1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Relatively major bug?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2' started by markml0528, Oct 28, 2010.

  1. markml0528
    Offline

    markml0528 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    United States
    After the update, when I go to settings, and go to battery manager, and I click on the big battery icon to check usage statistics, it force closes automatically. is this happening to anyone else?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  2. wmnomore
    Offline

    wmnomore New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    541
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You called it!
    So much for bug fixes.

    I see this in 2.4.5. Supposedly a factory reset fixes it. ?
  3. markml0528
    Offline

    markml0528 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    United States
    2.4.5? This update is 2.3.2

    As for doing a factory reset to fix this....lol. if that's the case ill live without it.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  4. celblazer
    Offline

    celblazer New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    2.4.5 comes on the Droid R2-D2
  5. markml0528
    Offline

    markml0528 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    United States
    Did the R2D2 droid get the same update as the cdma droid 2 did?
  6. celblazer
    Offline

    celblazer New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Someone else will have to answer that. I just happen to own the R2 phone and know the software that came with it. No updates to the software since I got it the day it came out. Sorry I can't help more.
  7. markml0528
    Offline

    markml0528 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    United States
    So, what you should do is go to your settings, battery manager, click on the big battery icon that will show u battery usage statistics. Does it force close for you?

    It force closes for me everytime.
  8. celblazer
    Offline

    celblazer New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry. yes mine does the same thing. Randomly it will start working just fine but most time it FC's on me.
  9. markml0528
    Offline

    markml0528 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    United States
    I think the original Droid 2 got the same firmware that the r2d2 Droid 2 got. I find it very odd that both models share the same obvious bug

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  10. heyhey
    Offline

    heyhey New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm running an unrooted r2d2 with 2.4.5 and it's exhibiting the same behavior.

    Hey Hey

    Sent from the Dagobah system via my Droid R2-D2.
  11. markml0528
    Offline

    markml0528 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    United States
    I'm thinking Motorola had this update ready the whole time, the r2d2 version was released september 30th, motorola could have started rolling the update out on that day since the software that we got today seems to have already been on the r2d2 version.

    I could be totally wrong, my only point of reference/evidence is that both the original d2 and r2d2 versions share the same obvious bug of having the battery usage statistics app force close.

    It just leads me to believe that they randomly decided to hold off on the update, for reasons that were obviously not to fix bugs.
  12. adroid80
    Offline

    adroid80 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    rhode island
    The same thing on my droid 2 after the update. I turned my phone on and off and then it seemed to work fine again. Try that.
  13. heyhey
    Offline

    heyhey New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    After reboot it works but soon after, the behavior re-manifests itself.

    Hey Hey

    Sent from the Dagobah system via my Droid R2-D2.
  14. Rizzy99
    Offline

    Rizzy99 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have been hearing about this problem for a while, i got my Droid 2 last month and have yet to have mine force close. I am still on 2.2
  15. wmnomore
    Offline

    wmnomore New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    541
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    R2D2 has version 2.4.5 stock. It was dumped for us D2 owners to install.

    This update (2.3.2) is for the D2 only and has the battery manager bug along with 2.4.5. Very frustrating as i use this often.

    R2D2 has yet to get an update.
    (this is in response to several prior post questions)
  16. ruvy01
    Offline

    ruvy01 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wastefield, New England
    droid 2 2.3.20 is newer than 2.4.5 that the r2d2 has... the kernel and the baseband version is newer on the droid 2 update.. 2.4.5 has the same kernel and baseband as the stock 2.2.2 droid 2 without the new update
  17. squidlymandingo
    Offline

    squidlymandingo Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    671
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Boston
    if your rooted i know the fix
    you need to reinstall batteryreport.apk either through terminal emulater or root explorer and set permissions it constantly screws up on my rom i made a script to fix it,that tells you how bad it is.