount your droid and drag the file over...so why?
  4. Backnblack

Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

And the Droid has unlimited data....
  5. ashgfu

ashgfu New Member

If they dont have wireless... what good does a reverse tether do you? lmao. And if you have access to hook a USB cable to their computer... just use the computer for internet! There I fixed it.
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2010
  6. toastedoats

toastedoats New Member