Ready for the dumbest question ever?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by itwerk, Mar 19, 2010.

DroidForums.net is the premier Android Forum - Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
  1. itwerk
    Offline

    itwerk Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can someone tell me how to do a nandroid backup lol thanks :icon_ banana:
  2. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,114
    Likes Received:
    190
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +193
    Believe me not the dumbest I've seen by a long shot. Tell me where you are as far as hacks and what not and I'll get you squared away
  3. starscream
    Offline

    starscream Decepticon Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Idaho
    Ratings:
    +0
    im guessing by your sig your using cyanogen and there for probably using the clockwork mod recovery... so actually not a bad question... as far as i know clockworkmod uses its own backup system and you cant use/ or create nandroid backups with it.. you will need to flash SPRecovery to do a nandroid BU
  4. itwerk
    Offline

    itwerk Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    well i've used droidmod and cyanogen but i have never did a nandroid backup unless droidmod did one automatically.. one other question, the next ROM i was thinkin about getting is simply stunning, but i can see by your sig that you're using UD, would you recommend it?
  5. alienware777
    Offline

    alienware777 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    614
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Uhh you need to make a backup ASAP. Before you flash anything else. If you hurt it in any way so that it like bootloops, or worse, you're gonna want a backup to revert to.
  6. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,114
    Likes Received:
    190
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +193

    DroidMod makes a nandroid before it flashes the ROM. If you are currently on cyanogen make a backup. I'm not going to lie but going back from cyanogen has had some difficulties lately around here. What I would do get rid of any clockwork recovery you have on your sdcard. Run droidmod to get sprecovery. Then do a nandroid of the preinstalled backup. Clockwork and sprecovery do not play nice so you need to be very careful switching back.
  7. Yodes
    Offline

    Yodes Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you are using Cyanogen download ROM Manager from the Market. That should have all you need. From there you can just select "backup" and it will do it for you.
  8. TekHawk
    Offline

    TekHawk Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    783
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Yuba ****ty, California
    Ratings:
    +0
    that will not make a nandroid back up though :p if you have DMUpdater flash nandroid for you reboot holding X and select simple back up and you should be good