Remove root

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by snowboardpunk, Feb 17, 2011.

  1. snowboardpunk

    snowboardpunk Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I have a couple problems with the droid x both rooted and unrooted. So I'm sending it in to get a replacement and was wondering how do I get rid of root. If I do a factory reset will that get rid of root?
     
  2. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    A factory reset will still leave you rooted but you can pick up z4root and use it to unroot.

    tappin and a talkin
     
  3. snowboardpunk

    snowboardpunk Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    K thanks and if I unroot and restore to factory settings will that remove all traces of my root and of liberty?
     
  4. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ya that should suffice. If you really want to get crazy you could sbf it but that's probably not necessary.

    tappin and a talkin
     
  5. snowboardpunk

    snowboardpunk Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok so I unrooted and restored to factory settings but my rom is still on there. Is there a way to remove it or change my phone like it wad straight from the box.
     
  6. stumbleflyx

    stumbleflyx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is it just boot logo or does it say liberty in about phone

    sent from stock dx
     
  7. snowboardpunk

    snowboardpunk Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    the boot logo says it. Liberty background and settings r still here and wen I gogoto settings it says liberty settings
     
  8. stumbleflyx

    stumbleflyx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    What does it say on your system version on about phone

    sent from stock dx
     
  9. stumbleflyx

    stumbleflyx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did you restore a stock backup then unroot then factory reset or did u factory reset while still running liberty

    sent from stock dx
     
  10. snowboardpunk

    snowboardpunk Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    The kernel is 2.6.32.9 and it says I'm running liberty 1.5 under rom. And I did the factory reset while running liberty.
     
  11. stumbleflyx

    stumbleflyx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Im not an expert but what I believe u have to do is reroot with z4 then install bootstrapper also did you make a nandroid backup of your stockrom if not u r going to have to sbf back to stock tbh has a full .340

    sent from stock dx
     
  12. stumbleflyx

    stumbleflyx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just went back to stock from liberty by flashing my stock rooted backup and flashed a stock boot logo zip

    sent from stock dx
     
Search tags for this page

android hard reset remove root?

,

factory root uninstaller galaxy s4

,

how to remove all traces of and reset bingo craze on android

,

will a hard reset remove all traves of rooting