1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

RAZR root - wireless tether issue

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR' started by l337sponge, Nov 11, 2011.

  1. l337sponge
    Offline

    l337sponge New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This was posted on Droid-life earlier. Tested it out on my buddies Razr to see if it worked. It works flawlessly and take about 2 minutes. Tested out Wireless tether, and happened upon something interesting. Wireless tether starts and you can connect to the hotspot. However the phone recognizes what you are trying to do and makes you allow tethering through that program. Not sure if then Verizon can see what your doing and charges you, or whatever but ya thought I would point that out.

    *directions*
    http://www.droid-life.com/2011/11/11/how-to-root-the-motorola-droid-razr/

    View attachment 42449 View attachment 42450
  2. breedingh8
    Offline

    breedingh8 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    im sorry Long day wheres the tethering instuctions?



  3. l337sponge
    Offline

    l337sponge New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2011
  4. motcher41
    Offline

    motcher41 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Brainerd, Minnesota
    I use 3.1beta-6 as a generic profile and they havent caught it yet. other profiles i tried came up with a window popup on my comp screen saying call 611 o activate

    Sent from my DROID X2 using DroidForums
  5. breedingh8
    Offline

    breedingh8 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona

    Thanks works great! only getting 3G to my tablet but working!

    Many thanks!
  6. MasterChiefB117
    Offline

    MasterChiefB117 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    I found a way getting Wireless Tether to work at full speed


    Using the 3.1 pre101 and using profile Motorola Targa. For some reason, they use the same int file which I found weird because Targa and Razr use a different chipset. I could be wrong but anyways it works. But to play on the safe side i have installed PDANet, PDANet Tablet, Barnacle, Wireless Tether and Easy Tether.

    Heres link:

    http://code.google.com/p/android-wifi-tether/downloads/list
  7. Oaklands
    Offline

    Oaklands New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I tried it. If I used Targa mode, my thrive never saw the network. If I used auto, then I could never get an IP. I wonder why mine will not work with it?
  8. MasterChiefB117
    Offline

    MasterChiefB117 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Reply

    What version are you using on Wireless Tether, check by going into the app, hit the menu and hit about. from there check if you says 3.1 beta 6 or 3.1 pre101/pre101.

    The 3.1 beta6 has some errors on the Razr.

    Let me know what you got and the specific setting you have.
    Ill post my setting right now.
  9. MasterChiefB117
    Offline

    MasterChiefB117 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    My Droid Razr Wireless Tether setup PERFECT

    What Wireless Tether are you using. Open Wireless Tether, hit menu, go to About, check your version.
    If your on 3.1beta6, it wont work, idk why but just wont, no matter what setting or editing.

    Heres my specific set up to get mine running to get my Transformer, Asus laptop, my PS3 and Xbox 360 to see my phone and connect to it

    Step 1. Go to this link via your phone and download this version of Wireless Tether,

    wifi_tether_v3_1-pre101.apk - android-wifi-tether - WiFi Tether for Root Users 3.1-pre101 *** EXPERIMENTAL *** - Wireless Tether for Root Users - Google Project Hosting

    Step 2. install it, duh!

    Step 3. Go into settings and follow this down to the letter,

    Change Device Profile-Motorola Targa
    Change Setup-Method-Dont touch
    Enable Wifi-Encryption-This is a must because with out it, no device will not see your SSID, have to manual enter them ie. laptop to connect.
    Change Passphrase-Has to be at least 13 letters/numbers. By default it was setup with abcdefghijklk. Either keep it like that or change it.
    Change SSID-Change to what ever you want it to be
    Change Channel-I had a couple of my friends try different setting and seems to work but for best results use "Channel 06(2437)"

    DO NOT ENABLE ACCESS-CONTROL- very buggy, sometimes you'll see your SSID but nO password attached, meaning its an open wifi even though its not.

    Everything else leave them alone, if you want, unless you like the vibrate feature....

    Now from here back out from from Wireless Tether and go back, Someone said that you might need to force close the app via app manager. I didnt have to but try and see if that helps. From there you should see the app start with your data usage at the bottom. Next go to anything that can get WIFI. I used my laptop, my Transformer, and my Xbox. Works fine with no problem. The only thing i have problems is that the Razr 4G drains battery like crazy. Ill post up a vid on it today after I get out of work. Grave yard sucks....
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2011
  10. Oaklands
    Offline

    Oaklands New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had the encryption disabled. That fixed it. Thank you much for the help.
  11. saleen288
    Offline

    saleen288 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    works great thanks!
Search tags for this page
best version of wireless tether work best with droid razr
,
droid razr root tether
,
droid razr root wireless tether
,
how to use rooted wifi tethering on droid razr
,
razr i as wireless tether
,
razr tethering issues
,

rooted droid razr wireless tether

,
use wireless tether droid razr
,
wifi tether for motorola root
,
wireless tether droid razr
,

wireless tether for droid razr

,
wireless tether for root users not working on verizon razr
,
wireless tether not working on rooted droid razr
,
wireless tether razr
,
xbox 360 wifi with rooted droid