Recovery Boot Issues

Discussion in 'HTC Droid Eris' started by Truffs, Jul 15, 2011.

  1. Truffs
    Offline

    Truffs New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just recently rooted my droid eris and I wanted to install a custom rom onto it but whenever I try to boot into recovery this happens:
    [​IMG]

    Then if I hold power the up volume while that sign is there is happens:
    [​IMG]

    On this screen it says:
    E:Can't open /cache/recovery/command
    And at the top it says: Android system recovery <2e>
    and it lists these options:
    -Reboot system now
    -Apply sdcard:update.zip
    -Wipe data/factory reset
    -Wipe cache partion


    HOW DO I FIX THIS?
  2. Droid Firefighter
    Offline

    Droid Firefighter Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,619
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet
    Congratulations, you are in recovery. That is where you install the ROMS you have downloaded. If you haven't loaded them yet, reboot into android and put the ROM you want on the SD card. What you see is the recovery screen.

    Sent from my ADR6350 using DroidForums
  3. Truffs
    Offline

    Truffs New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So I cant do a nandroid backup? And I have to name my ROM update.zip?
  4. Droid Firefighter
    Offline

    Droid Firefighter Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,619
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet
    Lets make sure first. Download an app called ROM manager and see if you can flash the alternate recovery. Its one of the options inside ROM manager. If you can do that, then you are rooted and should be able to install ROMS as update.zip files.

    Sent from my ADR6350 using DroidForums
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2011
  5. Droid Firefighter
    Offline

    Droid Firefighter Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,619
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet
    Also, do you have an app in the app drawer called superuser? Its icon is a skull and crossbones.

    Sent from my ADR6350 using DroidForums
  6. Truffs
    Offline

    Truffs New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes ik that i am rooted and i have superuser. Also I did download Rom manager and downloaded their recovery and that didnt work at all I still had my old recovery menu. I DONT KNOW WHY ITS BEING A *****
  7. Droid Firefighter
    Offline

    Droid Firefighter Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,619
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet
    Ok, look up ROM manager and make sure your phone is supported by them. Also look into rzrecovery. I think it may only be available for the Droid. Its an excellent recovery program so hopefully you can use it.

    Sent from my ADR6350 using DroidForums
  8. sjpritch25
    Offline

    sjpritch25 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    How did you enter recovery?

    Turn phone off
    Press and hold Vol-down and End/pwr button simultaneously. Using Trackball scroll down to Recovery. It depends on your bootloader, but mine looks like this. My phone is full s-off though.
  9. sjpritch25
    Offline

    sjpritch25 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    Here are some more pics. For flashing a new just make sure you follow the directions at xda-developers
    HTC Eris - XDA-Developers

    There a bunch of roms to choose. Most of the froyo roms are old and not updated anymore.

    Here are pics of doing a nanbackup and flashing a rom. Before flashing a new rom make sure you wipe data/factore reset, dalvik-cache, and cache. AFter you have done a backup of course.
  10. Truffs
    Offline

    Truffs New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks guys fixed it just needed to downgrade my version of clockwork flash recovery
  11. sjpritch25
    Offline

    sjpritch25 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
Search tags for this page

cant apply update from zip says e: cant open /cache/recovery

,

e can't open /cache/recovery/command

,

e:can't open /cache/recovery/command

,

htc droid eris e:can't open /cache/recovery/command

,

htc e:can't open /cache/recovery/command

,
htc incredible cache
,

htc incredible can't open /cache/recovery/command

,

htc incredible recovery issues e:\

,

htc incredible s error boot e:/can't

,
what does the rocovery option on a htc eris do?