Razr shuts itself down/reboots but only at home?

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR Support' started by ncaron, Jan 18, 2012.

  1. ncaron
    Offline

    ncaron New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello, got my Razr last week and I'm loving it so far except for one problem.

    When I try to "open" my razr, often it will go through the whole boot process showing the motorola splash screen as if I had powered it off completely. Sometimes it will even boot all by itself a few times in a loop while it's just standing there on a table.

    I've tried doing a complete reboot (holding sound down + power) and playing with various settings... I disabled all my "smart actions" and have uninstalled all applications I had installed on my razr and the problem still happens.

    Now for the weird parts/details:
    - The problem seems to be happening only when I'm at home.
    - The problem does not seem to happen if the phone is plugged in and charging.

    The fact that it seems to happen only at home has me wondering if it could be wifi related? When I'm at work, the phone is not connected to a wifi network.

    Thanks for the help!
  2. awsolot
    Offline

    awsolot New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My fiance having similiar issue only when she's at work. Her's my be related to 4g connection or rogue app. Still haven't figured it out yet.
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2012
  3. clayrebel
    Offline

    clayrebel New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    Have you tried clearing the cache on your phone?
    The random rebooting was occurring on my Droid X1 and by clearing the cache it fixed it.


    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
  4. smalltowngirl13
    Offline

    smalltowngirl13 DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    6,562
    Likes Received:
    322
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Kansas
    Are you able to connect to another wifi network (away from home)...you are not using a tasker type app or battery saving app that has specific parameters when you are at home - are you?
  5. ncaron
    Offline

    ncaron New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    clayrebel: How do I clear the cache on the droid razr? Sorry if this is a noob question, this is my first android phone.


    smalltowngirl13: Haven't tried to connect to a wifi other than my home one. I will try to do so during lunch time today and see if I also have the problem. As far as apps that do something particular when I'm at home, I used to have a "smart action" for home that would only set my ringer to a certain level. But also suspecting this might be the cause of the problem, I disabled all my smart action and also uninstalled Juice Defender.

    Thanks a lot for the help so far!
  6. smalltowngirl13
    Offline

    smalltowngirl13 DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    6,562
    Likes Received:
    322
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Kansas
    Good luck and keep us posted.
  7. ncaron
    Offline

    ncaron New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well my razr has spend the last few hours connected to the wifi here at work without experiencing the problems. So it looks like the issue would not be related to being connected to a wifi network.
  8. smalltowngirl13
    Offline

    smalltowngirl13 DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    6,562
    Likes Received:
    322
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Kansas
    Do you have strong 3G service at home? Maybe not connect to wifi and see if the problem recurs tonight.

    ~it's not just a phone~
  9. clayrebel
    Offline

    clayrebel New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    I use a basic cache cleaning app called "app cache cleaner".
    You can download it free in the market and set is as a widget on one of your home screens.
    With one press, it clears all stored cache. This should free up some memory on your phone.
    You can also go into the app itself and see what is being stored as cache on your phone.

    I'm not sure this app is "The Best", but its worked great for me so far.
    No more random rebooting.

    I clear the cache several times a day.
    I hope this works for ya!


    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
  10. ncaron
    Offline

    ncaron New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well I did some more tests last night. I did not connect my razr to my home wifi for a few hours and the problem did NOT seem to happen.
    Then this morning before coming to work, I connected it to my home wifi for about half an hour out of curiosity and BOOM problem was back.

    So in summary:
    - Problem SEEMS to happen only at home when connected to my home wifi
    - Problem does not seem to happen when connected to other wifi
    - Problem does not seem to happen at home when NOT connected to wifi

    I will be out of town for the week end, but I will try connecting to my friend's home wifi to see if the problem happens there. I will try to come here and post my findings. really hoping I can find a solution to this...

    I will also try clearing my cache when I come back home.
  11. smalltowngirl13
    Offline

    smalltowngirl13 DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    6,562
    Likes Received:
    322
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Kansas
    What kind of wifi network do you have at home...N, G, etc...

    ~it's not just a phone~
  12. ncaron
    Offline

    ncaron New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    @home it's a G if I remember correctly
    not sure about work
  13. westyjay
    Offline

    westyjay New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Bump.. did you find a fix ncaron ?

    I seem to have the same problem. Wifi is fine at home, but at work, the phone reboots every 2 minutes on WiFi.
  14. ncaron
    Offline

    ncaron New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry for the lack of updates... I actually found a fix... I think. But I have no clue what it is.
    The problem magically disappeared. Being of a curious nature I am now trying to get the problem back to understand what caused it and, hopefully, help anyone who faces it in the future.

    Will keep you posted.
  15. westyjay
    Offline

    westyjay New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thanks ncaron, looking forward to your findings.
Search tags for this page
clearing cache on motorola x1
,
droid m turns off when charging
,

droid razr keeps rebooting itself

,
droid razr m shuts itself off
,

droid razr m shuts off

,
droid razr m shuts off after charging
,
droid razr m shuts off when charging
,

droid razr rebooting itself

,
motorola razor hd shut off by itself
,
motorola razr m shuts off
,
razr m shuts off
,
razr maxx cutting itself off