[ROM] [RELEASE] Steel Droid: 5.0 Gingerbread - 1-11-2013

Discussion in 'Steel Droid - D3' started by chevycam94, Sep 14, 2011.

  1. matthskim

    matthskim Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I read somewhere that, after flashing a new rom and wiping data, you have to restore your own applications before signing into or activating the Google/Gmail account.

    Is this true? If it is, I wonder why.


    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  2. Yonnor

    Yonnor I r Teh Greetest

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    813
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    San Diego
    Ratings:
    +2
    Only if you wipe system before flashing.

    Butt dialed from my hamburger phone
     
  3. matthskim

    matthskim Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you wipe/data and cache, then does it means "wipe system"?

    Do you know why you should bypass the google thing?

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  4. Yonnor

    Yonnor I r Teh Greetest

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    813
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    San Diego
    Ratings:
    +2
    People typically wipe data/system or whatever for a fresh install, and you can choose the apps you restore. I believe if you dont restore before activating you account google will sometimes auto-restore your apps. I never hadthat happen on my D1, and ive never had to do a full wipe for my D3 yet.

    You might be best asking this question in the "Droid General" section so you can get a better answer and to not clutter chevys thread.

    Butt dialed from my hamburger phone
     
  5. cLoAk3d

    cLoAk3d New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is it not cluttered already?


    Chevy do you know when we will be able to overclock?
     
  6. Yonnor

    Yonnor I r Teh Greetest

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    813
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    San Diego
    Ratings:
    +2
    Nope not cluttered at all.

    OT: The D3 cant be overclocked, it has a locked bootloader so we cant install a custom kernel. Only thing we might see is modulization overclocking, but idk who is working on that.

    Butt dialed from my hamburger phone
     
  7. turbohappy

    turbohappy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I seem to be well on my way to bricking my phone. Not sure what is going wrong, following instructions to a T. The SBF starts flashing, gets a little ways (step 4 or 6 or 8, not consistent), and then I get a message about "size data returned by phone does not match what was expected" and it fails. It got far enough that my phone won't boot any more.

    I've used RSD Lite before when I had my Droid 1, but I uninstalled the version I had and installed 5.5 from the link in the first post. MD5 checked out on the SBF file so it wasn't corrupted. Any ideas?
     
    #751 turbohappy, Nov 4, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2011
  8. Yonnor

    Yonnor I r Teh Greetest

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    813
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    San Diego
    Ratings:
    +2
    Sometimes you just have to make multiple attempts. Others have reported that it takes anywhere between 1-5 tries.
     
  9. fishacura

    fishacura Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
  10. darthbird1

    darthbird1 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Having trouble flashing the messaging addon. Help please I need to access my email

    Ive tried flashing it twice. I currently have Safestrap 1.02. I have downloaded the addon from the beginning of this thread>>Rebooted to Recovery>>install from sd>>internal>>messaging addon>>said it "Install completed" but yet it is still not in my app drawer. Anything i forgot? (i did not wipe any data or dalvik cache).
     
  11. fishacura

    fishacura Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    What are you trying to flash to?
     
  12. turbohappy

    turbohappy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks. I had found this and tried many times with no success. However, I then decided to take those files and use them in RSD Lite. I created a copy of the XML and used that in RSD Lite. Every time it failed I deleted the steps before the step it failed on. I kept making incremental progress until after about 6 rounds of this I got to the end successfully and my phone is now unbricked!
     
Search tags for this page
droid 3 steel droid
,

gingerbread rom

,
gingerbread rom download
,
gingerbread roms
,
rom gingerbread
,

steel droid

,

steel droid 3

,
steel droid 4.5
,
steel droid droid 3
,
steel droid rom