[RECOVERY] ClockworkMod Recovery *CDMA Edition* (Final Version)

Discussion in 'Galaxy Nexus Development' started by BL4Z3D247, Dec 15, 2011.

  1. biggestmexi
    Offline

    biggestmexi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I ended up just deleting it, and that worked for me. Now my problem is getting that Android is Upgrading window to go away. Everytime I reboot or try to flash that google wallet it does it.

    Then after that, I am going to have to try getting google wallet to stop FC'ing.
     
  2. yakitori
    Offline

    yakitori Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,548
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    DFW Texas
    Ratings:
    +10
    Deleting sure will work but when or if u need to put the stock recovery back you're going to have to do it the fastboot method rather than renaming and rebooting.

    My suggestion was an alternative not a must.

    Haven't tried gwallet yet

    sent from unlocked gnex
     
  3. biggestmexi
    Offline

    biggestmexi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I actually did it before i read your post is all.
     
  4. yakitori
    Offline

    yakitori Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,548
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    DFW Texas
    Ratings:
    +10
    Ahhh..gotcha. where did u find the gwallet download. I'll play around with it

    sent from unlocked gnex
     
  5. biggestmexi
    Offline

    biggestmexi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I got it to work. but had to wipe the phone to do it :(, granted it is still new but everything will have to be DL'ed (automatically) again, which means homescreen icons!!WOOOO

    check this out.

    How To Add Google Wallet to the Samsung Galaxy Nexus | TheUnlockr

    I just loaded it as a rom through rom manager. Selected wipe data and wipe cahce. I already had a back up. Works fine.....the app anyway.
     
  6. captdroid
    Offline

    captdroid Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,797
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +17
    Thanks for the writeup BL4Z3D247... worked perfectly! :) Flashing clockworkmod using ROM Mangler I had to do twice for a slightly older version it wanted to flash at first and then do again with update to take clockworkmod to 5.5.0.4. At least when I did it last night had to flash twice to get latest version of clockworkmod flashed.
     
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2011
  7. sbenson
    Offline

    sbenson Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,370
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Virginia/DC Metro Area
    Ratings:
    +61
    Yes, thanks BL4Z3D247. Worked perfectly.

    Can't say I'm a big fan of the pop sound the Nexus makes when booting into recovery...
     
  8. biggestmexi
    Offline

    biggestmexi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, I have seen someone else post about that too, but I havent heard it.
     
  9. czerdrill
    Offline

    czerdrill Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,825
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +12
    does a custom recovery block OTAs? Probably doesn't matter because I assume if an OTA is pushed Google will release the img anyway but was just curious.
     
  10. NewAge
    Offline

    NewAge XOOM Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +14
    You will still recieve ota's but installing an ota is a different story. Usually you will just loose root, but if modifications were made to the bootloader you can soft brick.

    Its usually not recomended to accept an ota. A rooted image is usually available shortly after release, but the wait can be too much for some people.
     
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2011
  11. czerdrill
    Offline

    czerdrill Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,825
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +12
    Ok thanks and if you stay with the stock recovery but are rooted? Same scenario?
     
  12. NewAge
    Offline

    NewAge XOOM Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +14
    Being rooted without custom recovery is pretty dangerous. Need to have a working backup if you roll rooted and are flashing ROMs.

    But to answer your question, its not the recovery that is the issue. Its OTHER possible modifcations you have made with root access that causes instability when flashing an ota. Flashing stock recovery wont benefit you over CWM when ota is concerned.

    If changes are made to the bootloader is the biggest concern. A patch must be developed or the extent of the changes need to be figured out. Pushing stock images with fastboot is sure fire restore, but you may have to wait for images.
     
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2011
  13. czerdrill
    Offline

    czerdrill Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,825
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +12
    Yeah no I have CWM installed and a backup already, just was concerned about OTAs. I'm thinking I'm not going to be running a bunch of custom ROMs on this phone like I did with my D1, so I'd like just stock OTAs, but I'll revisit that whenever any OTAs are pushed. Of course, I might change my mind and end up flashing ROMs all the time like I did with the D1 too haha
     
  14. J.P.
    Offline

    J.P. Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ive done all of the steps and everytime i try to boot into recovery using clockwork mod, it gives me the android on his back with the exclamation point.. If I go into clockwork, and reflash the recovery everytime before i reboot into recovery it works fine. anyone else have the same problem?

    ---Sent from my office, at my desk, using an HP Computer running Windows 7
     
  15. NewAge
    Offline

    NewAge XOOM Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +14
    Are you using ROM manager? at the top it says "flash ClockworkMod Recovery" select that, then cdma. Then the second line is "Reboot into Recovery". Does that work? Looks like these steps need to be followed each time you want into recovery. Not sure why the recovery isnt sticking.
     
Search tags for this page
clockworkmod by mark
,
clockworkmod recovery motorola droid cdma
,
cwm cdma
,
cwm samsung stellar
,
cwm untuk galaxy y cdma
,

htc incredible s recovery-clockwork 5.5.0.4

,

kyi11 unlock

,
kyi11reset lock
,
samsung stellar 4.12rom
,
update recovery droid2 cdma