1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Razr/Razr Maxx Signal Strengths

Discussion in 'Droid Razr and Razr Maxx ICS discussion' started by jaybogg, Jul 26, 2012.

  1. jaybogg
    Offline

    jaybogg Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    Since I have been following these forums for a couple of months I have seen a lot of threads about signal strengths and some postings of what people have on their phones. I thought it would be interesting if we posted our results in one thread. Its easy to do.
    From the home screen:

    1. Press "Menu" hard key
    2. Select "System Settings"
    3. At the bottom of the first section "Wireless and Networks", Select "More..."
    4. Select "Mobile Networks"
    5. Halfway down, Under "Help", Select "Network type and strength"
    6. Report your reading IE. 4G= -100dbm

    If you are willing to divulge your location, OS, and 1G/3G signal strengths (I'm using 4G LTE OnOff app for 1G/3G strength), this info would also be useful for others in your area to compare to.

    Here's Mine:

    Location: Southeast Houston
    OS: .215 leak
    4G= -102dbm (3 bars)
    3G= -98dbm (3 bars)
    1G= -87dbm (3 bars)

    Note: The more negative the number, the weaker the signal is. Example: -80 dbm is a stronger signal than -100 dbm.

    I showed you mine, now show me yours!!:icon_ devil:

    Here's the first 5 data point (kinda skimpy, but it's all that's been reported!!)

    View attachment 215 Leak.pdf
  2. 94lt1
    Offline

    94lt1 Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    587
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SE TX
    Haven't you noticed better reception with the 215 leak??? I just switched to it yesterday and I've noticed a huge improvement over 211, both battery and signal... so far I haven't had the annoying 4g drop...
  3. 94lt1
    Offline

    94lt1 Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    587
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SE TX
    Oh.. groves tx, 215 leak, 4g -105dbm 3 bars..

    Haven't checked the others :)
  4. Sydman
    Offline

    Sydman Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,416
    Likes Received:
    201
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    .215 Leak
    4G -85dBm
    3G -89dBm
    1x -87dBm
  5. jaybogg
    Offline

    jaybogg Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    The actual signal strength is about the same but it shows more bars. Less 4G drops, jury still out on battery as I am not a heavy user when at home (use PC). I do use the speakerphone almost exclusively at home, so when I have a heavy call day I will have a better idea. Still PO'd that the volume hard keys only have 4 levels while in speakerphone mode though! 215 didn't fix that. (Get clipping at full volume):mad:
  6. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    Central NY
    OS: .215
    1x- .91dBm (2 bars)
    3x- .93dBm (2 bars)

    live in boonies so no 4g here.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR Maxx using Droid Forums
  7. jaybogg
    Offline

    jaybogg Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    @ Sydman/TisMyDroid: No "Bars" in you area? That must make life dull!!:biggrin:jk
  8. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    Funny, I get about 2 bars. I always use wifi at home, though. When I have to go past home, I don't have data drops that I notice. And the 3g does not seem to be real slow. When in the city on 4g, I don't ever seem to have any problems keeping a signal either.
    1 person likes this.
  9. Sydman
    Offline

    Sydman Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,416
    Likes Received:
    201
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Haha sorry, at work and only cared just enough to post the numbers :)

    1x and 3G showing 4 bars.
    4G showing 5 bars.
  10. jaybogg
    Offline

    jaybogg Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    Thx. I was truly interested in your "bars" as you have the strongest signal strengths thus far. If we get enough responses, I hope we can extrapolate bar/dbm guestimates and possibly even see if there is a difference between the OTA .211 and the .215 leak. I get bored sometimes and with enough replies I will probably apply numbers to excel, graph it, and see if anything stands out. Gotta have the data though!! Thx, again!
  11. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    Very cool! I think it should be interesting. It would be especially interesting if we had data from GB too but that would be pretty slim finding ppl still on GB.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR Maxx using Droid Forums
    1 person likes this.
  12. mysticalmalissa
    Offline

    mysticalmalissa New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Top of the Rock, TN (Sequatchie)
    Location: Sequatchie, TN
    OS: .215 leak
    4G= LMAO...no such animal in these parts
    3G= -77dbm (3 bars)
    1G= -90dbm (3 bars)
    1 person likes this.
  13. jaybogg
    Offline

    jaybogg Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    If my feeble mind recalls right, it was something like every one used to GB, ICS came out and complaints about both signal strength and bars, .215 users reported better reception and bars. Probably got it wrong as it has been over 24 hrs and that's about all my "memory warranty" guarantees anymore!:biggrin:
  14. jaybogg
    Offline

    jaybogg Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    On my initial post I inserted a pdf graph of the 5 data points I have received thus far. I think MattyP has done his job too well as everyone reporting is on the .215 leak:biggrin: Still not near enough data to extrapolate any findings other than I noticed the bars vs signal strengths vary greatly. 3 bars has varied from -77 to -105 in 3G and 4G respectively. One 3G signal was -77 with 3 bars, another 3G signal was -85 with 4 bars. This means the weaker signal (-85) showed more bars than the stronger signal.

    Here's the graph so far, pretty skimpy on the data though...Since I did it in excel, my choices were .pdf and .doc, I went with pdf. If more data comes in, I will update data on the initial post to this thread.

    Attached Files:

  15. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,087
    Likes Received:
    870
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Nashville

    software 4.1.1 jb

    2 bars of 4g: -108 asu 32
    2 bars of 3g: -93 dBm 2 asu
  16. jaybogg
    Offline

    jaybogg Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    Had to look up "ASU".LOL Arbitrary Strength Unit. dBm= -113 + (ASU x 2). Evidently Motorola never or no longer uses this unit of measurement. I am not sure as I am fairly new to Android and Motorola devices. The company I used to work for made the photomasks for motorola before they spun off Freescale as a stand alone company.

    Thanks for the input and if enough other devices report their signal strengths, I will make a spreadsheet for them as well. Not sure I will get enough input from Razr users to make any meaningful conclusions from their data:sad:
  17. djnolo
    Offline

    djnolo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Since my ICS update I have not been getting a 4G signal at all!!:mad: Not only in my area but also to other "major" coverage cities that I have been to.
  18. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    You wouldn't happen to have your phone set at 3g only mode or global mode (ICS sets it at Global by default), would you? Go into settings--->More... (under Data usage)---->Mobile networks---->Network mode. Make sure it is set to LTE/CDMA.
  19. djnolo
    Offline

    djnolo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Naw, I have it set to lte/cdma. But no 4G for me! I may flash back to stock and see what happens from there. IDK? :-!

    No MAXXation without representation!
Search tags for this page
bad 3g signal razr maxx
,
better signal oncdroid razr
,
droid razr maxx or iphone strengths
,
droid razr maxx poor signal
,
field test mode razar maxx
,
how to enhance your droid razor reception
,

how to get better reception on droid razr

,

how to get better service on droid razr

,
how to get better signal on droid razr maxx
,
how to get my razr maxx to have a stronger signal
,

how to improve signal on razr maxx

,
how to increase signal on razr maxx
,
razr maxx signal booster
,
razr maxx test mode
,
signal test for razr maxx