[RECOVERY] ClockworkMod Recovery *CDMA Edition* (Final Version)

Discussion in 'Galaxy Nexus Development' started by BL4Z3D247, Dec 15, 2011.

  1. BL4Z3D247

    BL4Z3D247 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +25
    I mean either way works, I just figured renaming it would be better in case you needed use of that file at a later point in time.
     
  2. Trusstopher

    Trusstopher DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,610
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Ratings:
    +84
    So I'm not 100% clockwork is the source of my situation but:

    Before leaving work I installed clockwork with no problems and went ahead and did a full backup. As soon as that back up was done and I was back in the OS I unplugged from wall power, put the phone in my pocket and left the office. About half way home I noticed that I didn't have a data connection while trying to do something on my phone. Once I got home I have tried:

    Cycle Airplane Mode
    Power Cycle
    Power off, pull battery, hold power for 10 seconds, replace battery and reboot
    replace the stock recovery file, reboot, boot into fastboot and confirm clockwork is removed, reboot

    After all of these, I still have no data connection... thoughts? I guess I should proceed to unroot, then re-lock?
     
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2011
  3. BL4Z3D247

    BL4Z3D247 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +25
    Did you try restoring via your nandroid backup?
     
  4. Trusstopher

    Trusstopher DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,610
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Ratings:
    +84
    Looking back, I probably should have tried that, but I didn't because it was the very last thing I did before I didn't have data so I assumed that it wouldn't have made a difference... I can still reinstall clockwork and attempt to, but at this point, I have unrooted, relocked (still didn't have data), and just did a factory reset... and what do ya know, I have 4G now! Time to get back to clockwork and restore and see what happens!
     
  5. Trusstopher

    Trusstopher DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,610
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Ratings:
    +84
    Never-mind, just learned (remembered) the hard way that when you do a factory reset, the lack of SD card means that nandroids and TiBu files all get demolished... well, looks like I get to start my device from scratch
     
  6. BL4Z3D247

    BL4Z3D247 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +25
    Lol. Yeah, that would have been the first thing I did. Glad a factory reset worked. Let us know if you lose data again after flashing CWM.
     
  7. BL4Z3D247

    BL4Z3D247 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +25
    That's because you locked the bootloader back up, it wipes the entire phone when you lock/unlock the bootloader.
     
  8. NewAge

    NewAge XOOM Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +14
    Its the unlock like stated above that wipes /sdcard.

    If a wipe data/factory reset wipes /sdcard then this is an issue and will be fixed. Its not supposed to touch /sdcard. I am not excited to test it so I cant verify, but am wondering if Truss is right?
     
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2011
  9. BL4Z3D247

    BL4Z3D247 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +25
    I'll be testing shortly, I'm stepping over into the dark side. :icon_ devil:

    Check this out, a lot of stuff done to this ROM.

    http://rootzwiki.com/topic/11472-ro...™-210-high-quality-performance-ics-legendary/
     
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2011
  10. Chizzele

    Chizzele Team Sourcery Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,997
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    San Diego CA
    Ratings:
    +17
    Thank you for this, Can't beat CWM ! ! !
     
  11. BL4Z3D247

    BL4Z3D247 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +25
    Ok, I can verify that wiping data will not touch the virtual sd card so pictures, file, apps and backups on this partition will not be wiped.
     
  12. cjriddle22

    cjriddle22 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    the Ville
    Ratings:
    +0
    So how did you wipe data? I am assuming through CWM, correct?

    I did a data wipe from within settings>security and it basically formatted my whole internal storage drive. I lost my backups, pictures, etc, and my titanium app backups. I still had them on my PC tho.

    I used to own a DX, so no matter how I wiped data, it never touched the SD card. Also, how do I get into CWM if I am boot looping, like from being powered off? Hard button combo?

    EDIT: I realized that I have to press volume up & down + power button to boot into recovery *face palm*
     
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2011
  13. jleeusa

    jleeusa Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Carlsbad, Ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey guys. I got a question/ need some help. Why are you editing or deleting that system file? Is it to keep root? I read the entire thread and no one else is having the same issue as I am. I cannot edit/delete that file. It says "recovery-from-boot.p cannot be renamed because the file system is read-only" Up at the top of Root Explorer I mounted as R/W, still can't do it. Thanks in advance.
     
  14. jleeusa

    jleeusa Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Carlsbad, Ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    I got it. I mounted R/W on the first Root Explorer screen, not once into the system file.
     
  15. bigeric828

    bigeric828 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    So you can just flash it through Rom Manager clicking "flash ..." after unlocked/rooted? seems easier.
     
Search tags for this page
clockworkmod by mark
,
clockworkmod recovery motorola droid cdma
,
cwm cdma
,
cwm samsung stellar
,
cwm untuk galaxy y cdma
,

htc incredible s recovery-clockwork 5.5.0.4

,

kyi11 unlock

,
kyi11reset lock
,
samsung stellar 4.12rom
,
update recovery droid2 cdma