Remotely control a Droid

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by av8shunmeckaneck, Nov 8, 2009.

1. av8shunmeckaneck

av8shunmeckaneck New Member

I would like to remotely control the music on my Droid. I want to mount a Bluetooth remote on my motorcycle handle bars that will start, stop and skip fwd and backward.

I have seen devices like the Jabra B3030 that sorta do this but only with the headphones plugged into the controller. I would rather have the earbuds plugged into the the Droid and control the music via remote.

If I were to use something like a Jabra B3030 is it possible to just plug the earbuds into the phone and use the 3030 as a remote?

I'm not sure what the rules Bluetooth AVRCP are but I'm thinking that with something like the Jabra B3030 connected it would disable the headphone jack output. Is there a way to keep the headphone jack enabled with a device like the Jabra B3030 connected?

Thanks for any help. I am new to Android from a Palm 700P which was GREAT but I really like my new Droid!!! :motdroidvert:
  2. andjarnic

andjarnic New Member

I am a bit away from exploring bluetooth and wifi.. but if every aspect of this phone (thus OS) is reachable... I would assume that there is a way to actually work with the bluetooth or wifi data coming to it to control an app. However, I am unsure yet of a sort of "driver" app that can listen for bluethooth/wifi data, then use it to control yet another app, such as the media player. I would imagine it is possible tho.
  3. AcidBurn

AcidBurn New Member

That sounds really cool though.
  4. rlittle66

rlittle66 New Member

With Linux All is possible, you just need to find someone interested in developing it :)
  5. sixtytwo

sixtytwo New Member

Totally agree. Right now when I'm on my bike, the only thing I can control is the volume.