Reasons why you lose Mobile Data signal....is its REALLY your phone? Likely NOT.

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy Nexus' started by yakitori, Jan 27, 2012.

  1. yakitori

    yakitori Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,548
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    DFW Texas
    Ratings:
    +10
    So with all the gripes going on about the Gnex and losing mobile data, etc..I thought I would share this.


    My opinion is this. A LOT of folks were waiting for the Gnex to release...and holding on to their upgrades to move to that phone. Many of these folks were on 3g devices previously which handles data differently than LTE technology. Im sure folks were used to staying connected on 3g and not getting interruptions in service. Well...that doesnt seem to be the case with most of the LTE phones. Now...before you go posting stuff like (I have a rezound/razr...and I get better signal and data than I did on my gnex). Or better yet...the infamous "I dont have a problem so there must not really be one" posts. Spare us.

    Seems like your Gnex not getting data sometimes is not necessarily the radio or the reciever on the phone...nor the reception ability of the phone (that could be another issue), but more so with the "authentication" of your device failing on Verizon's end trying to connect to their network. So before you start with the, "if the 4.0.3 radio doesnt help, im ditching the phone" shenanigans...consider that your device may actually NOT be the problem.


    Here is an interesting read on how LTE handles data and your device "checking in" and getting kicked off when stagnate for a while.

    read and discuss

    This Is Why Your Verizon Galaxy Nexus (Or Other 4G LTE VZW Phone) Is Losing Its Data Connection
     
    #1 yakitori, Jan 27, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2012
  2. tgyberg

    tgyberg Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,958
    Likes Received:
    305
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +329
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL & C
    Imagine how many customers have returned phones because of this authentication glitch. Ouch!
     
  3. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    12,080
    Likes Received:
    1,508
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +1,672
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Pixel
    Saw this article a couple weeks ago and found it very informative. Good read. Think it may have been posted here when it first was written but good reminder

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
     
  4. akhenax

    akhenax Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,698
    Likes Received:
    376
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    NY
    Ratings:
    +500
    Good find and a good read. Reading the comments there were also worth it.
     
  5. Crazed_Z06

    Crazed_Z06 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    San Diego
    Ratings:
    +4
    I tend to believe this what's going on. Ive had the Thunderbolt and Bionic previously and both of those would have issues with data dropping. One of the big differences is on the Bionic, it would say I had 4G, but no data would ever come through. The "send" arrow would be constantly illuminated as if it were trying to connect, but the "down" arrow never showed any data coming through. On the Nexus, the behavior is the same, but I dont see any "4G" icon.. it just looks like there's no reception at all.

    I really do think a lot of the data and reception problems are network-related. Just go over to Bionic, Razr, and even Thunderbolt forums. Each device has had issues with data drops. It cant be all bad devices. It's most likely Verizon trying to get this LTE thing rolled out. Hell lately, my Nexus has been doing great all of a sudden. i had been having data issues for a few weeks, and now it's much better. That tells me it's something to do with the network.
     
  6. prowler85

    prowler85 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Arizona
    Ratings:
    +8
    I still just find it odd that some have problems and some don't. I have never dropped data at work in Tucson or at home in Chandler. Granted in Tucson I get 3 solid bars, but in Chandler I am on the fringe. In fact it switches to 3g in my bathroom, but goes to 4g everywhere else in the house. So obviously my particular phone has no problem switching and authenticating to Verizon's network. And it was EXACTLY the same with my Bionic. Never dropped.

    It does sound very plausible, just odd still that some see the issue and some don't. You'd think if it was a VZ issue that everyone on the same phone would see it.
     
  7. tjk629

    tjk629 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,040
    Likes Received:
    65
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +65
    Current Phone Model:
    NEXUS 6
    I'm hoping it's just this.

    I've had a Bionic since day one, and have had data drops since then. I've been on 893 and 901 and the problems still remains. It gets really irritating cause EVDO speeds here are around 300kbps while LTE speeds are leap and bounds better. So the solution to just not use LTE is kind of a kick in butt.

    I'm hoping it's because of my location, but like prowler85 says some people say they're at fringe areas and never drop. So I have no clue if it's just my location or my phone. I wish I could have another LTE phone to test it out, but I don't have that kind of money.

    I don't mind if I go from LTE to EVDO, in fact I'd be beyond happy with that. It just sucks when I completely lose data.
     
  8. DesktopDevin

    DesktopDevin Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    59
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Garner, NC
    Ratings:
    +67
    Current Phone Model:
    HTC One M8
    There is definitley a VZW issue going on , if you saw my thread last week it wasn't so much the androids suffering in my area I was working at (North Raleigh around six forks )but it was iphones.

    It was funny as crap because people would be in their way to work and their iphone was fine but the tower that serves the area around our work would not serve data to the iphones.

    But I do have to say though I have noticed a diffence between my droid and my nexus and not just a little eiither. When I go inside where I work in Cary my droid would have full bars and never drop data. I bring my nexus into the same place not only is there no 4g signal but even when I switched over to cdma only so my battery wouldn't drain down looking for 4g I only get 1 maybe 2 gray bars at best.

    I walk out of the door in the parking lot and Wham a full set of blue 4G bars, but I somewhat knew this is what I was getting into when I bought a samsung , they are well known for their bad radios.

    I plan on keeping this as it is a sweet phone , but with the way they have screwed us with docks and accessories for this along with the bad radio I will never buy a samsung again.
     
    #8 DesktopDevin, Jan 27, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2012
  9. yakitori

    yakitori Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,548
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    DFW Texas
    Ratings:
    +10
    Did you bother reading? You are comparing 4g lte devices to 3g non lte devices. Thy don't even use the same signal technology wise. And I believe I did say there is a common practice of quickly blaming a radio or Samsung. Please read the info before you decide to post.



    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk
     
  10. jroc

    jroc Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,843
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Washington DC
    Ratings:
    +63
    This was a good read. I just said the other day it seems all these 4g phones have data issues. I had to reboot my rezound 3 times since getting it cuz it's been getting stuck in 1x. My razr since the latest leak has been better, don't have to toggle as much anymore.



    Sent from my ADR6425LVW using DroidForums
     
  11. e10lfd

    e10lfd New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the GSM version running on art network and have had similar issues with random reception glitches. I am running 4.0.3

    Sent from my ATT galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
     
  12. e10lfd

    e10lfd New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    ATT. Not art

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
     
Search tags for this page

how to get better data signal

,

mobile data signal types

,
motorola razr d1 keeps losing data connection
,
phone loses signal when using data
,
types of mobile data signal
,
why do i keep losing my 4g signal
,
why does my phone lose reception in the bathroom
,

why does my phone lose signal

,
why does my samsung phone lose data signal
,
why has my s4 all of a sudden lost its reception