Reboot to power menu?

Discussion in 'Droid 3 Hacks' started by SPerry, Dec 7, 2011.

  1. SPerry
    Offline

    SPerry New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Droid 3 deodexed 5.6.890 XT862

    How can I add reboot to the power menu without flashing a ROM?
  2. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,352
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    There are a few apps that do that, but to add it to the power menu, you'd have to add it to the ROM, deodexed stock, yourself.

    Sent from my Safestrapped, Rooted, ROM'd XT862
  3. firefighterguy
    Offline

    firefighterguy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    ...And how would someone go about doing that? I have a Bionic I would love to do that to. Or pay someone to do that for me...
  4. SPerry
    Offline

    SPerry New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Me too. I did some research but never found anything like a guide I could follow.
  5. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,352
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    You need to do some compiling.

    Best thing to do is flash a rom imo.

    Sent from my rooted, ROM'd, and Safestrapped XT862
  6. firefighterguy
    Offline

    firefighterguy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Lets say someone wants to stay stock for now, and wants to add the reboot option in the power menu without flashing a ROM after a nand b/u, how would one go aboit it? I mean if a ROM can have it baked in, certainly we could bake it in our stock ROM... lol

    ____________________
    "King of the 'Self-Edit'"

    "Patriotism is supporting your Country at all times. And your government only when it deserves it" --Mark Twain
  7. Saik0Shinigami
    Offline

    Saik0Shinigami New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It's not stock the moment you add the reboot option. It will fail OTA updates due to the change and I believe you have to deodex the rom to do it, so it will fail OTA anyway, might as well try a Rom since it's the easier answer then developing a Rom with a single additional feature. It's not just adding a line of code or something so simple. There's a process and development to it.

    -Saik0
  8. firefighterguy
    Offline

    firefighterguy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Good points. Thank you.

    Can an average punk like me start doing ROM's without knowledge of coding, etc? My guess is it would be a bit over my head. Lmao!

    ____________________
    "King Of The Self-Edit"

    ____________________
    "Patriotism is supporting your Country at all times. And your government only when it deserves it" --Mark Twain

    ____________________
    I say 'Merry Christmas'
  9. cush2push
    Offline

    cush2push Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Albuquerque NM
    Yes on the job training is how i got started

    Sent from a fascinating ice cream shop
Search tags for this page

add reboot in power menu mt15i

,
add reboot to nexus 5
,
add restart to android power menu
,
android 4.4 power menu hacks
,

android app to add reboot to power

,

droid 3 reboot menu

,
droid rooted reboot power menu maxx
,

hoe to add reboot to my android power menu

,

how to add reboot to nexus menu

,
nexus 5 add restart menu
,
rooted droid x2 how to add restart to power off menu
,
where is reboot menu android