Razr Utility will Root .181

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR Hacks' started by jpcalhoun, Apr 24, 2012.

  1. jpcalhoun

    jpcalhoun Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +61
    The OTA .181 is being pushed now. In case you are wondering, yes Matt G's Razr Utility will root .181.
     
  2. Sydman

    Sydman Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,678
    Likes Received:
    391
    Trophy Points:
    213
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Ratings:
    +425
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    Man my heart just sank when I saw your thread. I am sitting here at work half asleep still drinking my 5 hour energy trying to wake up.

    I realized that I just did the OTA and didn't do the VooDoo Root Keeper, checked TiBu and NO ROOT ACCESS.

    Plugged my phone into the computer and loaded up the greatest utility created for the Razr and rooted with just a touch of a button. Thank you for the thread and a bigger thanks to Matt for making this great tool.

    Moral of the story, don't mess with your phone when you are not awake yet.
     
  3. jpcalhoun

    jpcalhoun Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +61
    LMAO...yeah I bet there were a few four letter words uttered. Glad you saw my thread before too much panic set in. +1 on your comment about the "greatest utility for the Razr". They should make Matt G the super DEV of the year...or something like that.
     
  4. raw57

    raw57 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    what version of the utility did you use?
     
  5. Logan3824

    Logan3824 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Houston
    Ratings:
    +0
    I used 1.51 and I didn't even have to unfreeze my apps to update to .181 and the utility worked perfect! I have one question though, I did the "overclock" yet when I run SetCPU, I still cannot go over 1200mhz....Where/ what can I do to increase it?
     
  6. BiGG WiLL

    BiGG WiLL Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Question, does Matts Utility root you in the ICS leak/root only? Because I want to be rooted in the old 2.3.6 root, cuz I don't want to spoil myself before ICS ota comes out.... Where can I go for a normal root after the .181 update??
     
  7. jpcalhoun

    jpcalhoun Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +61
    Version 151 is the latest version. I recommend you extract the zip to its own folder...don't extract it to C:\\. The previous version of the utility works also...I think it is 141.
     
  8. jpcalhoun

    jpcalhoun Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +61
    If you have updated to .181 and running the stock rom you can use Matt's Utility to root .181 with no problem.
     
  9. BiGG WiLL

    BiGG WiLL Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    But it says ICS on the spec list

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
     
Search tags for this page
matt g razr utility
,
matt g.'s razr utility
,
matt razr utility
,

matt's razr utility

,

matt's utility

,
matt's utility razr
,
matt’s razr utility
,
matts razr utility
,
matts utility
,
matts utility droid