Request Minimalist ROM

Discussion in 'Android Roms' started by jphudy, Mar 9, 2010.

  1. jphudy

    jphudy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Because the droid is mostly lacking RAM, I think id love a ROM which stripped nearly every process and app. When I tether, my pc loads webpages 5x faster than the phone can. Maybe if the processes were more limited on the phone, it wpuld load pages faster. Anyone??
     
  2. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +4
    I could do that for you, but you won't see the performance increase you think you will.

    Android handles RAM very well.
     
  3. drowe

    drowe Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is there any advantage to having say, Docs to go, loaded in the ROM or installed as an app? Since most of the built in apps have 3rd party equivilents, I wonder if a stripped down ROM with nothing but the OS would leave me more room to install exactly the apps I want.

    Adrynalyne, I ran some of your ROMs on my winmo and am looking forward to see what can be done with Android.

    David
     
  4. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    Have you tried using Auto Memory? It will limit the amount of apps that runs in the background, and supposedly "assist" Droid in deciding which apps to shut down at a quicker time. I've been playing with it myself and I haven't car turned it up to it's full potential but I'm think I'm going to give that a try. In theory it should make your phone faster and reduce the amount of app memory being used.
     
  5. jstafford1

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,150
    Likes Received:
    218
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +223
    for one thing the new ESE53 ROMs are much smaller than previous ROMs they are running about 60-70MB while older ROMs were on the order of 80-90....so maybe that might help you out.
     
  6. Matth3w

    Matth3w Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Try the program autostarts if you want to control what starts up...like msconfig or such.

    But what specifically are you having problems with?
     
  7. mrdroid

    mrdroid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Having your apps in memory is a good thing. You want to be utilizing as much memory as possible.
     
  8. Modulus

    Modulus Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    Ratings:
    +0
  9. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +4
    PM me with what you have in mind.
     
  10. ijustgotthisdroid

    ijustgotthisdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    im kinda a software noob

    but i was hoping maybe some dev has made software to make the phone use all of its built in memory as ram? i know it has 512mb and its using half for ram and half for app storage but i have a 16gb sd card and i think this would make the phone perform much better obviously
     
  11. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +4
    You are mixing up RAM and ROM.

    The device has 256mb of RAM. It has 512mb of flashable ROM.

    The 512 is for application and OS storage, and a certain portion is reserved for the OS itself. The rest is for user apps. So the best you can hope for is more SPACE to install applications, not more RAM memory for those apps to use.
     
Similar Threads
  1. yakitori
    Replies:
    21
    Views:
    1,813
  2. akstyle450
    Replies:
    9
    Views:
    738
  3. Calla969
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    800
  4. AcridGosling
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    2,354
  5. jcmeyer26
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    2,833
Loading...
Search tags for this page
minimal android roms
,

minimalist rom droid incredible