Redraw issue

Discussion in 'ChevyNo1' started by Dunn23, Aug 24, 2010.

  1. Dunn23

    Dunn23 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Chevy (or any other savvy person),
    I run 4.7 with patch 1, with launchpro as my home. Get a redraw every time I go from handcent back to the home screen. I've tried to set laucher pro to save in memory and cache, but this doesn't seem to help. I had been running saphire with comcache (sp?) And that seemed to reduce the issue. Is there a way to tweek my settings to reduce or eliminate this redraw issue?

    Any help would be greatly appreciated. Really love the latest version of the rom. Thanks for all the work you do.
     
  2. kpmoore

    kpmoore New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would try ADW launcher. Seems to run a little smoother, the dock bar is badass, and I haven't had a redraw issue yet.
     
  3. BayouFlyFisher

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,960
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    Do an advanced search for "redraw" in thread titles only. There have been a ton of threads about this and there have been some fixes found. Good luck.
     
  4. Phreaker47

    Phreaker47 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    753
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    ADW was the solution for me, too. Use the "System Persistent" option. You will sacrifice homescreen auto-orientation, but this is what FINALLY got rid of redraws for me. I tried EVERYTHING with Launcherpro.
     
  5. beatboiii

    beatboiii New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Theres no possible way to eliminate redraws on Launcher Pro. Ive tried everything and no luck. I recently switched to ADW and its been smooth sailing ever since. I just enabled the save to mem option and typed this command into terminal.

    echo ro.HOME_APP_ADJ=1 > /data/local.prop


    Got it from pg.4 on this thread.

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/chevyno1/71909-ss-4-7-launcher-pro-4.html
     
  6. meishkov

    meishkov Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sterling Heights, MI
    Ratings:
    +2
    Did you try to run that using launcher pro??
     
  7. beatboiii

    beatboiii New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    ^Yep but it always comes back. Especially launching from the browser back to home. Also make sure you uninstall the original launcher using Chevys scripts
     
  8. Phreaker47

    Phreaker47 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    753
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    I use Widgetlocker which is my "true" home app (so that build.prop trick would probably not help anyway). But it doesn't matter anyway, I don't have redraws.

    The only issue I have is that, although the author says he fixed it, shortcuts for apps stored on SD still show up as default android icons if I reboot. However, restarting ADW one time takes care of that. Then, no more unwanted reloads.
     
  9. wickedkae

    wickedkae Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    So I fixed my launcher pro redraws. I tried every rom possible, none of them helped. I tried every little option setting people suggested, nothing ever worked.

    To fix your redraws make sure no apps are installed on sd. Sounds lame but I have not had a single redraw ever since I have put all my apps on internal storage. Phone is beyond snappy and smooth. It may suck, but its a small price to pay til. It can be fixed.
     
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2010
  10. Phreaker47

    Phreaker47 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    753
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    That is SO not worth it though!

    And, how long have you tested this? I thought I had solutions because I wouldn't get redraws all day long, but they always came back. Plus, I was having redraw issues back before I ever enabled app2sd as well.
     
  11. wickedkae

    wickedkae Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Its been like 3 days, and i was able to reproduce the problem by installing apps to SD and then removing them. Now, this is only on chevys rom that I have run this test, BUT like i said, i had this problem with every rom i tired and i swear i have tried most of them. So many late nights lol.

    I agree, not being able to throw stuff on the SD as a temp fix sucks, but the redraws are even worse. I also have 57 apps and i run 11 widgets and widget locker. So its not like my phone isn't being put under some usage. But the redraw is gone. This fixed works for me, but it may not work for everyone. But giving it a shot might not hurt. If you find another fix please post it, i hate this problem so much.
     
  12. iflybyu77

    iflybyu77 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Goodbye LauncherPro.

    I uninstalled it early this morning and installed ADW. I THOUGHT that Beautiful Widgets wouldn't work with ADW, hence the begrudging switch, but I see that all of my BW widgets work just fine with ADW.

    I'm happy to say my phone is funtional 100% of the time again. I've used it to make 25 calls already today, played around with the phone in between and haven't had a redraw issue. Buh bye LPro.. sorry!
     
  13. briantmathers

    briantmathers New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Been testing out this command and it has worked for me, LauncherPro has waaay less redraws when it is enabled.
     
  14. saxman

    saxman Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Brooklyn
    Ratings:
    +0
    In launcherpro disabling autorotation will basically solve this problem. At least it did for me.
     
  15. meishkov

    meishkov Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sterling Heights, MI
    Ratings:
    +2
    Agreed. Using that command has fixed it for me. Well so far atleast, just did it last night. I like LP way too much to go to a different launcher.
    And to the Guy who said that when he restarts, he gets the default android icon for apps on his home screen that are installed on the SD card. That happens to me as well, just after a reboot. I guess it takes longer for them to load into memory since they're on the SD. Once everything is fully loaded they all come back quickly, and That's the end of it.