[RELEASE] Pinch Zoom for Google Maps

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by djh816, Feb 3, 2010.

  1. djh816

    djh816 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    [RELEASE] Pinch Zoom and Night Mode for Google Maps

    Tested under Bugless Beast .72
    Works on 2.0.1 and 2.1

    Bugs:
    Seems to break Layar, possibly other apps that use Google Maps API.
    __________________________
    Instructions:

    If you do not have Google maps included with your ROM as a System app, you will need to uninstall it before following this tutorial. Also if you are having the force close problem, try renaming /system/app/Maps.odex to /system/app/Maps.odex.bak. Also, you can ignore the moving of the old google maps apk in /system/app.

    Get one of these:

    Multitouch maps with + and - buttons:
    Download
    Alldroid mirror: http://www.alldroid.org/download/file.php?id=1503

    Multitouch maps without buttons:
    Download
    Alldroid mirror: http://www.alldroid.org/download/file.php?id=1504

    Then extract one of the zips and copy the system folder in there into a folder on your sdcard (I called it mtmaps)

    Next, execute these commands (adjust for your folder name as needed):
    Code:
    su
    mount -o remount,rw /dev/mtd/mtdblock4 /system
    mv /system/app/Maps.apk /system/app/Maps.bak
    mv /system/framework/com.google.android.maps.jar /system/framework/com.google.android.maps.bak
    cat /sdcard/mtmaps/system/app/Maps.apk > /system/app/Maps.apk
    cat /sdcard/mtmaps/system/framework/com.google.android.maps.jar > /system/framework/com.google.android.maps.jar
    mount -o remount,ro /dev/mtd/mtdblock4 /system
    sync
    reboot
    
    Sorry if I made any mistakes on the code but just follow the same general idea if you have any issues: back up the old files, push the new ones. I used cat because I didn't have the cp command for whatever reason. I am currently running the multi-touch without buttons. Good luck! Credit to xda-dev for posting the multitouch for G1: XDA-Dev Thread
     
  2. agdaniels

    agdaniels Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Good find, testing now
     
  3. agdaniels

    agdaniels Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Works great, code was fine. Nice job
     
  4. hobby31

    hobby31 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +4
    Not working for me. I keep getting:

    failed on /system/app/Maps.apk --no such file or directory

    Can anybody help? I'm running bugless beast 0.7.3.

    Thanks
     
  5. stanrc

    stanrc Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think bugless beast moved all the apks to /system/data, not /system/app
     
  6. hobby31

    hobby31 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +4
    I'll look into it. I think i'll PM pete and see. Maybe he'll include it in his next update. Thanks
     
  7. agdaniels

    agdaniels Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I got that error when doing it from term emu, did it from adb shell and it worked fine
     
  8. dpraetorius

    dpraetorius New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Works great on regular 2.0.1. Awesome, thanks!
     
  9. hobby31

    hobby31 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +4
    I tried that and got the same error. I'll try adb shell later on and repost.
     
  10. lippstuh

    lippstuh New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    pete moved it to /data/app i believe.
     
  11. djh816

    djh816 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yea it should still work if you ignore that step. Look up top for FC problem too.
     
  12. gnome_sayin

    gnome_sayin Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am also running Bugless Beast and could experienced the same "fie not found" error..

    I found that the mount command the OP provided didn't work for me.. I used the following command:

    mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system

    to unmount:

    mount -o ro,remount -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system

    The other commands provided worked great! Thanks djh816! :)

    Jamie
     
  13. 713King

    713King Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    Ratings:
    +1
    Pete says he will have Googles Map with multi touch on his rom, maybe check later on tonight and he might have 0.7.3 updated with it included. I hope he puts the browser that's included on the nexus one :D
     
  14. hobby31

    hobby31 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +4
    I don't know if pete can put it on his ROM. I believe the first ROM I installed was 0.7.1 and it didn't include the maps and I had to install it from the market. I remember CYANOGEN (who created some great ROMS on the g1) got a letter from google about including thier apps on his ROMs and he had to remove them. So maybe pete won't put it on the ROM.
     
  15. hobby31

    hobby31 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +4
    I tried this too as well as the other suggestions from previous posts. I guess I'll wait and see if pete puts it on the ROM.
     
Search tags for this page
google map start pinch out
,

pinching code for google maps