reoccurring problem FROM HELL.

Discussion in 'Thunderbolt Tech Support' started by nakhleh926, Apr 5, 2011.

  1. nakhleh926

    nakhleh926 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    my phone keeps randomly locking up, especially during flicking through the app drawer or pressing home, or even typing, sometimes htc sense kills itself, sometimes my home screen kills itself. halp me. with or without overclocking. no task killers. happens on senseless and sense roms.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  2. nakhleh926

    nakhleh926 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    bump :'(, is any of this out of date?

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  3. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    jUst one question. Have you tried a factory data reset?
     
  4. nakhleh926

    nakhleh926 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    I thought that was the same as clearing cache and data and dalvik cache through cwm? or am I mistaken?

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
    #4 nakhleh926, Apr 6, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2011
  5. Vulcan1600

    Vulcan1600 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,843
    Likes Received:
    279
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +289
    So you are rooted yes? Did you factory wipe before installing ROM's? As Hook suggests, you do need to do that when installing ROMs, or even if still stock, a factory reset could be in order. If you are rooted, go back to a backup you would have that was working correctly before the lockups occurred.
     
  6. nakhleh926

    nakhleh926 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    alright, thank you guys, I'll do it tonight and get back with you as I have a busy day, reverted to das bamf temporarily as it crashes less for some reason but still experiences the issue, luckily I backed up before I flashed my first rom.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  7. wctaylor79

    wctaylor79 Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    626
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Island in Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    Agree with the others.. give the phone a good wipe clean and set up again. If you have apps that you want to back up use Tiatnium for the apps, and then just clean data wipe (like 3 or 4 times) in recovery and then fresh install of ROM of choice.

    I did find that the OC kernels that are around 1.8 and 2gig would work great but would give me issues if I pushed phone to much. But you stated that the issue was even without OC. So good luck. Hope all works out.
     
  8. nakhleh926

    nakhleh926 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am an idiot. I reverted to my stock backup, planned on factoryresetting it, then hopping into cwm, and data wiping a few times as suggested, BUT...what ACTUALLY happened, was I reverted, factory reset, then lolsuperuserwentonvacation. UGH. I'm not in the mood to redo that entire process right now, that was quite depressing, I'll take care of it later and get back to you guys, I appreciate the responses. Time to slap myself silly.


    PS: UGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH

    PSNUMBERTWO: I can't wait anymore, the nerd inside me wants out, rooting.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
    #8 nakhleh926, Apr 6, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2011
  9. nakhleh926

    nakhleh926 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    all is well so far, if it comes back I'll let you guys know, if not then thank you very much for your helpful suggestions.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
Search tags for this page

htc thunderbolt keeps locking up

,

my thunderbolt keeps locking up

,
thunderbolt locking up, wont call