1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Reporting back from 4.1.2

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR' started by NeverdelSol, Dec 24, 2012.

  1. NeverdelSol
    Offline

    NeverdelSol New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sideload updated it from the link on droid-life, since my OTA download failed like nearly everyone else's.

    It's nice! The scrolling for everything is definitely smoother now. Project Butter worked out for our phones!

    Other finds, there are some Moto apps that aren't there anymore. No more My Files, My Music, My etc. It seems to been consolidated into Motocast? Weird little thing, the "Dual Core Technology" is gone from the boot logo also. Other than some very subtle image changes, the homescreen GUI looks unchanged. I'm running Nova on top, so I'm not saying much other than it's BUTTER!

    I can't report much on battery life, I flashed at 50% so I'm going to FoxKat it tonight. I also didn't FDR, so I'll see if there are any issues there. I also kept root using VooDoo Rootkeeper, no issues there.

    Overall, HUGE improvement so far. dancedroid
    1 person likes this.
  2. mooch91
    Offline

    mooch91 New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Am I the only one who can't get WiFi to work since update?
  3. the3dolla
    Offline

    the3dolla New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    I never got an update prompt, so I downloaded and installed via the first link to the OTA. Ikept root via bookkeeper from gb to ics,but it seems I missed a step and lost it here. I press restore root and I t says it's restored but it doesn't work,anything I can do? I just use it for ad blocking so no biggie, hotspot still works so that's good.
  4. FoxKat
    Offline

    FoxKat Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8,606
    Likes Received:
    819
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    I don't believe so. There are others, but I wouldn't be too surprised if the reason is the Wireless Router's older protocols, rather than the new OS. First go to your router's manufacturer's website and try to download and install the most current version of the router's firmware. In some cases WIFI problems are completely cured that way. Another solution is to replace the router since newer technology is now very inexpensive and that has fixed all WIFI compatibility problems for some who've reported issues after updates. It may also be that the phone's WIFI settings need to be reset.
  5. NeverdelSol
    Offline

    NeverdelSol New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm not having any Wifi issues. After the update it automagically connected back to my router, not broadcasting the SSID even.
  6. FoxKat
    Offline

    FoxKat Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8,606
    Likes Received:
    819
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    The age of the router has a lot to do with compatibility of the newer protocols. How old is yours, what model and manufacturer, and what firmware? This will help others.
  7. NeverdelSol
    Offline

    NeverdelSol New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    True! Mine's fairly new. It's a Belkin N750 DB running 1.10.16 firmware. (Latest version.)
    1 person likes this.
  8. FoxKat
    Offline

    FoxKat Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8,606
    Likes Received:
    819
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    At this point, it's purely up in the air as to whether any of the known working methods to root the earlier versions of Android will work with the new Jelly Bean you just installed. There may be a way to go back, but I can't be sure. I believe that Jelly Bean is an overlay to Ice Cream Sandwich, and so if that is true rolling back to the latest version of ICS may be possible. You will want to research and make sure before attempting ANY flashing of earlier ROMs into your phone, since once it's done - if it fails, you're on your own. There is NO FASTBOOT file for this ROM (YET), so you will likely be left without a working phone if flashing an earlier ROM soft-bricks it.
  9. mooch91
    Offline

    mooch91 New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Probably the issue. I was at my parents house on DSL. It was fine moments before on ics. Now that I'm back at home on FiOS its fine.
    1 person likes this.
  10. mooch91
    Offline

    mooch91 New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Tinkering (worst timing to get this update - Christmas!), I'm trying to figure out the following with the new version:
    • Where's "My Music" or the internal music player? Can't seem to find it anywhere.
    • How do I access my DLNA content off my DLNA server? Used to be in "My Gallery" or "My Music".
    • Why do I have two sets of pictures when I open up the gallery? I don't actually see two sets when I explore the files on the phone or the card.
  11. Raydee35
    Offline

    Raydee35 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I honestly think they pulled the update for a reason. I am betting they found some problems that they will sort out in the next couple days. They will more than ikely re-release the update again after that.
  12. NeverdelSol
    Offline

    NeverdelSol New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was sort of missing the Music app, but I started using Google Music instead. As far as the gallery goes, I use Quickpic anyway.
  13. Brostrom4
    Offline

    Brostrom4 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Twin Cities, MN
    I haven't found anything wrong with my update. Battery life seems way improved, and its buttery smooth. Nothing yet that is bad, although i've heard some people having random problems
  14. NeverdelSol
    Offline

    NeverdelSol New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Though I have noticed.. I don't think Google Now is actually in the build. Can anyone else verify?

    EDIT: I forgot I had Google Search disabled. It's definitely here now!
  15. Keelar
    Offline

    Keelar New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The only issue I'm having so far is my phone will not rotate the screen to landscape when I'm trying to watch a video in full screen. Besides this one issue it seems very smooth and better than ICS.
  16. Keelar
    Offline

    Keelar New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My screen rotation problem was fixed by doing a simulated battery pull reboot.
  17. hasbrobot
    Offline

    hasbrobot New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Google now comes up when you hit the search soft button. No regrets at all in taking the plunge. Jb is awesome!

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
  18. casper05lly
    Offline

    casper05lly New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is anyone noticed Google magazine using a lot of battery
  19. NeverdelSol
    Offline

    NeverdelSol New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I couldn't say, I've never used Magazine before.
  20. NeverdelSol
    Offline

    NeverdelSol New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Also something new. I remember reading some stuff earlier this year about people seeing NFC writing on the internal battery after taking one apart, even though we haven't had any functionality for it. There's now a 0.00B app/service in the build named "NfcUi"! I'm wondering if the phone actually has the capability to do NFC, they just hadn't had it in a build?

    Unless I'm crazy, and that was in the other builds too. I don't know. :biggrin:
Search tags for this page
4.1.2 wifi fix
,
android 4.1 wifi fix
,
android 4.1.2 wifi fix
,
android 4.1wifi location problems
,
android maxx nfcui
,
android razr 4.1.2 nfc disabled
,
dlna client droid bionic 4.1.2
,
droid 4.1.2 wifi issues
,
fix wifi lebrity 4.1.2
,

nfcui

,
nfcui app
,
nfcui version 1.0
,
razr rollback 4.1.2
,
what happened to dlna app on android 4.1.2 droid bionic
,
what is nfcui