Razr Maxx HD vs. Galaxy s3

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR MAXX HD' started by SynysterBurns91, Sep 20, 2012.

DroidForums.net is the premier Android Forum - Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
  1. Raw Dodge
    Offline

    Raw Dodge Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    How does 1gb of ram put the razr HD on the same level as the 2gb on the S3? With the amount of applications being used I see this as a pretty good advantage to the s3.

    Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
  2. joshxdroid
    Offline

    joshxdroid Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1,065
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +55
    It will only make a difference for games. I have never experienced lag on my og RAZR with 1gb of ram. Although i was surprised they didn't come with more ram
  3. DevilDogMP
    Offline

    DevilDogMP Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    3,783
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Ratings:
    +13
    When is 1gb not good enough for the average person?? 2gb is too much for again I say, the average person.
  4. joshxdroid
    Offline

    joshxdroid Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1,065
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +55
    I agree, i was just surprised they wouldn't up the ram strictly so they could say they have the same as the s3
  5. DevilDogMP
    Offline

    DevilDogMP Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    3,783
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Ratings:
    +13
    Aren't most Motorola phones 1gb anyways ?
  6. dan.dar
    Offline

    dan.dar Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    I had Razr M for a bit over a week and compared it at work to S3. The Razr was clearly faster, especially in real world browsing over 3G (don't get 4G at work). I also don't understand the decision to go with hardware home button. That just reminds me too much of iphone and Droid Charge. Motorola did that right following the Gnex example. I'm looking forward to seeing how HD performs.
  7. dan.dar
    Offline

    dan.dar Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    S3 has 2 GB of ram due to necessity. It has alot of S-apps running in the background (ps what's the need for s-talk when you have Google Now?) and touchwiz is also memory intensive skin. Motorola is basically stock ICS which can run fine with 512MB of ram. Yes there is an advantage to having 2GB of ram, but it's not going to be as pronounced if both phones had memory intensive skin running.
  8. sweeeeet
    Offline

    sweeeeet Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    8,586
    Likes Received:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +67
    2gb of ram is the new standard for future android os and apps.. moto is just behind the curve.. like releasing a phone with a processor that's 5 months old

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
  9. joshxdroid
    Offline

    joshxdroid Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1,065
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +55
    These Samsung people are getting as bad as the iphanatics. Pretty soon i might just start boycotting them on principle. Half the reason i dislike apple is their fans are tools who jump on their soap box any time someone has a differing opinion. So if the Samsung people go down that road, you can be sure you'll never see me using one. The fact is as it's been stated they are both great phones. We are lucky to have so many great choices in Android
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2012
  10. Raw Dodge
    Offline

    Raw Dodge Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Just about everything s-voice and such can be disabled on the s3...And since it's useless, I have... I'm sure google now will be just as memory intensive on the Motorola as the Samsung.

    Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
  11. DevilDogMP
    Offline

    DevilDogMP Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    3,783
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Ratings:
    +13
    I would still go for the razr
  12. sweeeeet
    Offline

    sweeeeet Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    8,586
    Likes Received:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +67
    my last 3 phones and current are Motorola's lol.. its the moto fanboys that can't face the reality and can't be subjective... the processor in the maxx HD is the same that was in the s3 that was released 5 months ago and the maxx has less ram... so go get your outdated device... I'm moving on with the times

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
  13. xmguy
    Offline

    xmguy Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,072
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    RURAL TN
    Ratings:
    +4
    I too am in the same situation. I have a Bionic and HAD a Razr Maxx. (Once the SW issues were taken care of with the Bionic it became a great phone). However I have an upgrade. I bought the GS3 in but have yet to receive it. I've always been a Motorola user so am leaning toward the Maxx HD. I've had other phones. Had a Samsung Continuum and a HTC Eris. I must say Samsung has GREAT cameras. But Motorola seems to build more solid built and long lasting phones. I do think the 1 gig of ram is a good thing and the camera on the GS3 is a killer. But I hope Motorola has made some major improvements on the camera in the new Razr Maxx HD line. I have seldomly found my Bionic or Razr Maxx I had before getting so slow that it was usable. So I plan to get the GS3 and leave it unopened then on the 18th go to the VZW store and look at the Maxx HD. I don't use my phone for gaming and so wonder if the 2 GBs of ram will be more than I need. I do love taking HQ pictures though. Plus the phones built in speaker must be good since I stream alot of music online. So i'm not sure where to turn. In honest I'd like to have both. But I can't.... So I guess I will have to get more info and see if Motorola has made a better camera on the Maxx HD than Samsung has.
  14. drew96dawg
    Offline

    drew96dawg Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,108
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Mobile Al
    Ratings:
    +27
  15. Raw Dodge
    Offline

    Raw Dodge Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    That article was more of a spec sheet. I had the Razr. It's camera maybe 8mp but the quality of its pictures pales in comparison to the s3..So unless the HD has a better camera, it's certainly not a tie in the real world. And I carry a spare charged battery and like a removable battery, so to me a 3300 is nice but it wouldn't get me thru a full day anyway. I'd rather swap batteries than bump charge after work.

    Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
Search tags for this page
droid razr hd vs galaxy s3
,

droid razr maxx hd vs galaxy s3

,
droid razr maxx hd vs samsung galaxy s3
,
galaxy s3 vs razr hd
,
galaxy s3 vs razr maxx
,

galaxy s3 vs razr maxx hd

,

razr hd vs galaxy s3

,

razr maxx hd vs galaxy s3

,
razr maxx vs galaxy s3
,
samsung galaxy s3 vs droid razr maxx hd