Remote Data Wipe?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by wmscottmc, Feb 3, 2011.

  1. wmscottmc

    wmscottmc Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Has anybody found an app that will do a remote data wipe if the phone is ever lost or stolen? Im using AVG now, but the locate doesnt work, so I dont have much confidence that the remote data wipe would work if I ever needed it.

    Thanks.
     
  2. milimar

    milimar Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Great question. Wouldn't that be the way to go. To have personal control and not relying on mobile backup or locating apps. Just zapit!
    milimar
     
  3. mr_silent

    mr_silent Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Anchorage, Alaska
    Ratings:
    +0
    Lookout Mobile Security is said to have that capability. I use it to keep backups of my apps, not sure if the remote wipe works as I've never needed it yet. It has a free version in the market if you want to check it out.
    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  4. Nickchapa

    Nickchapa Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    It works. Dont give your dbag brother the pass though. :-( dick move for sure

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  5. nerdslogic

    nerdslogic Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,531
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Cybertron
    Ratings:
    +1
    I use Wavesecure. I had lookout for a while but it didn't work as they said it does. Wavesecure worked flawlessly.
     
  6. PFM

    PFM New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Remote Wipe

    The Touchdown Exchange app can do a remote wipe - and optionally include the SD card.
     
  7. TomN

    TomN Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Indiana
    Ratings:
    +0
    Seek Droid. It's free and it works pretty well.
     
  8. Skorched

    Skorched New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Redding, California
    Ratings:
    +0
    +1 for seekdroid
    Remote lock wipes both phone and SD card and GPS tracking. Its also light on resorces

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
     
  9. LSSI_Tim

    LSSI_Tim New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Any thoughts as to why Seekdroid requires permission to access your Contact data on your device?

    EDIT: Got a response from the developer:

    ---- start paste ----

    Hello Tim,

    The contact data permission is needed for returning the last 10 calls to and from the device. Here is a more detailed list of permissions for the app and what they are needed for.

    ACCESS_COARSE_LOCATION - Location
    ACCESS_FINE_LOCATION - Location
    DISABLE_KEYGUARD - Alarm
    INTERNET - Internet is needed for android's push messages, which is how the seekdroid.com communicates to your phone
    READ_CONTACTS - This is needed to retrieve the last 10 callers.
    WAKE_LOCK - Needed to wake up the phone for location and alarm.
    WRITE_EXTERNAL_STORAGE - needed for wipe

    If you have any more questions or concerns, let us know and we would be glad to help.

    Thanks,

    Amir Ghadiry
    Seek Droid Developer

    ---- end paste ----
     
  10. SquireSCA

    SquireSCA Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    226
    Trophy Points:
    108
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Ratings:
    +280
    The problem is that for all of the features to work properly, you need to have GPS and stuff enabled, which will drain the battery even faster than normal.
     
  11. musicman

    musicman Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I always leave gps on and the only time it drains my battery is if I open an app that needs to use it. Once I quit the app the gps stops.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  12. dtsig

    dtsig Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Tigard, Oregon
    Ratings:
    +0
    GPS doesn't drain the battery just because it is enabled. It requires something to be using it.

    Besides the point .. I believe I read that LOOKOUT will turn on the GPS for location
     
Search tags for this page
avg android wipe code
,
avg moble remote wipe
,

avg remote wipe

,
avg wipe
,
avg wipe phone
,
avg wipe phone login
,
avgwipe
,
remote data wipe droid
,
remote wipe avg
,
wipe device in avg