Removing junk apps after rooting

Discussion in 'Droid Incredible Tech Support' started by savageroot, Feb 17, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. savageroot

savageroot New Member

Ratings:
    +0
    I'm new to rooting and the like, thanks for attempting to help!

I just rooted my Incredible last night and I'm not 100% sure how to remove the Verizon junk apps from my device.

I found some info on another thread that said I need to install an app manager (I installed Super Manager) then rename the app file to "appname.apk.bak" then reboot. I did this for the Amazon MP3 app, after rebooting the app no longer shows up in the app list. Does this actually remove the app from the device or just hide it from view? Ultimately I want it/them deleted.

I tried the same process for the VZ Navigator app, and it didn't work. Is there a different process involved for Verizon branded apps?

Thanks again!

2. FergatROn

FergatROn New Member

Ratings:
    +0
    Have you ever thought about installing a custom ROM? They normally come stripped of all that junk software.

3. Backnblack

Backnblack Premium Member
    Premium Member

Ratings:
    +24
    Current Phone Model:
    iPhone 7+ 256gb
    A custom ROM is not the end all answer a lot make it out to be.

4. BayouFlyFisher

BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

Ratings:
    +17
    I would strongly suggest that you research the Roms for yourself. Most of the final release Rom run smoother and more stable than stock. When you see people with issues it is quite often due to a bad install or user error.

BTW, I've been rooted for over a year and have installed dozens and dozens of Rome (3 yesterday! !).

Good luck.

Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk

5. BayouFlyFisher

Rescue Squad

Ratings:
    +17