Reinstall OS or Data wipe?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by nissmo66, Jul 14, 2011.

  1. nissmo66

    nissmo66 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm experiencing more errors and frequent reboots and often the SD card will not be able to be written to.

    So I'm wondering if there's a way to reinstall the OS? Or should a data wipe be sufficient?

    Also is there threads with instructions to either procedure?

    thanks!dancedroid
     
  2. ABQNM

    ABQNM Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    If the SD card is not being written to intermittently, I would first suspect the card. It can result in things running buggy and cause a lot of problems. The cards that Moto has supplied with the X are cheap cards and they tend to fail (the used to use good Sandisk cards). I started getting read and write errors before mine stopped mounting all together. If still in warranty, you may be able to get VZW to send you a card. I have the TEP, so they did it no issues. And it was a Sandisk 16gb class 4.

    As far as reinstall the OS, yes it is possible, but if you are stock a data wipe should be sufficient to start over. I would sort out the SD card situation first as that could easily be the culprit. (On a side note, the stock gingerbread upgrade has been more prone to random reboots than froyo was.)
     
  3. CD95YJ

    CD95YJ Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    868
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Are you currently stock froyo or gingerbread, or are you running a custom rom?

    As far as a data wipe, is really simple. There are two ways to do it.

    Method 1: go to settings>privacy>factory reset and it will return your phone to out of the box condition.

    Method 2: power off the phone, power back on holding the camera button and home button. When the triangle with the ! Appears press the search button. The use the volume buttons to navigate to format data and cache and use the camera button to select. When it's finished use the camera button to select reboot. This will also return your phone to out of box condition.

    As far as sbf, you need three things on your computer.

    1-rsdlite 4.8 or higher

    2- either 2.3.340 (froyo) sbf or. 596 (gingerbread) sbf depending on what your running and if you want to root or not.

    3- Droid x drivers.

    #'s 1&2 can be found at mydroidworld.com under the Droid x section of the forums and the drivers, do a Google search to get to the Motorola site.

    To sbf, there are two ways to do this as well.

    1- connect your phone via usb. Once connected put your phone in "PC mode".

    Open rsdlite, press the ... button and find the sbf file you downloaded. Double click on it to load it. Next, make sure your phone shows up on line 1. If it does press start, if it doesn't unplug usb and plug back in. Once your phone appears on line 1 press start and your phone will automatically switch to the bootloader and begin to flash the os.

    Method 2- manually put your phone into the bootloader. Power on your phone holding both volume buttons while pressing the power button. Once you see the screen flash let off all the buttons and your in the bootloader. Follow all the other steps mentions above to flash the os. It also helps to watch a YouTube video or two on how the process works.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
     
  4. nissmo66

    nissmo66 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry, I guess I should I mentioned my specs,

    Yes GB no custom ROM, totally stock
     
  5. ABQNM

    ABQNM Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    I would definitely deal with the SD card first before trying a data wipe. Although starting fresh is almost always going to result in better performance, there may not be any need here.
     
  6. nissmo66

    nissmo66 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    if I choose to purchase a new SD card, does the DX support 32g card?

    Also, Thank you both for your help and replies!
     
  7. ABQNM

    ABQNM Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yes 32GB card should work just fine. Make sure that it is at least a class 4 or that much space is going to be pretty slow to fill. Plus a class 4 just gives quicker performance for SD write tasks.

    You are welcome!
     
  8. nissmo66

    nissmo66 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    What about a class 6 or 10?

    I actually dont think I need a 32, I'll prob buy a higher quality 16g....class 6 or 4?
     
  9. ABQNM

    ABQNM Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    You could go with a 6 or a 10 with no problems, but for the most part the cost difference going to a 10 is not going to be worth it, as the improvements will not be noticeable in real usage. I would get a class 6 if I were going to buy one right now. Avoid ebay and the cheap cards. If the card is half the price of all the other ones in the same size/speed category, it is probably a cheap knockoff branded as the real thing. Buy from reputable dealer as there are a LOT of cheap Shenzen Chinese knockoffs.
     
Search tags for this page

droid x reinstall os

,

droid x reload os

,
how to reinstall android os
,

how to reinstall droid x os

,
how to reload android os
,
how to wipe android os and reinstall
,

reinstall droid x os

,
reload android os
,
reloading android os
,
wipe and reload android