Renaming or using multi sd cards?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by T0M5, Mar 31, 2010.

1. T0M5

T0M5 New Member

Ratings:
    +0
    Hello, I am brand new to this and have a couple of questions. I am getting my droid tomorrow and I am considering rooting it for a couple of reasons(wifi tether, and full control over something I own being the main reasons). On the videos I have seen for rooting and unrooting your phone it involves deleting and installing a file called "update.zip" which brings up my first couple of questions.

1. Is it possible to keep the Original "update.zip" file on your sd and just rename it? That way I don't have to search the internet later and download the "unroot-update.zip" file in case I need to unroot.

2. If that is not possible(I don't see why, but like I said I'm new) would it work If I just copied my original sd card that comes with the droid to another sd card? That way I could keep the original as a backup, then if I need to unroot I could just switch out cards.

Thank you.

2. ViciousCircle

ViciousCircle Android Addict Premium Member

Ratings:
    +0
    You can rename the files all you want. Just make sure that when you actually want to apply them you rename or copy them to update.zip.

3. T0M5

T0M5 New Member

Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Vicious, I figured it wouldn't be a problem. I don't know why the people who made the videos didn't just do it that way, instead of deleting and then having to go back and re download? Maybe after I have had my droid for awhile i will start making my own videos, videos jam packed with common sense.

4. Backnblack

Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

Ratings:
    +6
    If your Droid has the 2.1 update on it, You can forget about rooting for a while....

5. Se7enLC

Se7enLC Active Member

Ratings:
    +0