Razr won't factory reset

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR Support' started by xer0derm, Feb 24, 2012.

  1. xer0derm
    Offline

    xer0derm New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Something is wrong with my phone. I uninstall apps only to reboot and find them back again, processes are unexpectedly shutting down, and now I can't wipe my phone clean and start over again. I'm assuming that perhaps it is some kind of virus. Does anyone have any ideas?

    Not rooted.

    Thanks.
     
  2. smalltowngirl13
    Online

    smalltowngirl13 DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    6,733
    Likes Received:
    492
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Kansas
    Ratings:
    +497
    Current Phone Model:
    Xperia Z3v
    Twitter:
    smalltownlife13
    How are you trying to reset the phone? Thru phone settings & privacy or from the stock recovery menu?
     
  3. xer0derm
    Offline

    xer0derm New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Through phone settings and privacy.

    When I try and do it by pressing the up and down buttons + the pwr button, I get the menu, but I can't select anything. Whenever I try, nothing happens, and then eventually the phone just boots up normally.
     
  4. smalltowngirl13
    Online

    smalltowngirl13 DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    6,733
    Likes Received:
    492
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Kansas
    Ratings:
    +497
    Current Phone Model:
    Xperia Z3v
    Twitter:
    smalltownlife13
    Are you getting an error message when you complete thru phone settings / privacy? Or does it just not take? How long have you had the device?
     
  5. xer0derm
    Offline

    xer0derm New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have had the device since the middle of December. These weird things just started a couple of days ago.

    When I try and factory reset, it powers off and reboots but then shows up with a screen with the droid and an exclamation point. When I press the volume buttons I am able to scroll through a menu... options being to factory wipe/cache, wipe cache partition, etc. When I choose them, it says that it does it, but then it just boots back up again as if nothing changed.
     
  6. smalltowngirl13
    Online

    smalltowngirl13 DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    6,733
    Likes Received:
    492
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Kansas
    Ratings:
    +497
    Current Phone Model:
    Xperia Z3v
    Twitter:
    smalltownlife13
    Have you considered using the Razr Utility to try the restore files?
     
  7. xer0derm
    Offline

    xer0derm New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    In the process of downloading that now.

    I also can't update or download anything from the market. I am pretty sure that this is some kind of virus now, although I have no idea how I would have gotten it.
     
  8. smalltowngirl13
    Online

    smalltowngirl13 DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    6,733
    Likes Received:
    492
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Kansas
    Ratings:
    +497
    Current Phone Model:
    Xperia Z3v
    Twitter:
    smalltownlife13
    Cool - keep us posted and good luck!

    Have you downloaded any apps lately either from the market or non-market?
     
  9. xer0derm
    Offline

    xer0derm New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have, but nothing outrageous. A battery monitor and a news program.

    I did get a random text message the other day. I don't even know how viruses get activated on the phones, I must have clicked on something at somepoint.

    Thanks for the help, I'll let you know how the Razr Utility works out.
     
  10. smalltowngirl13
    Online

    smalltowngirl13 DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    6,733
    Likes Received:
    492
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Kansas
    Ratings:
    +497
    Current Phone Model:
    Xperia Z3v
    Twitter:
    smalltownlife13
    Hopefully it works and you are back up and running soon!
     
  11. xer0derm
    Offline

    xer0derm New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, I'm trying to figure out if I am doing everything correctly, and I am assuming I am missing something.

    I have the utility running, but am unsure what to do. I can't do option number one because I don't know how to run AP Fastboot. - Figured it out... power button + volume down.

    I can't root it (option 2) because it doesn't do anything.

    I can't boot into fastboot (option 10) because it says it can't find the device.

    Am I missing something?
     
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2012
  12. smalltowngirl13
    Online

    smalltowngirl13 DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    6,733
    Likes Received:
    492
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Kansas
    Ratings:
    +497
    Current Phone Model:
    Xperia Z3v
    Twitter:
    smalltownlife13
    To access the fastboot menu...

    [h=3]Boot Into Boot Mode Selection Menu (AKA Fastboot Menu):[/h]
    1. Power down your device
    2. Press and hold the Vol+ and Vol- keys, then press and hold the power button until a white screen appears and you can now release all three buttons.
    3. Use the Vol- key (and ONLY the Vol- key) to scroll through the list. Scroll until “AP Fastboot” is highlighted and press the Vol+ key to select it.
     
  13. smalltowngirl13
    Online

    smalltowngirl13 DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    6,733
    Likes Received:
    492
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Kansas
    Ratings:
    +497
    Current Phone Model:
    Xperia Z3v
    Twitter:
    smalltownlife13
  14. xer0derm
    Offline

    xer0derm New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks... also found that just power + volume down works too.
     
  15. xer0derm
    Offline

    xer0derm New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nope. No good. It seems to go through the entire process, but then when it reboots it goes to the triangle and exclamation point.
     
Search tags for this page

droid razr factory reset not working

,
droid razr hard reset not working
,
droid razr maxx won't factory reset
,
droid razr will not factory reset
,

droid razr won't factory reset

,
droid razr wont factory reset
,
droid razr wont hard reset
,
motorola razr wont factory reset
,
my droid razr wont reset
,
razr maxx wont factory reset