1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Request Minimalist ROM

Discussion in 'Android Roms' started by jphudy, Mar 9, 2010.

  1. jphudy
    Offline

    jphudy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Because the droid is mostly lacking RAM, I think id love a ROM which stripped nearly every process and app. When I tether, my pc loads webpages 5x faster than the phone can. Maybe if the processes were more limited on the phone, it wpuld load pages faster. Anyone??
  2. adrynalyne
    Offline

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I could do that for you, but you won't see the performance increase you think you will.

    Android handles RAM very well.
  3. drowe
    Offline

    drowe New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NC
    Is there any advantage to having say, Docs to go, loaded in the ROM or installed as an app? Since most of the built in apps have 3rd party equivilents, I wonder if a stripped down ROM with nothing but the OS would leave me more room to install exactly the apps I want.

    Adrynalyne, I ran some of your ROMs on my winmo and am looking forward to see what can be done with Android.

    David
  4. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Have you tried using Auto Memory? It will limit the amount of apps that runs in the background, and supposedly "assist" Droid in deciding which apps to shut down at a quicker time. I've been playing with it myself and I haven't car turned it up to it's full potential but I'm think I'm going to give that a try. In theory it should make your phone faster and reduce the amount of app memory being used.
  5. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,057
    Likes Received:
    127
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    for one thing the new ESE53 ROMs are much smaller than previous ROMs they are running about 60-70MB while older ROMs were on the order of 80-90....so maybe that might help you out.
  6. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    Try the program autostarts if you want to control what starts up...like msconfig or such.

    But what specifically are you having problems with?
  7. mrdroid
    Offline

    mrdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Having your apps in memory is a good thing. You want to be utilizing as much memory as possible.
  8. Modulus
    Offline

    Modulus New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
  9. adrynalyne
    Offline

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    PM me with what you have in mind.
  10. ijustgotthisdroid
    Offline

    ijustgotthisdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    im kinda a software noob

    but i was hoping maybe some dev has made software to make the phone use all of its built in memory as ram? i know it has 512mb and its using half for ram and half for app storage but i have a 16gb sd card and i think this would make the phone perform much better obviously
  11. adrynalyne
    Offline

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You are mixing up RAM and ROM.

    The device has 256mb of RAM. It has 512mb of flashable ROM.

    The 512 is for application and OS storage, and a certain portion is reserved for the OS itself. The rest is for user apps. So the best you can hope for is more SPACE to install applications, not more RAM memory for those apps to use.
Similar Threads
  1. yakitori
    Replies:
    21
    Views:
    1,681
  2. akstyle450
    Replies:
    9
    Views:
    671
  3. Calla969
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    724
  4. AcridGosling
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    2,265
  5. jcmeyer26
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    2,693
Loading...
Search tags for this page
minimal android roms
,

minimalist rom droid incredible