Reboot every 2-3 minutes

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR Support' started by iCloud, Dec 24, 2012.

  1. iCloud
    Offline

    iCloud New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    A search on this forum gave results of random reboot problems but my device is rebooting like every 3 minutes. No matter, what I am doing, it reboots. Device in sleep - reboot, browsing - reboot etc, every 3 or so minutes.
    Current version is 4.0.4 and the model of the device is Verizon xt912

    What I have tried:
    Wiping Cache through recovery
    Reset to factory settings

    Is there anyway, you guys can help? I would be thankful.

    BTW, I am quite new to Android.
  2. FoxKat
    Offline

    FoxKat DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8,636
    Likes Received:
    837
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    If this is happening after Factory Data Restores, then you have two options. One is to flash a new ROM, and the other is to be replace it.

    When you say "reset to factory settings", how did you do this?

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
  3. iCloud
    Offline

    iCloud New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I "reset to factory" twice, 1 by going in the Settings>>Privacy>>Factory reset with reset data/memory checked
    and the second time through Recovery>>Wipe/Reset to Factory>>Yes

    What would you suggest me doing now?

    Thanks
  4. jpcalhoun
    Offline

    jpcalhoun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    PA
    After you did the factory resets did you download and install any third party apps? If not, then I think the next step is to download Matt G's RazrUtility (from this forum on the Razr Hacks sub forum) and run option 1 to restore your phone back to .211 factory stock ROM. That's what I'd do at this point.
  5. iCloud
    Offline

    iCloud New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No, I did not installed or downloaded any app at all. The time period I get before it reboots is only 2-3 minutes, so that's not enough to do anything at all but browse around.
    So, is "Restore back to .211 factory stock ROM" different from Factory Reset?

    So, I should be using Droid RAZR Utility 1.8? I don't have any ICS OTA file or anything related to android on my current PC. My old one is now trashed.
    Also, should the device be rooted or CWM or safestrap installed? Because I have it has non installed ATM.



    Thanks
  6. jpcalhoun
    Offline

    jpcalhoun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    PA
    Yes, it will replace the current ROM you have on your phone...it will wipe everything completely clean and puts your phone back to a condition just like it was when you first took it out of the box.
  7. iCloud
    Offline

    iCloud New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    OK, I'll try that and inform.
    BTW here's some other info.

    System version: 6.16.211.xt912.Verizon.en.US
    Kernel version: wt-3.0.0
    Build no.: 6.7.2-180 ....
    Build date: Jun 14, 2012
  8. iCloud
    Offline

    iCloud New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    A little update:
    The Motorola drivers don't seem to be working. The Matt's Razr Utility gets stuck at <waiting for device>. I'll try again with different cable and a different PC.

    Another thing is, under the settings, the device is showing Baseband and IMEI - Unknown. Don't know what may have caused this, as this device was not with me for some time.
    Any idea about this? Can the device get back to working condition?
  9. iCloud
    Offline

    iCloud New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Christmas update:

    Using a different cable, it got detected (ADB).
    Using the option 1 of Matt's Utility 1.82, I restored to the .211 ICS but the device is still rebooting after a few minutes, as it used to before.

    I went to the recovery and "Wipe cache partition" manually and rebooted. Its still rebooting.

    All I ask this Christmas is to get this device to work fine. Secret Santa?
  10. iCloud
    Offline

    iCloud New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    UPDATE
    I was able to update to .215, but the reboot problem is still there. A thing I noticed is, there's no longer the option of IMEI under ABOUT SETTINGS, though the base band is still unknown.
    Any help please?
  11. abarbeito
    Offline

    abarbeito New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Same thing here

    Hi iCloud,

    This same thing is happening to me with my Motorola Razr Maxx.
    Did you have any news on this?
    What other things have you tried?
    I did the same thing you have already done, and no success yet =(

    Hope you have some good news!

    Andrés
  12. VerizonHater
    Offline

    VerizonHater New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Western NY
    I had the thing happen with my RAZR. My phone got so bad that it would even reboot in the middle of rebooting, if you can believe that.
    Called tech support, who claimed that they had not had many such complaints. I suggested that they check forums, such as this, to see that this, although maybe not a common problem, is a problem. They walked me through a few things which did not work. I ended up having them send me a replacement. Haven't had trouble since and it's been several months. Sure, they will send you a certified like-new phone, but it's all good. Didn't cost me a nickel.
  13. haarons2
    Offline

    haarons2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Try turning off the device and removing the SIM card
  14. chevytough
    Offline

    chevytough New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-razr-support/262072-razr-maxx-xt912-keeps-rebooting.html --- my thread im having the same issues and ive done all this!!! but I have not tried the razr utility tool

    this is a refurbished phone. ive only had it a week the other day my phone just rebooted out of nowhere and it lost its service and every minute or so it restarts goes all the way to the start screen and reboots. i hard reset, i factory restored, i rsd lite with ap fastboot. i took out sim card doesn't say its not installed put it back in still doesn't say its in there still no service. put the sim card in other phone to rule that out and it works. im lost for ideas.

    the phone is completly stock had no roms or root

    phone states the following with the sim card in.

    no service
    baseband version - unknown
    min - unknown
    prl version - unknown
    eri version - unknown
    meid - unknown
    imei - unknown
    iccid - unknown
Search tags for this page
android phone reboots every minute
,
android reboots every few minutes
,
droid biontic reboots anout every 3 minutes
,
droid razr hd restarts every 3 minutes
,
droid razr maxx reboots after a minute
,
droid razr maxx restarts itself utility
,

droid razr reboots every few minutes

,
droid razr restarts after 2 minutes
,
galaxy s3 restarts every couple of minutes
,
how to reboot droid min
,
how to restart device every minute in android
,

new htc rezound phone reboots every 5 minutes