Reborn from the ashes

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by flimsytrackarms, Oct 27, 2011.

  1. flimsytrackarms
    Offline

    flimsytrackarms New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So, let me tell you a story. I got the Bionic a few weeks after it came out. I'm actually quite happy with it. However, I noticed after having it a while that it wasn't connected to the 4G network as much. Heck, it wasn't even connected to the 3G. I was starting to get perplexed.

    Then it happened. (10/25/2011)

    I was in the middle of getting a text when it restarted itself. 'Strange,' I thought. But then it stayed in that little robot screen it shows when the phone is turning on... for at least two minutes. I held down the power button to see if that would do anything and, at first...no. But then the power down menu came up. And so did my background. But no connectivity at all.

    So, confused, I powered down the phone for real, and turned it back on.


    And now, for no reason I'm aware of... I have had no less than full-bar 4g connection everywhere. Work, school, home, basements, bomb shelters, abandoned mines in the country... It's been incredibly fast and incredibly stable.

    But I'm curious as to why? Did I miss a scheduled update to the LTE network or the Bionic? Has this happened to anyone else?

    I'm not complaining, I just don't know what happened and change frightens me. I suspect witchcraft.
  2. HorsePony
    Offline

    HorsePony Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Definitely witchcraft.

    Hell, now I want a phone called the Droid Witchcraft in 2013.
  3. k1ngr4t
    Offline

    k1ngr4t Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,339
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    48
    ^^LOL!

    But srsly, that is odd. Think back really, really, really hard on ANYTHING you did with your phone that day. Literally anything at all...
  4. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    My guess is that Verizon did something to their tower system in your area. Either that or witchcraft.
  5. aaf709
    Offline

    aaf709 Nice Guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,189
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    So Cal
    Maybe Verizon used witchcraft to update their towers?

    It may help to know where you are to be sure. There could be a school similar to Hogwarts nearby.
  6. Shadez
    Offline

    Shadez Super Mod/News Team Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8,445
    Likes Received:
    199
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Lafayette Hill, Pa
    I agree.. I to am seeing improved data connectivity. I also think it has to do with and while they are updating towers, they are tweaking them for 4G.
  7. BePrepared
    Offline

    BePrepared Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Sheetz
    My Bionic did a reboot on its own this morning. (10-27) I wasn't doing anything at the time. I've had connectivity issues, but mainly when I've been out of state roaming, and not so much around the Triad area of NC where I live. I'm hoping Verizon might have done something to fix that.
  8. SSHGuru
    Offline

    SSHGuru New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    I would go with Witchcraft since Verizon wouldn't fix the phone.
  9. samsung rogue user
    Offline

    samsung rogue user New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mine did a reboot also this morning. Brushing my teeth and all of a sudden screen went black. The stayed on the Eye screen for a couple of minutes...like frozen. Then started up normally. Now its working fine.

    EDIT: Phone now doesn't timeout. I have it set at 2 minutes. It stays on until I press the power button...like 30 minutes later. So I reset it at 1 minute. It stayed on for 10 minutes until I power buttoned it.

    Hmmmm... what's going on. Rebooting as I type this.