Recovery & Bootstrap?

Discussion in 'Droid 3 Hacks' started by Force1stiptopped, Oct 20, 2011.

  1. Force1stiptopped
    Offline

    Force1stiptopped New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The last few nights I have been researching the whole idea of flashing ROMS. I thought I was very familiar with it after having my D1 for 2 years and flashed nearly every ROM created. After looking through all the D3 options, I am very confused.

    From what i've seen, just on hashcodes blogspot itself he has 3 different bootstraps? (safestrap, stock cm bootstrap, and original non-stock boostrap). There is also a bunch of different recovery options. This doesn't even include Koush's bootstrap..

    After researching all of the ROM options it seems as though some of these ROMs only allow for specific combinations of recoveries or bootstraps.

    Can anyone breakdown the whole recovery/bootstrap dilemma here so I am a little less mind-boggled? Are all of these bootstraps just previous versions and one is the final? are they all used for different purposes/ROMs?

    Any info would be great!
  2. ndoren
    Offline

    ndoren New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, coming from the D1, you need to change your thinking a bit. Unlike the D1, the D3 has a locked bootloader. Thus, the D3 init sequence has to be hijacked, so to speak, to trick the phone into booting into recovery. So, the D3 requires two separate concepts: That of the bootstrap, and that of CWM recovery. In other words, on the D3, you need a software bootstrap installed to get into recovery. Of course you need recovery flashed, too.

    So, for the most part, ClockworkMod Recovery (CWM) is CWM. The differences lie in the bootstrap.

    The very first bootstrap was Hash's, which has since been abandoned. It didn't allow entry into CWM from a cold-start (power up) reboot, but only from within his bootstrap app on a fully functioning phone. Not good for a soft brick. A great first effort, but it's now merged with Koush's bootstrap. Unfortunately, in the event you installed Hash's original bootstrap, you have to be sure to remove Hash's bootstrap before using Koush's, or you have problems. That old original Hash bootstrap isn't around anymore I don't think, so unless you jumped on the bandwagon the first two days that bootstrapper was invented, you don't have to worry about this issue. Update: wrong! Do NOT install any bootstrap mentioned in any droid-life articles. That's the original Hash bootstrap. Bad!

    Now, there is a bit of confusion here, in that the newer Koush's bootstraps have been implemented by Hashcode. Thus, you have to understand that Hash's original bootstrap is different than Hash's implementation of Koush's bootstraps. Clear as mud?? :)

    So, at present, there are two Koush bootstraps provided by Hashcode. The first is the Droid 3 bootstrapper, available in the market, which has the same problem as Hash's original bootstrapper, in that it doesn't allow access to CWM from a cold-start power up condition. However, it is compatible with Rom Manager, which the original Hash bootstrapper wasn't. Again, whether you enter CWM from Rom Manager, or from within the bootstrapper app, you obviously need a fully functioning phone. Not good if you've bricked.

    Finally you have what Hash calls the "tweaked" Koush bootstrapper (from his website), which allows you access to CWM from either Rom Manager, the bootstrapper app, or if the phone's bricked, from from a cold boot using BP tools (fastboot menu: power up + M on keyboard). It's the best of all possible worlds. It also has some tricks that allow a bootlooping phone to enter CWM automatically via the use of a semaphore that's set and released strategically as the phone is booted and once it functional.

    The Safestrap bootstrapper is ONLY for those wanting to boot the CyanogenMod ROM. It uses a different technique, something called a "sandbox" which keeps the original ROM intact. It's kind of like being able to dual boot your phone. Eventually, CyanogenMod will be booted with the same method as the other ROMS.

    All that being said, it boils down to really three choices:
    1) Use the safestrap bootstrap for booting the CyanogenMod ROM only.
    2) Use the D3 bootstrapper in the market for everything else, including ROMs other than CyanogenMod, and for using Rom Manager and making NANDROID backups.
    3) Use the tweaked D3 bootstrapper available from Hash's website, which does all described in 2), as well as allowing entry from
    a cold boot via fastboot BP tools.

    As Hashcode points out, the bootstrapper is stored on /system and can be overwritten when a new ROM is installed. So, whenever changing ROMs, realize that the appropriate bootstrap will likely have to be reinstalled.

    Also REMEMBER that this discussion has been all about the bootstrapper. However, the Droid 3 bootstrap app DOES install CWM 5.0.2.6 as well. Or you can install CWM from Rom Manager. However, ROM Manager does not install the bootstrap. You need both to have an effective alternative recovery. :)

    Hope this helps more than it hurt :) Neall

    Corrections inserted above: 1) Hash points out in his blog that the bootstrap app does install CWM. 2). Do not install any bootstrap mentioned in (or referenced to) the droid-life article on D3 bootstrap. That's the original (outdated) Hash bootstrap.
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2011
  3. pistacio
    Offline

    pistacio New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MA
    Thank you! All that info will help when the time comes to flash. I too was a flash junkie on the D1 and was finding it difficult to follow all the " strap" lingo. For now, the debloated stock rom has been functioning well for me.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums App
  4. gadgetrants
    Offline

    gadgetrants Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,157
    Likes Received:
    116
    Trophy Points:
    63
    @ndoren, that was superb. Thanks. :) Probably should move your explanation to a sticky!

    -Matt
  5. Force1stiptopped
    Offline

    Force1stiptopped New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Great information! Exactly what I was looking for, thank you!
  6. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,350
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    This has been stuck. Thank you ndoren!
  7. ndoren
    Offline

    ndoren New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My pleasure. I think a lot of confusion arises from reading Hash's blog, in that it was built gradually day by day, with independent thoughts per day, and therefore it's not very coherent or organized. So, reading it all at once is a bit overwhelming and confusing. That's not a criticism of his blog... he's brilliant and all the information that you need is there. It's just that I was lucky enough to have followed the process as it unfolded, so it was easier for me to track and explain here. Of course, that initial development frenzy has slowed down, and we have good bootstraps, but obviously things will change. Hopefully we can keep track of that here. Neall
  8. Calen
    Offline

    Calen New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How Version

    Hi!

    Sorry for the bad English (i will going to stop write this) but i read and a have a a Question.

    I have install the unnoficial bootstrap version 0,87 but in the recovery image screem is show this: CWM Based Recovery v4.0.1.5, and i have download the applicqation from here: Unofficial DROID 3 ClockworkMod Recovery Released

    And in a post up i read the correct versios is 5.0.2.6...if this is true then the version that i have install es the first version hashcode version and if my phone goes out my recovery don´t works ?

    IF yes i have a problem, because i have a XT860 Milestone 3, and here in Brasil we don´t have acess a ROM or a Custom Rom, and then i don´t going to install the last bootstrap from hashcode.

    Somebody can answer my question ?

    In the Rom section i ask if an XT862 rom works on the XT 860 and nobody replay...and if not, the 4g droid 3 works ?

    And the Bootstrap will works ?

    P
  9. spillner
    Offline

    spillner New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Western NY
    I was wondering about this as well. I'm used to flashing roms on my OG Droid and have no idea what bootstrap is. Does this act like Nandroid backup? Is their any chance of someone posting a video of how to use this in conjunction with flashing Steeldroid?


    Edit: Nevermind, some further digging answered my questions.
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2011
  10. ndoren
    Offline

    ndoren New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This is Hash's original bootstrap, and the one that is no longer supported. With it installed you can get to CWM from within this app, or from BP tools at the startup quick boot menu (power up + M). It is not compatible with Rom Manager, and it can NOT be used to flash new ROMS. Basically, its use is limited to making nandroid backups. If this works for you, then fine... stick with it. However, if you wish to install the market version, you absolutely MUST remove this bootstrap first. Remove the bootstrap from within the application (there is an option when you run it), then delete the application itself. If you do NOT do this first, but instead you install and run the market version, your phone will NOT boot anymore. At that point, you'll have to reflash the phone from scratch using the SBF and RSDLite, because you'll be bricked. I'm guessing Hashcode wishes this version and the media references to it would disappear. No one needs to be installing it anymore. Neall
  11. Calen
    Offline

    Calen New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thancks a lot for the replay...

    Then i can unistall this version of bootstrap ?? Somebody says not, ohhhhh thancks again.

    But how I uninstall the bootstrap completely ? I don't know.. Just in the other page somebody write only installing other Rom for erase the bootstrap...

    And my problem is sbf/Rom files, in Brasil Motorola don't put any rom for download, and i don't have any rom for the XT860...then how i can uninstall my Bootstrap and after install the last version ?

    XT 860 and 862 are compatibles ? I can flash a XT860 with a XT862 ROM ?
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2011
  12. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,350
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    You cannot use an SBF from another phone. It may work with limited function at best or brick your phone at worst.
  13. Calen
    Offline

    Calen New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok Guidot.

    I apreciate the suport and I knew it, but i try to ask...

    In reality i'm confused. Always viseted EUA's forum to download and read news about STBs and phones, but now my phone exist only in Brasil and China....and i don't instal a rom in mandarim...$&#E%¨*%&%%*&

    Now i know that i never can install a custom rom of droid forum,... i'm very disapointed.

    Somebody have a good idea ?

    Last thinck, How and why in Koush's Bootstrap we have to do this: Anytime after flashing a ROM you must go back in and use the "Bootstrap Recovery" button to update the hijack back to this version.

    In this bootstrap we can flash all roms (not CM7) and backups ? Or only our backups ?

    And the Droid 3 Safestrap (Bootstrap / Recovery) is only for CyanogenMod 7 Builds or for all Roms and the CM7 ?


    Thancks a lot for all !!!
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2011
  14. ModLife
    Offline

    ModLife New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    another question

    why isnt this whole process of NANDroid backups and ROMS and 'straps' all explained CLEARY in a ROM thread....i of course am not the man for this....i have tried for 3 days to do a nandroid backup to no avail until today...(i have to wait to get home to actually do this tho) and i am just learning that i HAVE to have a strap???? and where are the links to all of these straps???....i am so lost....and my D3 is starting to act a wee bit retarded because of all the crap i have installed(possibly incorrectly).....HELP:hail:
  15. Dad23Boys77
    Offline

    Dad23Boys77 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Omaha, Ne
    Ndoren, thanks for the guide. That actually cleared up a lot things for me as I to had been reading about all these different boostrappers and safestap as well. My question is this for you is this. I have what my phone shows as "Droid 3 Bootstrap" but I'm not sure which Bootstrap version I have installed. Sorry, but I cant remember where I installed it from.

    If this helps, when I boot into CWM using the Droid 3 Bootstap it says "clockworkMod Recovery v5.0.2.6." And when I power up my phone and hold the "M" key down, I boot into something called the Boot Mode Selection Menu. I'm assumiing this is the fastboot menu?!?
  16. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,350
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Yes that is fastboot mode.
  17. ndoren
    Offline

    ndoren New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Click on the icon and you should have the screen with the skull. If it says [TWEAKED] at the bottom, it's Koush's tweaked bootstrap. Otherwise, it's the standard Koush bootstrap found in the market. Hope this helps. Neall
  18. lotzakritters
    Offline

    lotzakritters New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    And by the way, Safestrap is just about compatible with all the D3 roms, now. Most of the developers are making there roms work with both. I personally prefer Safestrap because of the its almost bullet proof way of flashing roms. As long as you follow the steps with it, your phone becomes almost un-brickable. Just saying.. :)

    Sent from my DROID3 using Tapatalk
  19. Calen
    Offline

    Calen New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi!

    Since my last post here i made some backups, the first was with the first version an don't works very well.
    After this i have support here and made a factory reset and install the last safestrap and all was good.
    Other day i was in other forum looking for the android 2.3.6 for my XT860 and read about safestrap:

    1- safestrap only backup system and data;

    2- the only way to install the Bell's 2.3.6 firmware is for those who has the 2.3.4, because there are not any SBF for the canadian droid 3 (XT860 in canada and milestone 3 in Brasil are the same thinck);

    3- i always believe that bootstrap generate a shadow copy of the device, like a shadow copy in a winows PC, who prevents a system failure.

    If i was wrong, there is a way to clone all the xt860 to prevent a system failure ? And if i upgrade the android 2.3.4 to the 2.3.5 and i have a full backup of the 2.3.4 version, i can comeback to him or the backup works only for a 2.3.5 ?

    Sorry for the confusion....
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2011
  20. yastern
    Offline

    yastern New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    where do you get koush's tweaked bootstrap

    Based on the excellent summary here, I decided the best thing to install would be Hashcode's tweak of Koush's bootstrap. However, I don't see it on Hashcode's website; all I see is Safestrap. So can anyone tell me where to get the tweaked bootstrap? Thanks.
Search tags for this page
bootstrap apk droid 3
,
bootstrap milestone 3
,
droid 3 bootstrap
,

droid 3 bootstrap apk

,

droid 3 bootstrap apk download

,
droid 3 recovery bootstrap apk
,
droid 3 recovery bootstrap apk download
,
droid x2 bootstrap recovery apk download
,
milestone 3 bootstrap
,
milestone 3 bootstrap apk
,
milestone 3 bootstrap download
,

milestone x bootstrap