Reports Filtering In: Jelly Bean Update for Droid RAZR HD & RAZR MAXX HD Wide Rollout

Discussion in 'Android News' started by dgstorm, Dec 6, 2012.

  1. dgstorm

    dgstorm Editor in Chief Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    7,813
    Likes Received:
    1,749
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +1,784
    [​IMG]

    Verizon told us last week that the Jelly Bean rollout for the Motorola Droid RAZR HD and RAZR MAXX HD would start this week, and it looks like they were true to their word. We have had reports filtering in today from multiple users that the wider push is happening. Earlier in the week we had the soak test, which shared the Jelly Bean goodness with quite a few folks, but not it looks like the full wide push is happening. We also have word that the full OTA update is happening this evening, although it might have started early.

    Sound off in the thread if you are one of the lucky ones who have received the update already, and tell us what you think of it!
     
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2012
  2. 713King

    713King Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    Ratings:
    +1
    I got my notification in the AM but I pressed remind later because I want to see if it is rootable just in case I get tired of stock.
     
  3. macpro88

    macpro88 Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +83
    You can root the ICS build you're on now, use VooDoo Root Keeper from the Market to back up root, temp unroot, take the OTA then use the app to restore root and you are now on Rooted Jelly Bean!
     
  4. gothere

    gothere New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Got mine this morning.
     
  5. noobsterootster

    noobsterootster Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +0
    Any news on when we will get it for sure for DROID razr?

    Sent from my DROID razr, using SwiftKey 3!
     
  6. GoCliffGo05

    GoCliffGo05 Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,854
    Likes Received:
    335
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +335
    Re: Reports Filtering In: Jelly Bean Update for Droid RAZR HD & RAZR MAXX HD

    Everything keeps pointing to somewhere in the middle of 2013.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2
     
  7. bullswife98

    bullswife98 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    879
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sthrn Illinois
    Ratings:
    +5
    My boss just got her Razr HD 2days ago and she just got the Jellybean update at 4:10pm (just a little while ago) and she said its awesome! Hope the og. Razr gets it sooner than middle of 2013. Would be a great Christmas gift.

    TAG YOUR IT! DROID RAZR using Droid Forums. :)
     
  8. solar

    solar Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    798
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    So Cal
    Ratings:
    +0
    Got mine last evening pacific time, about 11pm or so. I love jelly bean so far. It like the android team hs done a really good job of trying to make the UI more consistent as well as more efficient (and pretty!) I like the visual changes. very impressed so far. Android has come a long way and continues to get better! Now I just need to re-root!
     
  9. flyerchas

    flyerchas New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    JB update

    Woke up yesterday morning, hit update in settings, and lo and behold, there it was! Twenty minutes (and a shave) later, I was the proud owner of JB 4.1.1. Been playing with Google Now (not quite Siri), and it seems smoother when changing screens. Still learning. Next: 4.2?
     
  10. Droidboy101

    Droidboy101 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Ratings:
    +0
    Love the new JB update on my Rzar HD Maxx the Google Exprence is amazing!! Only prop im having is when i turn off my phone at night I have to change my wallpaper back every time prop just a glitch but othere than that its running smooth!!
     
  11. hotice

    hotice Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +18
    Turn your phone off? Why do you turn it off (assuming you mean shutdown) over night?

    I haven't had any problem with the wallpaper changing on me though.
     
  12. hotice

    hotice Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +18
    Is anyone having problems using the Amazon AppStore since the update to Jelly Bean? I need to re-install the appstore or clear the data every time I open it and it will only work that one time. Next time it will crash when I try to open it and I need to clear data or re-install again. You can task switch to it with no problem.
     
  13. xtor

    xtor Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,307
    Likes Received:
    68
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Northern Ca
    Ratings:
    +68
    First quarter of 2013

    reach out and touch someone, 1000meter club
     
  14. hatchin

    hatchin Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I am having the same issue. I tried to redownload the appstore from Amazon.com and got the same result.
     
  15. hotice

    hotice Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +18
    Hmmm, that seemed to fix it for me. Well, you can also go into the app info, stop the process if it's running and clear the data. That works for me too.

    I worked with Amazon Support on the phone this morning. They passed the issue on to their dev team, or that's what it sounded like. I should hear something back in the next few days. I'll post something if I hear back from Amazon.
     
Search tags for this page

droid razr cranberry update

,
how to disable filter on a droid max
,
info hoticeinc.co.uk