[REQUEST] Bionic lapdock owners running stock

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by CurGeorge8, Aug 6, 2012.

  1. CurGeorge8
    Offline

    CurGeorge8 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a Motorola Bionic lapdock (MOTBIOLAPDK) that I've had issues with since day 1. I've sent it back to Moto twice now for the same issue (the screen will go blank at random intervals). Twice now they've "repaired" it and sent it back to me.

    Is there anyone else out there experiencing the same problem? If you were able to resolve it, what did you do? I've dug through the log files after it does this, and it seems to be hardware related (always see 'CPU pegged' in the logs).

    I'm running a stock Bionic.
    Thanks

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Droid Forums
  2. devils3023
    Offline

    devils3023 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wayne, NJ
    No issues like that with my lapdock. Sounds like maybe it's not making a good connection with the lapdock. When the screen goes black, does the phone respond as though its been disconnected from it?
  3. BroidDrionic
    Offline

    BroidDrionic New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Tried just closing it and opening it again? Haven't noticed this issue on ics or gb either

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Droid Forums
  4. CurGeorge8
    Offline

    CurGeorge8 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This is actually the only thing that works. That and removing and resetting my phone.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Droid Forums
  5. jason1175
    Offline

    jason1175 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've not had this issue either. I would think that perhaps it's the phone that is the problem since you've had your lapdock repaired twice. I would find someone with a Bionic, or go to a VZW store and find a phone to test.
  6. quadtronix
    Offline

    quadtronix New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Never had that problem. Running stock .905...

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Droid Forums
  7. GrumpyOldGeek
    Offline

    GrumpyOldGeek New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Do you have use extended battery? Mine will act up if I have my extended battery in, if I put the regular battery in, it runs all day without a hitch. I have a friend with a laptop and we tried this setup with my phone in his lapdock and had the same results.
    I saw somewhere that someone had the same problem as me and used a Dremel tool to notch out the part you flip up for the phone and now it works fine. Haven't done that yet myself, it's a round-to-it project.
  8. CurGeorge8
    Offline

    CurGeorge8 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The behavior is consistant regardless of what battery I'm using (I have both the standard and the Motorola extended).

    For those of you without any problems, do you usually connect via wi-fi while using your lapdock? I think I may be seeing a pattern, in that the reboots (or blackouts, or whatever...) are happening only when wi-fi is turned on (and possibly only when connected).

    My router at home is set up with WPA2 authentication, and it happens all the time there. Same with at work.

    If you don't have any problems, can you let me know how you connect? Do you use wi-fi with your lapdock? If so, how is the network configured?
  9. urphonesux
    Offline

    urphonesux New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    travelling...........
    when it happens do you get the hdmi not connected box on the lapdocks screen?

    are you truly stock, stock and rooted, or do you have a rom flashed?

    Safestrap or bootstrap?

    I find safestrap to have issues with the lapdock

    does the screen come back if u do a zig zag across the touchpad? ( how i wake mine up)

    Set screen timeout to 10 mins when docked
  10. CurGeorge8
    Offline

    CurGeorge8 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Pure stock, .905, not rooted.

    Often when it happens, I will get the HDMI not connected message on the lapdock display. The only way I have found to bring the webtop back up is to close the lapdock, wait for the phone to come back to the homescreen (on the phone display), and then re-open the webtop. This usually takes 30-60 seconds. Occasionally, I have to pull the phone from the lapdock, wait for it to reset back to the homescreen, and then reseat it into the lapdock connector.

    Zig-zagging across the touchpad does nothing.
  11. dluke
    Offline

    dluke New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2012
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ya it kinda sounds like the phone is going into sleep mode.. i was gonna say to make sure you didnt have the screen saver turned on but if it does not come back up after zig-zagging on the touchpad then its not the screensaver.. i would try like urphonesux said and set your display timeout (from the settings menu on your phone) to 10 min.. or i would maybe try (and sorry ive been running ICS for awhile now and i cant remember exactly how to get to this setting on GB) going into the menu in settings where you would enable/disable "debugging", and right underneath the debugging option there should be an option to set the phone to "stay awake" when plugged in.. i think on GB that menu is in Settings>About Phone>Development or something like that (hopefully someone on GB can correct me on that location). but hopefully one of those settings will work for you
  12. CurGeorge8
    Offline

    CurGeorge8 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    But why would the phone go into sleep mode while I'm using it (via the lapdock). I went to check the setting regardless, and it was already set to "on".

    I'm beginning to think more and more that its related to wi-fi. I went into the application mangager and deleted all app data for any app related to webtop or wi-fi (not just the cache, but the app data as well). I rebooted the phone and went off to start my day. I used the lapdock hard (multiple firefox tabs open, a podcast playing, etc) for about 3 hours on 4g data, and it didn't reboot or black out once. Now I'm at home and have been on my wi-fi for about an hour, and no reboots. Still laggy at times, but manageable.

    We'll see what happens over the next few days. I'm going to be keeping an eye on it, and will post back anything I find.
  13. bluezdawg
    Offline

    bluezdawg New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Boulder, Colorado
    Running stock .905 with extended battery, problems here.

    Sent from my butt-kick'n DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk2
  14. CurGeorge8
    Offline

    CurGeorge8 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What type of problems? The same ones I described?
  15. BroidDrionic
    Offline

    BroidDrionic New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I recommend just upgrading to ics :D

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Droid Forums
  16. CurGeorge8
    Offline

    CurGeorge8 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well .... duh :p

    The problem with that is, if I have defective hardware, I need to be totally stock for Moto to provide warranty service. :(
  17. CurGeorge8
    Offline

    CurGeorge8 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Looks like my hope may have been short lived. The random reboots returned yesterday. So frustrated.
  18. masiv
    Offline

    masiv New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SouthEast Michigan
    Are you using a case? I have a body glove slim case that fits in the lapdock holder, and i would get random screen blackouts. Connecting without the case, did not have the issue. That was with .905.

    Have since moved to .232 and my lapdock experience is awesome. Had big time memory problems before, but with .232 everything works well.
  19. CurGeorge8
    Offline

    CurGeorge8 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No, no case. Have both the standard and extended battery, symptoms persist with both. I can try "wigging" the phone a bit in the dock, trying to get it to turn off, but nothing happens.

    I'd move to ICS, except I still need warranty support from moto, and I can't get that on a leak. Sucks :icon_evil:
Search tags for this page
bionic lapdock reset
,
bionic lapdock screen blanking
,
bionic lapdock screen screen timeout
,
does the motorola motbiolapdk work with a droid razr
,
how to use motbiolapdk
,

lapdock 500 repair

,
motorola motbiolapdk
,
what phones work with the motbiolapdk