Remove root

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by snowboardpunk, Feb 17, 2011.

  1. snowboardpunk
    Offline

    snowboardpunk Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I have a couple problems with the droid x both rooted and unrooted. So I'm sending it in to get a replacement and was wondering how do I get rid of root. If I do a factory reset will that get rid of root?
     
  2. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    A factory reset will still leave you rooted but you can pick up z4root and use it to unroot.

    tappin and a talkin
     
  3. snowboardpunk
    Offline

    snowboardpunk Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    K thanks and if I unroot and restore to factory settings will that remove all traces of my root and of liberty?
     
  4. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ya that should suffice. If you really want to get crazy you could sbf it but that's probably not necessary.

    tappin and a talkin
     
  5. snowboardpunk
    Offline

    snowboardpunk Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok so I unrooted and restored to factory settings but my rom is still on there. Is there a way to remove it or change my phone like it wad straight from the box.
     
  6. stumbleflyx
    Offline

    stumbleflyx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is it just boot logo or does it say liberty in about phone

    sent from stock dx
     
  7. snowboardpunk
    Offline

    snowboardpunk Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    the boot logo says it. Liberty background and settings r still here and wen I gogoto settings it says liberty settings
     
  8. stumbleflyx
    Offline

    stumbleflyx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    What does it say on your system version on about phone

    sent from stock dx
     
  9. stumbleflyx
    Offline

    stumbleflyx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did you restore a stock backup then unroot then factory reset or did u factory reset while still running liberty

    sent from stock dx
     
  10. snowboardpunk
    Offline

    snowboardpunk Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    The kernel is 2.6.32.9 and it says I'm running liberty 1.5 under rom. And I did the factory reset while running liberty.
     
  11. stumbleflyx
    Offline

    stumbleflyx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Im not an expert but what I believe u have to do is reroot with z4 then install bootstrapper also did you make a nandroid backup of your stockrom if not u r going to have to sbf back to stock tbh has a full .340

    sent from stock dx
     
  12. stumbleflyx
    Offline

    stumbleflyx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just went back to stock from liberty by flashing my stock rooted backup and flashed a stock boot logo zip

    sent from stock dx
     
  13. Tillyswilly
    Offline

    Tillyswilly Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,060
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Bham
    Ratings:
    +0
    just get the sbf out of my signature and run it, there are tutorials everywhere on here spazz has a good one on the dx in his signature which is the same as the d2 pretty much bc idk which phone you have but the sbf in my sig. is for the d2....that will put you back to just like the phone was out of the box imo thats the easiest thing to do
     
  14. snowboardpunk
    Offline

    snowboardpunk Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    K thanks guys. I just used the sbf. I also called to get a replacement and there sending me a refurb. Should I push for a new one? It hasnt been 30 days since I got it but it is my second replacement. So can I still get a new device?
     
Search tags for this page

android hard reset remove root?

,

factory root uninstaller galaxy s4

,

how to remove all traces of and reset bingo craze on android

,

will a hard reset remove all traves of rooting