[ROM] [RELEASE] Steel Droid: 5.6 - Ice Cream Sandwich - 6-8-2012

Discussion in 'Steel Droid - D3' started by chevycam94, Apr 3, 2012.

  1. boazal

    boazal Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    any news?.....
     
  2. Daaz

    Daaz Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sent from my XT862 using DroidForums
     
  3. ssj11mav

    ssj11mav Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is a AOKP for Droid 3 limitation, not a Steel Droid problem... if you don't like it, you can try to help AOKP/Hashcode figure it out or go back to Gingerbread. This is one of the reasons (out of a few) that I'm not on ICS for Droid 3. It's been as bad as me not being able to call others and let my phone function as a phone ;w;
     
  4. gsxr1300

    gsxr1300 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    crap i was flashing with rds lite and battery died I didnt know it was low and flash failed
     
  5. redsox985

    redsox985 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm currently on 5.1, but want to flash 5.3. Has anyone done 5.3 directly over 5.1 with no wipe? I really don't feel like setting it all back up... (feeling rather lazy if you can't tell :p)

    You need to hard-wire your battery to a USB port via a chopped off USB cable, unless a proper external charger is at your disposal. Or a friend with a D3.
    To hard-wire it, chop off a USB cable just before the end device (DO NOT use your Moto cable for this, an old mouse cable, camera cable, etc. will do) and then expose the 4 wires. There will be a red and black inside, cut the others an inch or so shorter than these two. Expose 1/2" of each the red and black and fold them over themselves to double the thickness. Remove your battery and insert the red into the + and black into the -. I taped my in place for security to prevent a loose connection. NOW, you can plug it into the USB port. Connect the battery securely first.

    The battery is, IIRC, ~1500mAh and the USB port puts out .5A, so charge it for an absolute MAX of 3 hours. I would do one, then pop it into the phone to finish charging if possible. Just keep an eye on it and make sure it doesn't get overly warm. This is a riskier way to charge since it's directly wired to power, but when you're bricked, it does work.
     
  6. gsxr1300

    gsxr1300 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    so the way it is now it wont charge when i put the phone on the charger?
    Thanks I will do that now
    after its charge do I try to flash it again?
     
    #222 gsxr1300, May 3, 2012
    Last edited: May 3, 2012
  7. chevycam94

    chevycam94 SteelDroid ROM / Cortex ROM Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,616
    Likes Received:
    197
    Trophy Points:
    108
    Location:
    Central Ohio
    Ratings:
    +223
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6P, VZW Note Edge, D1
    You SHOULD be able to charge the phone even if its bricked, but that only goes to a certain point. Depends on what part was flashing when your power died. If you died, say, during SYSTEM, your fine. But if plugging into an AC outlet doesnt start charging it after a few minutes, then your going to have to try redsox's method. Trust me, it will work, but only use as a last ditch effort.
     
  8. redsox985

    redsox985 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Chevy, am I safe to flash 5.3 over 5.1 without a data wipe?
     
  9. gsxr1300

    gsxr1300 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks so much redsox! and also Chevy!
    i have a phone again!
     
  10. Yonnor

    Yonnor I r Teh Greetest

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    813
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    San Diego
    Ratings:
    +2
    Its advisable to wipe 1st, otherwise you may not be able to utilize any of the improvements that Chevy has done to the system.

    Also when you wipe, your less likely to experience various issues/corruptions that may happen otherwise.

    Butt-Dialed from my Hamburger Phone
     
  11. chevycam94

    chevycam94 SteelDroid ROM / Cortex ROM Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,616
    Likes Received:
    197
    Trophy Points:
    108
    Location:
    Central Ohio
    Ratings:
    +223
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6P, VZW Note Edge, D1
    Ah, you got to it before I did! But yes, always do a wipe first. You never know WHAT I changed.
     
  12. eldar4uk

    eldar4uk New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    when I connect phone to PC it shows me "Mount SD card?" , but I want to mount internal memory, how can I do this?
     
Search tags for this page

droid 3 ice cream sandwich

,
droid 3 ice cream sandwich rom
,
droid 3 ics
,
droid 3 ics rom
,
droid charge ice cream sandwich
,
droid x ice cream sandwich rom
,

ice cream sandwich rom

,
ice cream sandwich rom download
,
steel droid
,
steel droid ics