"Remote RDP" app by Walter Yongtao Wang running on the Verizon Droid.

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions & Site Assistance' started by CluelessinNE, Mar 28, 2010.

  1. CluelessinNE
    Offline

    CluelessinNE New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have installed "Remote RDP" app by Walter Yongtao Wang running on the Verizon Droid. I can not get it to connect. does anyone have instructions or a link or manual. I could use some help. I think i set up port forwarding correctly and the pc. I think i have issues with configuration of droid app. HELP!!!!
  2. dimaj
    Offline

    dimaj New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fremont, CA
    Can you please:
    - post your router configuration?
    - post your rdp configuration on your droid?

    I was messing with it yesterday and it worked
  3. CluelessinNE
    Offline

    CluelessinNE New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello and thanks.

    My 1st router Linksys WRT 110 external ip has port 3390 forwarded to ip 192.168.1.101. Same with triggering ports 3390 and address. The same set up has been completed for the 2nd is a linksys WRT54g has the same.


    THe settings on the phone has the external ip address port 3390 User name....that is it. Did i mention thank you...
  4. bamfsig45
    Offline

    bamfsig45 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    895
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ICT
    Are you running Windows 7 Home Premium?

  5. dimaj
    Offline

    dimaj New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fremont, CA
    OK... If I'm not mistaken, port triggering will forward your request to the first device on your network that will respond at that port. If I understood you correctly, you will be better off using NAT (Network Address Translation) aka port forwarding.
    As far as the port concerned... RDP has a default port of 3389. Have you changed your Remote Desktop Server to listen on 3390?
    Also, have you set up your computer to accept RDP requests? Do you have a firewall running which might be blocking your RDP requests?

    Finally, a thing to note... if you are running Windows 7, you will have to specify a domain name (your computer name).
  6. dimaj
    Offline

    dimaj New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fremont, CA
  7. CluelessinNE
    Offline

    CluelessinNE New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Great thanks. I have tried it on a XP home machine hence 3389 port, 3390 port for Vista premium. I have set the machines to accept RDP in both the firewall and sharing sections. I think the big issue is this morning when i had the "AH HA" moment. I was trying to connect wirelessly. I am not sure if XP home will accept RDP.
  8. dimaj
    Offline

    dimaj New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fremont, CA
  9. CluelessinNE
    Offline

    CluelessinNE New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    OK now that the "Brain Fart" is gone i will try to run it on an older XP pro box for now.
  10. bamfsig45
    Offline

    bamfsig45 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    895
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ICT
    Search google for an RDP Hack. I know there are some for Vista.
  11. dimaj
    Offline

    dimaj New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fremont, CA
  12. CluelessinNE
    Offline

    CluelessinNE New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Got it working thanks all....now if i could figure out how to keep the upper piece lit for a bit longer while in call that would be great.
  13. dimaj
    Offline

    dimaj New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fremont, CA
    How did you get it to work?
    What do you mean by the "Upper Piece"?
  14. CluelessinNE
    Offline

    CluelessinNE New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was able to connect to the pc behind my firewall using this app with the Droid....too cool. Now if i can get the slingbox to run correctly. That i think i have to use my gaming notebook as it has ton O' horsepower and vid card.

    The slide part where you touch to run apps and such. I do not like the fact that the dial pad goes black as soon as you hit the call button. Is there a fix or setting i am missing.

    Has anyone tried to run slingbox from PC to droid?
  15. dimaj
    Offline

    dimaj New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fremont, CA
    Awesome!
    glad to see you've got it working! Unfortunately I don't know how to do the other part, but I would love to find that out as well.

    dimaj
  16. kpoker
    Offline

    kpoker New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What remote app would people recommend to connect with an XP computer?
Search tags for this page
appremote rdp yongtao wang
,
remote rdp by yongtao wang settings
,
remote rdp enterprise by yongtao wang for android
,
remote rdp enterprise yongtao wang
,

remote rdp yongtao wang

,
setup remote rdp enterprise android
,
walter do rdp
,

walter yongtao wang

,
walter yongtao wang rdp