Recover bricked Samsung SCH-I500 "Fascinate"

Discussion in 'Samsung Fascinate' started by atinder, Dec 5, 2010.

  1. atinder
    Offline

    atinder New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Please if someone can help me. I flashed samsung fascinate SCH-I500 with one click odin3 for samsung captivate(by mistake). Then it started showing the att logo. using homemade jig , i was able to trigger the download mode, but i think i flashed some wrong pit files that came along odin3 v1.7. I can flash the system stock, the kernel stock, but the stock pit and recovery fails. Also when stock system is flashed phone boot into recovery and shows
    E:Can't mount /dev/block/stl11
    (Invalid argument)
    E:Can't mount /dev/block/mmcblk0p1
    (Invalid argument)
    #Manual Mode#
    E:Can't mount /dev/block/stl11
    (Invalid argument)
    E:Can't mount /dev/block/stl11
    (Invalid argument)
  2. fascinater
    Offline

    fascinater Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
  3. atinder
    Offline

    atinder New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    the problem is my phone only boots into recovery after showing the samsung logo, also i tried to download the original mbr, link is not working
  4. atinder
    Offline

    atinder New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey is there any way I can dump the files from other samsung fascinate and flash it to the broken one
  5. PXTvqYwmzqf3Sm5b
    Offline

    PXTvqYwmzqf3Sm5b New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm getting the exact same behavior after making similar mistakes. :wacko:

    I haven't found a fix yet, but I'm still looking. I'll let you know if I figure it out.
  6. tannor
    Offline

    tannor Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
  7. IamGov
    Offline

    IamGov Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Cleveland
    Ratings:
    +0
    GSM flash wont make a difference. Only thing really different is radio reference to the GSM chips that are not there. Follow steps in above post link and all should be good.



    Sent via my Fascinate on the Droidforums app.
    Owned D1, Incred, X, D2, and the Fascinate is the best.
  8. justin090435
    Offline

    justin090435 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    so i have used ever method known to man, re-downloaded all files and tried everything again..... i still only get to cwm recovery and thast it, my phone will not reboot. help me
  9. brodiex74
    Offline

    brodiex74 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    hey

    I did the same thing but can not get to the download screen, how where u able to get there?
  10. TheGreenLantern
    Offline

    TheGreenLantern Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Coast City
    Ratings:
    +0
    all you have to do is disable voodoo and flash back to your stock ROM using odin. it will remove the root and you can start over.
  11. TheGreenLantern
    Offline

    TheGreenLantern Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Coast City
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok just realized you changed your PIT. there are a couple of big mistakes here.

    try odin again with stock TAR file, but only load the proper pda file. leave PIT blank (like you should have in the first place, lol)

    the golden rule is you cannot brick a galaxy s! although you may be testing it's limits.
  12. misaac
    Offline

    misaac Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Kansas
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not sure if you need the stock rom or not, but you can find it here.
  13. Rogue27
    Offline

    Rogue27 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Will using odin help restore my phones bloatware? U seem pretty knowledgeable with these things

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums App
  14. TheGreenLantern
    Offline

    TheGreenLantern Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Coast City
    Ratings:
    +0
    it depends on the rom package you install, odin will flash whatever file. if you flash the stock tar file it has the bloatware pre-packaged and will re-install all of it. if you install a custom rom it will contain whatever is in the file, usually the bloatware is removed.
  15. kalkap
    Offline

    kalkap New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Odin will not recognize facinate

    I made the same mistake up loading the captivate files onto my facinate and now I can't get odin to even register my facinate. All I ever get is the AT&T logo. HELP!
Search tags for this page

bricked samsung fascinate

,

can't mount /dev/block/stl11

,

can't mount dev block stl11

,

samsung fascinate bricked

,
samsung galaxy s sch i500 stock rom
,
samsung sch i500 recovery mode
,
samsung sch-i500 stock rom
,
sch i500 stock rom
,
schi500 stock rom
,

stock-i500-vzw-recovery.tar.md5